We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love these accomodations!”
Review of Hotel Xalteva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Xalteva
Ranked #12 of 43 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Ipswich, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love these accomodations!”
Reviewed 26 August 2010

We spent close to 3 weeks in Granada, staying with 11 minors ranging in ages from 10-17. Centrally located off the main street heading into the Central Plaza, the location is perfect and only a short walk to the supermarket or into the center of town. Close to the city yet very private as well. The facilities are safe, clean, and well provisioned including linens and towels. The staff is very friendly, helpful and accommodating to the needs of so many teenagers. I highly recommend the Xalteva condominiums and look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kksano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaysnyder, General Manager at Hotel Xalteva, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Visit us again and we will welcome you as family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    33
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
83
85
23
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swartz Creek MI
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2010

We headed to NI to visit our child that we sponsor with Compassion International. Not knowing were to go, I headed to trip advisor -- and thought all the previous posts sounded like me & I took a chance and booked Xateva. When I called to make my reservation, I spoke to Jay and immediately, so many of my conerns were put to rest. We traveled to NI with our 16 & 10 yr old daughters, so safety was our top priority, As a first-time visitors to NI, we were nervous & cautious! Any doubts were put to rest the moment Neil met our family at the airport. The owner, Jay, and property mgr. Neil were not just great, they were wonderful and truly became "family". These condos are simply beautiful, in a perfect location, and absolutely charming! Oh- and the beds are wonderful, as someone who suffers with serious back problems, this was extremely important to us. While there, we made friends with another group that was traveling and that made our trip even more wonderful. Jay's obvious love for this county & its people is incredible. The office, cleaning, and security staff were outstanding. Grethel & the girls helped us get a cake, ice cream & pinata for our daughters 10th birthday. Nelson hung it for us We had a great party that these folks helped us with. We can not wait to go back. Never, not once, did I not feel safe. Honestly, I don't think we even locked the door :) Thank you Jay, Neil, & Xalteva Staff -- next year can not come soon enought :) Marc, Lynn. Gloria & Gabbie

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lcavett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaysnyder, General Manager at Hotel Xalteva, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
You are a valued guest and we hope to meet you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany,New York
1 review
Reviewed 28 January 2010

We recently spent a most enjoyable week at Condominium Xalteva in Granada. Only a five minute walk from the central square in a quiet typical Nicaraguan neighborhood, this facility is new, very clean and super friendly. Complimentary coffee and local fruit is served by the pool every morning while the three resident parrots keep you entertained. Staying here was a wonderful blend of first class amenities and yet a feeling that you were really experiencing Nicaraguan architecture and culture.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bplawton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaysnyder, General Manager at Hotel Xalteva, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you for your comments, visit us today and we continue to stand out among the rest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 January 2010

My wife and I just finished our vacation in Granada Nicaragua, and we enjoyed our stay at the Xalteva Condominiums - without any complaints. I only wish we were able to stay longer. The staff are first class and the amenities have been packaged in such a way as to provide modern convenience in an authentic colonial experience. The hotel is located in a desirable location within walking distance of the Central Square and the sights of Granada, and close to many fine restaurants. Granada is a centrally located city from which day trips to other Nicaragua sites are an easy bus or taxi ride away. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S_and_JOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaysnyder, General Manager at Hotel Xalteva, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
We are always improving, visit us again to see all of our new amenities!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2010

An oasis of comfort and care in a stimulating and surprisingly affordable small city. The well equipped condos feature local Nicaraguan furnishings, and have ac, tv and internet. Neil and the staff take care of your every need, from poolside coffee and fresh fruit in the morning, to money exchange and advice on activities, attractions and restaurants. The other guests were friendly, fascinating people; it felt like we were staying at a friend's estate with all the amenities you'd ever need. Granada is safe, friendly and historic, and the surrounding area has so much to offer that you can't cover it all in a week. And then there's the relaxing time by the pool, reading a book or enjoying that fabulous local rum! I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyWandererVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaysnyder, General Manager at Hotel Xalteva, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you very much. We hope you choose us on your next visit to Granada, Nicaragua
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2010

Hotel Xalteva is a small hotel/condo on a quiet side street off one of the main streets of town. And because it's small, you easily get to know all the staff, the neighbors, and even the resident parakeets. Service is friendly, sweet, and personal; breakfast--coffee, cookies, and fruit--is served poolside; and the staff has plenty of recommendations for sights to see, tours to take, and restaurants to try. The rooms themselves are spacious, stylish, clean, and immensely comfortable. Short-term or long-term, it's a great bargain for such luxury in Granada!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rough-it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaysnyder, General Manager at Hotel Xalteva, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oregon
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2009

I was one of the first to stay at the well managed condos.... I enjoyed it so much.. i felt say every night i was there... Those who worked there were so nice and helpful and made me feel at home! If i ever went back i would defintly make my stay be there!

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank franjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaysnyder, General Manager at Hotel Xalteva, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
You are fantastic for having taken the time to provide your feedback. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 43 in Granada
1,020 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 43 in Granada
642 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#2 of 43 in Granada
659 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#5 of 43 in Granada
694 reviews
0.8 mi away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#6 of 43 in Granada
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Xalteva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Xalteva

Property: Hotel Xalteva
Address: Trillo Santa Rosa | Calle Obispo Ulloa, Granada 43000, Nicaragua (Formerly Xalteva Condominiums)
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Granada
#7 Green Hotel in Granada
#8 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Xalteva 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Xalteva is the first of it’s kind in Granada. It combines timeless colonial design with modern conveniences. Located in the safe residential neighborhood of Xalteva, the name “Xalteva” (pronounced “al-TAY-vah”), refers to the original indigenous peoples who were in Granada before the Spanish Conquest. Built in 2007, by visionary/founder/president D. Jay Snyder they are the first available condominiums in this beautiful colonial city of Granada whose mission is, “To create and provide comprehensive comfort, value and lifestyle options to all guests and visitors whether it be for a transit traveler or a lifelong resident” through, “high quality attention to details, customer service, employee training and development and support of the local culture and environment.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Xalteva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xalteva Condominiums Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing