We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Hostel in perfect City” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostel Oasis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Oasis
Certificate of Excellence
Franconia, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Hostel in perfect City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Oasis 6 nights and would love to go back!
We had a private room for 20$, including all you can eat pancake breakfast, coffe, tea and water!
Its a great atmosphere and really relaxing!

The only negative thing a can say is the mood of the staff... They could smile more often!

Thanks for a great time!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jonastock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    199
    74
    20
    15
See reviews for
11
156
148
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Great location, breakfast is ok, pool is brilliant, rooms are hot! We stayed in the x rooms and ours didn't have a window, which combined with a tin roof meant we were just melting most of the time! The moment the sun came up it was almost unbearable. However the pool is very refreshing and great for a dip in. There is a lot of great communal space for sitting and chilling and the hostel has a good atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilkleytraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Good value for money hostel. Breakfast is nice, rooms are fairly valued but can get very hot, WIFI works well in enough in most of the spots and the pool is nice for a dip.

This isn't a party hostel at all.. but can be quite sociable if you want it to be. Quiet time is at 11 and it is enforced

The staff aren't really the most joyful bunch, but they provide an adequate service.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayden P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Great choice in Granada. Good breakfast, pool, drinking water. Staff are helpful with information and tours. Arranged the Masaya night tour through them and thought it was very good. Granada is hot, but I chose a top bunk with a fan blowing right over it, and was able to sleep well.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

My husband and I stayed our first night in Granada at the Hostel Oasis, as we read about it in the Rough Guide travel book and saw good reviews on TripAdvisor. I'm unclear why this place is rated so highly and even recommended. First, the room itself was very dirty. We stayed in a private double with a private bath. We had to pull a clump of hair from the shower drain and there was hair and dirt all over the floors. The room also was a hotbox (yes, Granada is hot, but the room was even hotter), with no circulation. We had a fan, but it was plugged into the only outlet in the room, which barely made it possible to have it point towards the bed. Secondly, the staff was incredibly unfriendly. When we arrived, I asked about recommendations for activities and the woman at the front desk, without making eye contact, just pointed and said, "there is a map." She seemed put off by my even asking. At breakfast the next morning the staff was surly and unwelcoming as well. Breakfast of pancakes and fruit are included with your stay, but there was no fruit available, even after waiting 20 minutes. There also were no plates available, nor forks. We asked for plates and the woman, again very rudely, said we would have to wait. I would not recommend staying here, as you can find much nicer accommodations for the same price, in an even more central location. We moved after our first night and for the same price found a cleaner hotel with air conditioning, full breakfast of eggs/gallo pinto, and much friendly staff. Perhaps with all the good reviews, this place just stopped trying...

One redeeming quality is that they have internet and computers available to use, but still not enough to make up for our unpleasant experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tata123, Propietario at Hostel Oasis, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
I am soo sad you and your roomate decided to EACH towrite such a bad reviews of us!!!! Granada is indeed hot at this time of the year, and my receptionist might had been overwhelmed by clients at the moment.....and you forgot to mention that for 14 American dollars each of you had a private room with bathroom, made each one of you free phone calls to your country, ate all you can eat pancakes and fruits (even after your waiting for the cutting of extra fruits.).had free coffee, free tea, free filtered watered.....a pool, internet computers, wifi, and if you had noticed Oasis is to meet other travelers, and is NOT your regular private/room hotel. You found an uncleaned bathroom? Just asking at the reception for someone to look and clean it would had been enough....You gave us such an awful review that I am actually glad you found another place as indeed Oasis was not for you, GLADLY it still is for many backpackers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Pros: (lemme start with the few positives)
- Nice hammocks and rocking chairs around the courtyard
- We felt safe
- Free computers for internet use
- Free filtered water

Cons:
- Far from clean - I took about 3 weeks of hair out of the shower drain so we could use it. Mopping without ever changing the water does not result in clean - just an even layer of dirt.
- Staff are completely unfriendly - never a smile or even eye contact, instead we were greeted with a grimace. We asked politely for local recommendations - "there's the map" was the response.
Breakfast - all food, plates, and silverware was wiped out and they were slow and unfriendly in replacing it, even though there was over an hour left in the breakfast service.
Crappy room (B2) - beastly hot, one outlet, half the lights burned out, locking wooden cabinets without keys or ability to use, half-broken standing fan.

I honestly don't understand the many positive reviews, it can only be from the many signs that ask you to contact the owners instead of writing a bad review - but there were too many negatives from our one night stay to redeem the place.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Joshy_the_Hippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Excellent place. We had a double room with private bathroom (28$/night) and thought it was perfect for the following reasons:
- Location is central
- Place is cool and favors discussions with new other people, but still quiet so you can sleep early if you want
- Price is good
- Of course, free coffee/breakfast/pool/WiFi, though the WiFi was hard to use on my Galaxy S3
- Big wardrobe/safe in the double room very useful if you stay there a few days
- 2 ceiling fans and 1 floor fan to help sleep at night (cause the room can get hot in the night)
- Possible to buy water/beer/pops for a fair price onsite; also possible to bring in your own alcohol
- Free purified water refils (though we only used bottled water)
- Organize parctical airport pickups, though it was pricey (40$), you would probably be better off if you don't arrive too late in Managua

I really thought this was perfect stay for our trip: it should be for you too!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Radaghast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#6 of 43 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Barcelona
Hotel Casa Barcelona
#31 of 43 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 43 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Terrasol
Hotel Terrasol
#16 of 43 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 43 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
0.4 mi away
Il Padrino Hotel
Il Padrino Hotel
#14 of 43 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Oasis

Property: Hostel Oasis
Address: C. Estrada 109, Granada, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 59 Speciality Lodging in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Hostel Oasis Granada
Hostel Oasis Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing