We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Casa Capricho

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Casa Capricho
Ranked #30 of 66 Granada B&B and Inns
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
166 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed there one week, and I can say that everything was above expectations. Breakfasts prepared by Ana were huge and tastefull. Coffee was excellent. All rooms -including the vacant ones- were cleaned daily. Pool was super clean and quiet. The inner yard is nicely decorated. I totally recommend this place.

Room Tip: All rooms are perfect. Bigger ones are on ground floor by the pool. Discounts apply for weekly sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    14
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
19
19
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Loved this place. It was near the action of downtown but far enough away to be peaceful. Nice small pool. Great breakfasts included, nice staff. A refridgerator for us too use, which is the best when your in this hot country. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mae710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stayed in two different rooms here. No complaints - a great home base to explore Granada. Owners & staff are friendly and it feels safe and secure. Breakfast is good and you're only a few blocks from the Plaza.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Andy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn
Level Contributor
262 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Location is good, 5 minutes walk from Parque Central. Quiet street, good sleep. Rooms really need update, once very colorful walls are now dirty from the use and visitors. Rooms could also be a bit more clean, dust in some places. Breakfasts quality depends, always fruit salad accompanied by gallo pinto and eggs and toast which is good enough but if only 1 pancake addition to fruits then too small for busy day on volcano. Price is a bit high for the tired rooms.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Nina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Lovely casa, unbeatable, quiet location, yet just steps from the action.

The team here are incredible. Very friendly, without intruding. Excellent English skills mean they can help with anything.

We loved Ana, who not only made us gorgeous breaky every day, but also asked us what we would like mañana!

The pool is a total sanity saver. Set in a stunning, private and peaceful courtyard, the water is lovely and chilled - just the ticket after a hike around Mombacho...or a stroll to the Parque.

Excellent value. Cannot find fault.

Loved it.

Room Tip: Try to get a space upstairs and away from the breakfast area. Some of the American guests SHOUT at e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allthecountries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stayed at Hotel Casa Capricho based on a Moon guide review and were overall very happy with it. The room was charming, the pool and garden very appealing, and the laid-back and quiet atmosphere a great change from our home stay in San Juan del Sur, where we were studying Spanish for 3 weeks. I should also mention that the price was very reasonable and we were able to walk in and get a great room on a Saturday without reservations. And there was a nice breakfast included. The hotel is well located, right next to the Convento San Francisco and a few blocks from the main drag on Calzada.

Normally, I would give this hotel an "Excellent" rating as it surprised and delighted us. However, shortly after we arrived, our toilet broke and we spent the night using a hotel bathroom separate from our room. When they got a repairman into our room in the morning he apparently confronted a big problem and the toilet's backed-up contents spilled onto the floor. He reseated the commode and we waited while the cement dried. Meanwhile, they didn't proactively clean the bathroom floor and even after we asked them to and they complied, we endured the smell of sewage for the duration of our stay (through the afternoon). So a bummer in what I imagine would have been an excellent experience without the toilet problems.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank idmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Great place. Incredibly nice staff and owner. Fantastic breakfast. Clean rooms and nice pool. Perfect location and very safe.

The doors close at midnight though so if you go out late you have to bang the door and wake someone up which is a bit awkward.

Still, it is the best hotel I stayed in during my time in Nicaragua

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Number5Bulls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Club
Hotel El Club
#29 of 43 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#6 of 43 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Il Padrino Hotel
Il Padrino Hotel
#14 of 43 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#1 of 43 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 43 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Capricho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Capricho

Property: Hotel Casa Capricho
Address: Calle El Arsenal 401, Granada, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Capricho 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa Capricho is a restored home in the old colonial city of Granada, Nicaragua. We are located behind the great walls of Convento San Francisco on Calle El Arsenal, just two blocks from Parque Central towards the Grand Lago de Nicaragua. Calle El Calzada, is located just two blocks from Hotel Casa Capricho. Here you can enjoy restaurants, bars and music. If you have a late night, our security guard will be waiting for you. The house has 10 bedrooms, some with queen size beds, others with double or single beds. Two of the rooms have two levels. We also offer an apartment with one bedroom, living room, kitchen and two balconies. All the bedrooms have private baths, hot water and 9 are air conditioned. Maid service and breakfast are included. Computer, Internet and Vontage phone calls (to the US & Canada) are available for your use to keep in touch with friends and family at no charge. We offer a "Guest Kitchen" which is shared by all the guests. Fully stocked with everything you will need to make your meals at home! The house has several seating areas for you to relax or visit with friends. The pool is clean and refreshing ~ a wonderful amenity to enjoy after a day of sightseeing. Our house is your house! Stay a night, weekend, week or a month! We look forward to serving you and making your stay in Granada, Nicaragua a pleasant one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Casa Capricho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing