We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a weeklong or month-long stay”
Review of Hotel Xalteva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Xalteva
Ranked #12 of 43 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Carpinteria, California
1 review
“Perfect for a weeklong or month-long stay”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We could not have been happier with Melissa, Margarita, Luis, Nelson, Jackson, Julio, Ana, Ernesto, and Maria Jose. They were attentive, friendly, helpful, and kind. We made ample use of the pool to cool off, probably 3 times a day, we enjoyed watching World Cup on the large TV, and our rooms were spacious and comfortable. Apartment 201 is perfect for a family of four, and we felt very safe and secure. A highlight was having Dona Anita take us to the market, picking our our food, and cooking it together. She was a terrific guide to the city, helping us buy a cellphone and getting us to our first ATM. She returned to cook with my daughter 3 times and was a terrific addition to our stay. If we get back to Grenada we will certainly try to stay here again.

Room Tip: Grenada is not always the quietest city--bells, fireworks, etc. My guess is that downstairs in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaysnyder, General Manager at Hotel Xalteva, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Very special guests you were and in such a short amount of time you got to know the local culture...great on your part. Dona Anita now knows about your review and smiled real big when we told her....Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    34
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
84
87
23
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

So good . Only problem was that I had no privacy as my windows were on lower floor and everyone who passed by looked in so had to keep my curtains drawn all the time...which I didn't want to!!! As it overlooked the pool. I sat I'm my rocking chair each morning and enjoyed the birds drinking from the pool. Delightful
lovely people especially the women who made me tea in the morning and rustled up breakfast for me. They were both the best indeed and really made a fuss of me. Thank them for me.
Great as walking distance from the town centre....a good 15 minutes. It was perfect for me.

Room Tip: Do not choose ground flor rooms due to privacy problems unless away from pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Alison2155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaysnyder, General Manager at Hotel Xalteva, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
We enjoyed having you as our guest. Although all of our rooms are equipped with blinds you are correct to say that unless you want others looking in you would have to have the blinds down all of the time. We are currently testing out other ideas upon reading your review and have one room equipped with a different style so that we might improve service for future guests. We hope to meet you again someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Beautiful property, extremely friendly and helpful staff!

Hotel Xalteva is located several blocks from the main square and active tourist area, which made for a quiet stay and short walk to more activity. The rooms, kitchen, patios and pool were gorgeous and really comfortable. Great wifi, too.

The staff helped with restaurant recommendations (El Marlin, El Saguan, and the super El Museito de Carlos), ferry reservations to Ometepe (highly recommended) and other activities.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaysnyder, General Manager at Hotel Xalteva, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
It was wonderful to meet you. Thank you so much for your kind review. You are correct to say that you enjoyed the Museito de Don Carlos...it is a secret gem of Granada...one of my personal favorites!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

My 3rd stay at Hotel Xalteva and it just keeps getting better. This time, a 10 day stay for getting top quality dental work done (English speaking husband and wifedentist team) just 2 blocks from the hotel. Xalteva arranges airport transfers in advance and their staff couldn't be sweeter. The American onsite manager, Melissa, knows everything and can help with medical appointments, spa services and best places to eat. Ask if they are offerring special packages with the dentist and for cosmetic surgery. A great set up for longer stays like I just had because these are 1 or 2 BR full apartments. Eat in, dine out or a little of both...walking distance to everything in a residential neighborhood away from the cluster of tourists.

Room Tip: Ask for upstairs with a fantastic view of Mombacho volcano and lots of breeze
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fitgirl60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaysnyder, General Manager at Hotel Xalteva, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
We really appreciate returned guests....it is like having family around to spend time with and we truly enjoyed having you back. It will be great to see you again...don't wait to long we miss you already!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Xalteva for one night to explore the city of Granada on our way to San Juan del Sur on May 11. This is a beautiful, clean little hotel in a quiet area of town within walking distance to everything. The room, grounds and pool were beautiful and the staff were very informative and willing to give advice on things to do and where to eat. Melissa was very helpful throughout our short stay and so was the young lady working the front desk, whose name I can't recall. She helped us with directions, massage reservations (which was amazing) and gave us plenty of dinner options. Thank you Hotel Xalteva!

Room Tip: All 2nd floor rooms have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bommer22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaysnyder, General Manager at Hotel Xalteva, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you so much for your visit. We appreciate such positive comments and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

My mother, adult brother and myself recently stayed at Xalteva in a two bedroom flat. The accommodations were very well appointed and provided us with everything we needed to be comfortable. We could have easily self-catered meals with an extremely spacious and well equipped kitchen, plus the Pali supermarket is a 5 minute walk from the premises.

The grounds are lovely and reflective of Granada's distinctive architectural style. The pool, although a bit on the small side, was a great respite from the heat of the city. We felt completely secure and enjoyed being in a quieter, residential neighbourhood. The location was ideal for us and we could easily walk to the city centre (just a few blocks) plus the microbus stations for day trips to nearby highlights including Mombacho and Masaya. Additionally, staff were always friendly, and willing to help with our plans. In particular, people were able to help us arrange for drivers to various destinations who were always on-time, friendly, and provided a clean, safe car for travelling. We also caught cabs here and there as we needed them around the city for short hobs, but many were not in the best state of repail.

Melissa is clearly passionate about her work and her city. She is kind, knowledgable and keen to help arrange interesting itineraries based on individual interests. She is also committed to helping guests understand ways in which they might wish to contribute to the growth and development of this beautiful city. The only reason that I have indicated a 4 star rather than 5 star review is that some reception staff are newer and need a bit more on the job training in regards to helping guests with questions regarding attractions in and around the city.

Overall, we can highly recommend Hotel Xalteva and Granada as exciting destinations.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaysnyder, Manager at Hotel Xalteva, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
We really enjoyed meeting you and were glad that you chose Hotel Xalteva. It was such a pleasure reading your lovely review and it was even more of a pleasure having the three of you stay with us. Thank you so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We had a fabulous 6-week stay at Xalteva in March & April 2014. The accommodations were roomy and comfortable, with the added bonus of a beautiful swimming pool right outside our front door. The staff was super nice and efficient. We definitely appreciated the surprise bouquet of flowers left outside our door on our wedding anniversary! Those thoughtful personal touches make a great hotel even greater! Hoping for a return visit soon!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kathy631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaysnyder, Manager at Hotel Xalteva, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
We got so used to seeing you both each morning that we miss you! Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 43 in Granada
1,028 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#5 of 43 in Granada
697 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 43 in Granada
651 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#2 of 43 in Granada
663 reviews
0.8 mi away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#6 of 43 in Granada
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Xalteva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Xalteva

Property: Hotel Xalteva
Address: Trillo Santa Rosa | Calle Obispo Ulloa, Granada 43000, Nicaragua (Formerly Xalteva Condominiums)
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Granada
#7 Green Hotel in Granada
#8 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Xalteva 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Xalteva is the first of it’s kind in Granada. It combines timeless colonial design with modern conveniences. Located in the safe residential neighborhood of Xalteva, the name “Xalteva” (pronounced “al-TAY-vah”), refers to the original indigenous peoples who were in Granada before the Spanish Conquest. Built in 2007, by visionary/founder/president D. Jay Snyder they are the first available condominiums in this beautiful colonial city of Granada whose mission is, “To create and provide comprehensive comfort, value and lifestyle options to all guests and visitors whether it be for a transit traveler or a lifelong resident” through, “high quality attention to details, customer service, employee training and development and support of the local culture and environment.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Xalteva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xalteva Condominiums Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing