We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Condo/Apartment Hotel”
Review of Hotel Xalteva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Xalteva
Ranked #12 of 43 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent Condo/Apartment Hotel”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

My family and I we very happy with the apartment. It was very modern,clean and had everything we needed to cook meals and feel like we were at home. The staff was also very nice and helpful. Our kids enjoyed the pool and the center of town was very close. All in all I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: There is off-street parking in the hotel and is guarded all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaysnyder, General Manager at Hotel Xalteva, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Guest,
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Xalteva. Our beautiful pool is perfect for a relaxing afternoon with the family and we also can hang up hammocks and hammock chairs when not raining for your added comfort and enjoyment. Thank you for your patronage and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    34
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
84
87
23
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2013

First of all i dont do a lot of recommendations... but our stay here was Amazing. This was the best place we stayed in nicaragua! Our family had a great experience. The staff was amazing. Could not have better....

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missional
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaysnyder, General Manager at Hotel Xalteva, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Dear Guest,
Since you do not write recommendations I feel so honored that you have chosen to write about us on Trip Advisor. Thank you very much and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We invite any future guest to stay at Hotel Xalteva and you will receive the best Granada has to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

We are at present sitting on our balcony overlooking the pool.
The weather is fantastic and we have a lovely coffee.
The place is wonderful- here is why.....
Very clean and spacious - exactly as pictures show
Very pleasant staff
Lovely breakfast of fruit and cake
Kitchen fully stocked with right pans etc
Hot showers
Lovely pool - big hit with my kids
Easy to walk to a small supermarket ( out the door turn left to end of road turn left two blocks then one more block right)
Or two large supermarkets about 25 min walk & cheap taxi back
Centre and lots of restaurants 10 mins away
Very very safe
Could have been happier here or found better
Would absolutely recommend to couples, families etc

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordanleeindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaysnyder, General Manager at Hotel Xalteva, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear Guest,
We love that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again someday. Nicaragua has so many gorgeous days it is hard not to feel good while rocking in a rocking chair or relaxing in a hammock. So many guests return to Hotel Xalteva year after year as part of our extended family and it is our hope that you may do the same.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We searched various travel sites in attempt to get the most value for our dollar and saw this place. The first thing I noticed was that the photos uploaded by past patrons of the hotel looked exactly like the photos taken by the owners. That says a lot about a place.

We arrived at the hotel after a 2 hour delay of our over night flight (I hate Spirit!). The owners, who also happened to be on the same flight, insisted we go straight to our rooms to get some much needed rest and take care of the details of checking in and paying our remaining balance in the morning. We REALLY appreciated that.

When the door opened to our suite, my jaw dropped. It was spacious and spotless! It was a 2 bedroom suite, living room, dining room, kitchen stocked with 2 coffee makers, 5 gallons of water, spanish tile, the list goes on. The 1st room had its on bathroom and 2 entries, one thru the living room and the other from the patio. I arrived too tired to check in but spent the next 15 minutes taking pictures of every inch of the space to take back and show everyone where WE got to stay.

The next morning, on my way to get some coffee, I ran into 1 of the owners who was on his way to do the same. He asked how we slept and if we needed anything. He made me feel like a guest in his house.

Unfortunately that morning I had my 1st bad experience in Granada, a cold shower! *shiver* I was a little annoyed and upset about the prospect of cold showers throughout the duration of my stay. But as soon as that was mentioned to Fatima (the front desk attendant), the head of maintenance arrived with a wrench and a pipe and 10 minutes later, scorching hot water for all!

We found out later that morning the the city tour we scheduled wasn't going to happen because i didn't "definitively" confirm it. I ran into Jay again and expressed my frustration! Luckily, he was quick to offer a solution, a city tour with Carmen. Despite the short notice, this person was available; she quite entertaining.

I can not think of a moment throughout the day that I did not see someone cleaning something, cutting something, or rearranging something. This is a very well maintained hotel. The owners were visibly present whether it was out on the porch of their suite drinking a cup of morning coffee or in the office giving us recommendations of where to eat and where to haggle. The staff was pleasant, accomodating, and met every request with a smile.

My only dislike was that the wifi connections were weak. I had to be in the same room as the router in order to get the signal strength I need to use my wifi calling. In addition, I wish their "light" breakfast was a little less light. The light breakfast was an assortment of fruit and small danish. I would have some sort of protein like eggs or a tamale or something remniscent of a typical Nicargua breakfast.

Room Tip: Go with the suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaysnyder, General Manager at Hotel Xalteva, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback, it is much appreciated. We are so glad that you noticed so many details about our ambiance and our staff members. We encourage all guests to let reception know of anything they need be it hot water, a new light bulb or even batteries in the television remote control. Thank you for letting us know so that we could take care of the problem quickly. We are also glad to have been able to find a solution with another tour since the company you had contacted on your own did not follow through with you. Thank you also for your comment on breakfasts. Our breakfasts are made to start the day and should you need additional breakfast, Hotel Xalteva has information in each welcome packet so that guests can order additional and traditional homemade dishes. Dona Elena and Dona Ana are both local women who cook great meals at a low cost so that our guests can experience the flavor of Nicaragua. Thank you so much and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

Great value amazing staff they got me anything I needed including babysitting for a night I felt very safe and well cared for!!!! Melissa and her staff were always helping me with tours, taxi, and anything else I needed!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ahughes44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaysnyder, General Manager at Hotel Xalteva, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thank you for choosing Hotel Xalteva, it was so nice to meet you and your family and we will be glad to have you again. You are correct, we can arrange a wide variety of services including babysitting by our staff members who love meeting new people and helping out guests. From tours, transport and manicures and pedicures pool side we want to make your vacation special and are so glad we met you expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

While on a short vacation with family, we stayed at this condo hotel for 1 night and then decided to stay 1 more as the place was gorgeous. The service from Melissa and Jennifer is great; always with a smile and willing to give you the information you need. Breakfast was included, though maybe too little for me. We stayed at the 101 condo, downstairs and right next to a stairwell and the reception making it a bit too noisy for us. We could easily hear children giggling and screaming in the pool, running up and down in the stairs and walking in the upper floor. That woke us up early, but didn't ruin anything for us. Maybe other guests may find that annoying, but we just dealt with it. We would definitely go back, and we are wanting that to happen soon.

Room Tip: If possible, get a condo upstairs and as far away from the main entrance as possible as they are qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaysnyder, General Manager at Hotel Xalteva, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear Guest,
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. During busy times we have so many people enjoying their stay and we are glad that noise did not detract from your positive experience. Please ask us for a second helping of breakfast if you are still hungry as we are happy to serve you and as you mentioned, you can also request a room further away from the pool area. It was a pleasure to have you here and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsfield MA
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Reading through other reviews, I see I don't have much new to add, but I'll echo others' praises nonetheless. Hotel Xalteva was outstanding: first-class amenities and service without a hint of pretension.

Breakfasts featured customized fruit-bowls (don't like pineapple? No problem, they'll give you extra pitahaya... Prefer melon? You got it...). The pool, which I enjoyed every evening, was clean, not overly chlorinated, and just large enough to do some actual swimming in or to share comfortably with other guests. The apartment set-up is a well-designed space that served our needs efficiently, and the decor is attractive.

And, as others have noted, the service was exceptional. When we had additional guests staying over, staff brought in (and set up) a high-quality inflatable bed. When the air-conditioning went out in one of the bedrooms, they got it fixed the next day. A Magic-Jack telephone is available for free or extremely cheap calls to the US, and there is wifi both in the apartments and on the computer available in the front office. Melissa was always ready with ideas, recommendations, and good-natured, bilingual help of any kind.

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Many thanks to Melissa and all the staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LVPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaysnyder, General Manager at Hotel Xalteva, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Dear Guest,
You are so kind to have written such a nice review. We strive to make sure each guest is happy and well taken care of. Whether a guest is staying with us a few days or a longer period of time we want to make each moment memorable. It was so nice to have you as a guest and we look forward to your next visit when you can continue enjoying Nicaragua and not planning every little detail....that is what we are here for!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 43 in Granada
1,027 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#5 of 43 in Granada
697 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 43 in Granada
650 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#2 of 43 in Granada
663 reviews
0.8 mi away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#6 of 43 in Granada
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Xalteva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Xalteva

Property: Hotel Xalteva
Address: Trillo Santa Rosa | Calle Obispo Ulloa, Granada 43000, Nicaragua (Formerly Xalteva Condominiums)
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Granada
#7 Green Hotel in Granada
#8 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Xalteva 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Xalteva is the first of it’s kind in Granada. It combines timeless colonial design with modern conveniences. Located in the safe residential neighborhood of Xalteva, the name “Xalteva” (pronounced “al-TAY-vah”), refers to the original indigenous peoples who were in Granada before the Spanish Conquest. Built in 2007, by visionary/founder/president D. Jay Snyder they are the first available condominiums in this beautiful colonial city of Granada whose mission is, “To create and provide comprehensive comfort, value and lifestyle options to all guests and visitors whether it be for a transit traveler or a lifelong resident” through, “high quality attention to details, customer service, employee training and development and support of the local culture and environment.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Xalteva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xalteva Condominiums Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing