We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent well managed hotl apartment”
Review of Hotel Xalteva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Xalteva
Ranked #12 of 43 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
toronto
1 review
“excellent well managed hotl apartment”
Reviewed 22 March 2009

stayed here for a few days and loved every minute of it...this is a first class apartment with every convenience one would want...Neil and the rest of the staff greeted us and took care of our every need...fresh blended juice and coffee by the pool in the morning were a great start to another day in paradise

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pcoursey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaysnyder, General Manager at Hotel Xalteva, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Your comments are much appreciated. Thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    33
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
83
85
23
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antigua
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2009

I flew into Managua after a hectic week in Honduras doing research(I am a travel writer based in Antigua, Guatemala)and Neil was there at the airport to drive me to Granada. I've been to Granada a few times, staying at other accomodations(perfectly fine)and I was tired, exhausted and ready for a nap. I had seen photos of the hotel before but I was not prepared for the level of quality, finish and attention to details. The staff were attentive to every want and need, the pool was perfect for the warm afternoons and I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Granada ever again. The walk into town wasn't that far and the supermercado Pali a few blocks away. I left three days later, completely rested and refreshed. This is a superb alternative to any other hotel in Granada.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paladinAntigua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaysnyder, General Manager at Hotel Xalteva, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you for your comments and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2009

My wife and I recently returned from a week in Nicaragua. Granada is by far the most interesting and tourist-oriented city in the country. Staying at the Condo Hotel Xalteva was a stroke of pure good luck, since the hotel we had originally booked offered us a room without a real window. Were we certainly glad we switched to Xalteva. The view from our large window was of a beautiful garden courtyard with a charming pool and a volcano looming above in the distance - truly a view of paradise. To top it off, the hotel manager, Neil, was the most helpful manager I've ever encountered. He gave us useful advice on what to do in Ganada and booked us on a fabulous kayak excursion to Las Isletas Islands. He gave us a ride to the kayak dock, made sure we got the tour we wanted, and then refused any payment for the ride or help. At the end of our stay he booked us a ride with a shuttle service to Isla Ometepe. Staying at Xalteva felt more like being a guest in a home than a hotel.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaysnyder, Manager at Hotel Xalteva, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2009

We had the good fortune to find this place to stay. Excellent! Great value! 4 blocks to the central park. After traveling around the country for 4 weeks we stumbled upon this little secret. It is brand new but built to look old with every modern convenience. Sparkling clean. Because of the location of our condo (unit 203), the views were stunning. From the master bedroom balcony you can see the tile roofs of the colonial city and several churches hundreds of years old. You open the doors and step on to the front balcony which overlooks the pool, banana and mango trees, lift your eyes from the view below and you will see the stoic volcano with clouds covering the tip. There were lush, sultry breezes flowing through the condo nearly 24 hours per day but each room had air con if we wanted. The staff was great, helping us with bus and flight schedules and things to do, even catering to our laundry. We would recommend units 203 or 204 for the best views and breezes.

Helpful?
1 Thank dogmanIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaysnyder, General Manager at Hotel Xalteva, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear Guest,
We try our best to bring the highest quality service and are glad that you noticed that. Have a wonderful week and we hope to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 21 February 2009

Large airy rooms with lovely bathrooms and a great kitchen/livingroom. Mornings on the balcony with a coffee looking at Volcan Mombacho with a gently breeze blowing and the doves circling around is a great way to start the day. The large pool is a great place to cool off after a days touring and also a great place to socialize. Nice and close to downtown so you can walk everywhere but far enough away that it is not noisy at night.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ICEMANDQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaysnyder, General Manager at Hotel Xalteva, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
We enjoy meeting all of our special guests and are so glad when they feel comfortable with us. You are a valued guest and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vermont
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2009

My husband and I have been on the road for over 3 months, driving through Central America. A bit weary on our return segment, while exploring, once again our favorite town-Granada, Nicaragua, when we happened upon an oasis of rejuvenation in the form of Hotel Condo Xalteva. Just a short walk for the colonial park central and the lake, in a great section of town, Xalteva is a gem.; small with a variety of accomodations, a lovely pool, garden area and a super staff- about as good as it gets. This is one of the few places that was truly hard to leave.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank august09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaysnyder, General Manager at Hotel Xalteva, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Hotel Xalteva continues to be a gem in Granada and we hope to meet you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2008

We thoroughly enjoyed staying at this near new 8 unit condo/hotel that is located in a quiet and secure area of Granada. The owners took the time to build quality units that complement and reflect the historical architectural designs of colonial Granada. High ceilings, elaborately designed doors and railings, beautifully laid tile floors all help make these units a pleasure to stay at—and just a few minutes walk to restaurants and city sights as well.
Our two bedroom unit was airy, comfortable, quiet, well lit and air conditioned. Our unit included most modern appliances plus cable TV and WiFi(also around the pool deck). The staff (English speaking) were very friendly and helpful.
If you are looking for some peace and quiet in a comfortable and secure surrounding, this is the place for you.

  • Liked — Clean, modern in a historical sense, close to restaraunts
  • Disliked — nothing, everything was fine
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank geemann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaysnyder, General Manager at Hotel Xalteva, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
We appreciate your nice review and we hope to meet you again someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 43 in Granada
1,020 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 43 in Granada
642 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#2 of 43 in Granada
659 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#5 of 43 in Granada
694 reviews
0.8 mi away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#6 of 43 in Granada
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Xalteva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Xalteva

Property: Hotel Xalteva
Address: Trillo Santa Rosa | Calle Obispo Ulloa, Granada 43000, Nicaragua (Formerly Xalteva Condominiums)
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Granada
#7 Green Hotel in Granada
#8 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Xalteva 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Xalteva is the first of it’s kind in Granada. It combines timeless colonial design with modern conveniences. Located in the safe residential neighborhood of Xalteva, the name “Xalteva” (pronounced “al-TAY-vah”), refers to the original indigenous peoples who were in Granada before the Spanish Conquest. Built in 2007, by visionary/founder/president D. Jay Snyder they are the first available condominiums in this beautiful colonial city of Granada whose mission is, “To create and provide comprehensive comfort, value and lifestyle options to all guests and visitors whether it be for a transit traveler or a lifelong resident” through, “high quality attention to details, customer service, employee training and development and support of the local culture and environment.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Xalteva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xalteva Condominiums Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing