We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Comfort and terrific service”
Review of Hotel Xalteva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Xalteva
Ranked #13 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Xalteva three nights in July 2014 and couldn't be happier with our choice. The 2BR condo was spacious, clean, and very well-furnished, just what we wanted after a week of more rustic lodging in the Nicaraguan mountains. Melissa, the GM, is a terrific and friendly resource (she stopped by on her morning off to chat with us about some questions we had), and all the staff were welcoming and helpful. The pool was a big hit with the kids. We are excited to return to Hotel Xalteva for another, longer visit!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaysnyder, General Manager at Hotel Xalteva, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Yes, we hope you return as well. Please feel free to contact us if you have questions prior to your next visit. Granada is a special place and we are glad to have helped contribute to your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed in unit 102 which is a completely furnished two bedroom two bath condominium unit complete with the owner's collection of local pottery and art. The kitchen has plenty of dishes and pots and pans. It is about a 15 minute walk to the downtown area. It is in a residential neighborhood with two nice restaurants and a Yoga/Massage parlor only a couple of blocks away.

As we were arriving after 9:00 in the evening, the management was able to arrange to have dinners waiting for us - all we had to do was heat them up in the microwave. The management's service is concierge level. They arranged for a driver to pick us up from the airport in Managua, a tour to a coffee plantation, and two trips with private car and driver - all very reasonable in price and most enjoyable.

This is a relatively new hotel built in a style very compatible with the Colonial atmosphere in the City, and everything is clean and spotlessly maintained. The air conditioning, which was definitely needed, functioned perfectly with no drafts.

The pool, the rocking chairs on the front porch, the birds, the flowers and the staff are all delightful. I highly recommend Hotel Xalteva.

Marti C.

Room Tip: I'm sure all the units are very nice. 102 was very pretty and on the ground floor, with very ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaysnyder, General Manager at Hotel Xalteva, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

We were so glad to have met you while you enjoyed your stay in Suite 102. Hopefully we will meet you again in the future on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We could not have been happier with Melissa, Margarita, Luis, Nelson, Jackson, Julio, Ana, Ernesto, and Maria Jose. They were attentive, friendly, helpful, and kind. We made ample use of the pool to cool off, probably 3 times a day, we enjoyed watching World Cup on the large TV, and our rooms were spacious and comfortable. Apartment 201 is perfect for a family of four, and we felt very safe and secure. A highlight was having Dona Anita take us to the market, picking our our food, and cooking it together. She was a terrific guide to the city, helping us buy a cellphone and getting us to our first ATM. She returned to cook with my daughter 3 times and was a terrific addition to our stay. If we get back to Grenada we will certainly try to stay here again.

Room Tip: Grenada is not always the quietest city--bells, fireworks, etc. My guess is that downstairs in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaysnyder, General Manager at Hotel Xalteva, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Very special guests you were and in such a short amount of time you got to know the local culture...great on your part. Dona Anita now knows about your review and smiled real big when we told her....Thank you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

So good . Only problem was that I had no privacy as my windows were on lower floor and everyone who passed by looked in so had to keep my curtains drawn all the time...which I didn't want to!!! As it overlooked the pool. I sat I'm my rocking chair each morning and enjoyed the birds drinking from the pool. Delightful
lovely people especially the women who made me tea in the morning and rustled up breakfast for me. They were both the best indeed and really made a fuss of me. Thank them for me.
Great as walking distance from the town centre....a good 15 minutes. It was perfect for me.

Room Tip: Do not choose ground flor rooms due to privacy problems unless away from pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Alison2155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaysnyder, General Manager at Hotel Xalteva, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

We enjoyed having you as our guest. Although all of our rooms are equipped with blinds you are correct to say that unless you want others looking in you would have to have the blinds down all of the time. We are currently testing out other ideas upon reading your review and have one room equipped with a different style so that we might improve service for future guests. We hope to meet you again someday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Beautiful property, extremely friendly and helpful staff!

Hotel Xalteva is located several blocks from the main square and active tourist area, which made for a quiet stay and short walk to more activity. The rooms, kitchen, patios and pool were gorgeous and really comfortable. Great wifi, too.

The staff helped with restaurant recommendations (El Marlin, El Saguan, and the super El Museito de Carlos), ferry reservations to Ometepe (highly recommended) and other activities.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaysnyder, General Manager at Hotel Xalteva, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

It was wonderful to meet you. Thank you so much for your kind review. You are correct to say that you enjoyed the Museito de Don Carlos...it is a secret gem of Granada...one of my personal favorites!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

My 3rd stay at Hotel Xalteva and it just keeps getting better. This time, a 10 day stay for getting top quality dental work done (English speaking husband and wifedentist team) just 2 blocks from the hotel. Xalteva arranges airport transfers in advance and their staff couldn't be sweeter. The American onsite manager, Melissa, knows everything and can help with medical appointments, spa services and best places to eat. Ask if they are offerring special packages with the dentist and for cosmetic surgery. A great set up for longer stays like I just had because these are 1 or 2 BR full apartments. Eat in, dine out or a little of both...walking distance to everything in a residential neighborhood away from the cluster of tourists.

Room Tip: Ask for upstairs with a fantastic view of Mombacho volcano and lots of breeze
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fitgirl60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaysnyder, General Manager at Hotel Xalteva, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

We really appreciate returned guests....it is like having family around to spend time with and we truly enjoyed having you back. It will be great to see you again...don't wait to long we miss you already!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Xalteva for one night to explore the city of Granada on our way to San Juan del Sur on May 11. This is a beautiful, clean little hotel in a quiet area of town within walking distance to everything. The room, grounds and pool were beautiful and the staff were very informative and willing to give advice on things to do and where to eat. Melissa was very helpful throughout our short stay and so was the young lady working the front desk, whose name I can't recall. She helped us with directions, massage reservations (which was amazing) and gave us plenty of dinner options. Thank you Hotel Xalteva!

Room Tip: All 2nd floor rooms have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bommer22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaysnyder, General Manager at Hotel Xalteva, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Thank you so much for your visit. We appreciate such positive comments and hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#1 of 45 in Granada
679 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#2 of 45 in Granada
1,058 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 45 in Granada
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#3 of 45 in Granada
720 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
0.4 mi away
Mansion de Chocolate
Mansion de Chocolate
#21 of 45 in Granada
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Xalteva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Xalteva

Address: Trillo Santa Rosa | Calle Obispo Ulloa, Granada 43000, Nicaragua (Formerly Xalteva Condominiums)
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Granada
#7 Green Hotel in Granada
#8 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range: £60 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Xalteva 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Xalteva is the first of it’s kind in Granada. It combines timeless colonial design with modern conveniences. Located in the safe residential neighborhood of Xalteva, the name “Xalteva” (pronounced “al-TAY-vah”), refers to the original indigenous peoples who were in Granada before the Spanish Conquest. Built in 2007, by visionary/founder/president D. Jay Snyder they are the first available condominiums in this beautiful colonial city of Granada whose mission is, “To create and provide comprehensive comfort, value and lifestyle options to all guests and visitors whether it be for a transit traveler or a lifelong resident” through, “high quality attention to details, customer service, employee training and development and support of the local culture and environment.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Xalteva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xalteva Condominiums Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing