We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Casa Capricho
Ranked #34 of 64 Granada B&B and Inns
greeney5
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Due to stay for 1 night and stayed 3 - found this hotel to be an absolute delight, friendly staff with quirky rooms, interesting surroundings, small swimming pool to cool off in, good breakfast and lovely atmosphere - all within a short walk of any Granada attractions. Simply a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greeney5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    14
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
19
19
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

We , a family of 4, with two kids aged 7 and 9, had a wonderful time here. We checked in for one night, but stayed two. Friendly and helpful staff, delicious Nicaraguan breakfast, rest and quietness.

The location is perfect, just behind the San Fancisco monastery: a tranquil place in a nice and safe(!) local neighborhood, though close enough to visit everything Granada offers on foot. With the kids, mind you! ;)

This was the perfect hangout for us. We dropped in a few times every day, just to take a bit of rest, and cool down in the fantastic little pool! Bring your own food and drinks, the hotel doesn't sell any. There is a kitchen for guests, with a huge fridge. Free drinkingwater is available.

Families can benefit from the split-level rooms, which are situated next to the pool. Don't worry about it being too noisy, with only 9 rooms, this hotel is a peaceful little oasis!

Room Tip: Families can benefit from the split-level rooms, which are situated next to the pool. The rooms with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chilo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We found this place by accident and it was a great find.

We had a double room with bathroom and fan (we chose no aircon as it was cheaper). We loved our stay here. The hotel staff were really friendly. Hotel was quiet, clean. Would recommend this place as an excellent cost effective option.

Great location to.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetrotter_Beckster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Hotel is centrally located, just a few blocks from the cathedral, restaurants, galleries, etc. Hotel has a very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are nice with AC, hot water, TV, etc. Hotel has plenty of colonial architecture, it feels like you are staying with family at a typical Granada home.
Swimming pool is great for kids and to cool down after a hot day. Breakfast was very good and wireless internet signal reached most of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricardo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

We arrived in Granada with no accommodation booked and stumbled upon this place just outside the main square. After a quick tour, by the friendly Daniella (apologies if this is the wrong spelling), we immediately decided to take the room. The pool was clean and refreshing. All the staff were helpful, making recommendations and helping organise our onward travel. Breakfast was simple and tasty. It was very quiet and peaceful. For those that like a bit of authenticity, this is the place. If you are terrified of gecko's then it is not. I'd tell my friends and family to stay here!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebeccajwhittington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Having experienced other accommodations in Granada, and viewed many more, this hotel was a delightful surprise. This is a unique experience which surpasses any other hotel I have ever been in.

Probably the best features of this hotel are the communal areas: Kitchen, pool, lounge areas and dining areas, which give you all the advantages of living in a beautiful mansion but at a very reasonable cost. The decor is amazing and tastefully colorful. After the noisy bustle of the streets the Casa Capricho is a haven of peaceful tranquility.

The friendly, efficient and helpful staff ensure that your stay here is welcoming and relaxed.

For the security conscious this Hotel is perfect.

The only flaw I found here was the small rooms, but this is compensated for by the spacious common areas.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms are closer to the pool and kitchen (logically)!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ismiseseamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

All the staff at Casa Capricho were warm, helpful, and always seemed to be smiling. I cannot say enough about Irwin, Leandro and the two Anna's ! They made the stay in Granada even more special. That being said, the value was good and the common area great for lounging. The rooms could use a little updating but were comfortable and a good deal. I would definitely return and recommend it for travellers who want a great staff, a good deal, and location...location....location

Room Tip: The double level rooms seemed to be the best although I did not see every room. The staff would be g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ricsincity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 43 in Granada
1,028 reviews
4.6 mi away
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
#2 of 4 in Isletas de Granada
330 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casa Barcelona
Hotel Casa Barcelona
#31 of 43 in Granada
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#5 of 43 in Granada
697 reviews
3.9 mi away
Isleta El Espino Ecolodge
Isleta El Espino Ecolodge
#1 of 4 in Isletas de Granada
90 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 43 in Granada
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Capricho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Capricho

Property: Hotel Casa Capricho
Address: Calle El Arsenal 401, Granada, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Capricho 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa Capricho is a restored home in the old colonial city of Granada, Nicaragua. We are located behind the great walls of Convento San Francisco on Calle El Arsenal, just two blocks from Parque Central towards the Grand Lago de Nicaragua. Calle El Calzada, is located just two blocks from Hotel Casa Capricho. Here you can enjoy restaurants, bars and music. If you have a late night, our security guard will be waiting for you. The house has 10 bedrooms, some with queen size beds, others with double or single beds. Two of the rooms have two levels. We also offer an apartment with one bedroom, living room, kitchen and two balconies. All the bedrooms have private baths, hot water and 9 are air conditioned. Maid service and breakfast are included. Computer, Internet and Vontage phone calls (to the US & Canada) are available for your use to keep in touch with friends and family at no charge. We offer a "Guest Kitchen" which is shared by all the guests. Fully stocked with everything you will need to make your meals at home! The house has several seating areas for you to relax or visit with friends. The pool is clean and refreshing ~ a wonderful amenity to enjoy after a day of sightseeing. Our house is your house! Stay a night, weekend, week or a month! We look forward to serving you and making your stay in Granada, Nicaragua a pleasant one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Casa Capricho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing