We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My home in Nicaragua”
Review of Hotel con Corazon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel con Corazon
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“My home in Nicaragua”
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Staying at Hotel Con Corazon just completed an already amazing experience in Granada. It feels more like a home than a hotel. The rooms are maybe on the smaller side, but there is still plenty of space. It felt like a bedroom…even in its decor. There is a lockbox. There is a nice-size and immaculate bathroom. I appreciated that they had a good quality shampoo and shower gel there for us. I didn’t use the A/C all the time but it was nice to have it at night. It is hot in Granada.

The mission of Hotel Con Corazon really permeates the place. All the employees are exceptional people, taking a deep interest in their guests’ happiness. For example, the A/C was leaking in my room. They immediately changed out the bed that had gotten wet. They were really distressed that the workmen scheduled to come at noon actually came at 8 p.m. They were ready to move me but I told them I’d take advantage of their comfy hammocks to read a book and nap, then go out for lunch, then come back for some great drinks at the hotel bar. There is a lovely patio, a nice little pool to cool off in, and a upstairs balcony with more seating. I didn’t carry a computer so didn’t use the WI-FI but there are two computers available for guest use. There are cups and filtered water available around the entire hotel.

I speak fluent Spanish so I really got to know many of the staff members and their stories. Most are studying English and tourism/hotel management. They are optimistic about Granada and themselves. They are also fun and kind. One night as I drank my macua (try this local drink), several staff members gave me “Nicaraguan” lessons, teaching me phrases and words unique to Nicaragua. We were in stitches. Even if you only know a little Spanish, they will enjoy practicing with you. You will notice that the employees seem to come in a little early and stay a little late after their shifts. It is clear they enjoy their job, their guests and their co-workers.

The food is outstanding at the hotel. All food is bought fresh daily. I recommend eating dinner there at least one night. It is excellent. The breakfasts are really filling. I was teasing the staff that there was no gallo pinto (a traditional rice and bean dish) with the eggs. It is Nicaragua after all! The next morning, it was on my plate. Do not be afraid to ask if you want or need something (that is reasonable).

Hotel Con Corazon is on a quiet corner just two blocks from the main plaza and cathedral. From there you can walk to La Calzada, the street has many restaurants with tables out on the street. It is closed to car traffic. I asked for restaurant recommendations in the hotel and they never failed me. I mostly avoided La Calzada since it’s purely foreigners. I kind of headed in other directions.

I cannot recommend this place highly enough. While most guests are from Europe and the US, we all were attracted by Hotel Con Corazon’s mission. When I left the States I didn’t know I’d be coming to Granada. I plan on returning to Granada next year and intend on bringing school supplies, books (in Spanish or bilingual English/Spanish). Pencils, stickers, erasers, anything. The foundation works with many schools and libraries in the area. If you are able to find room in your suitcase, fill it with school supplies and books. Leave them with the Hotel staff. Then go to the market in Masaya and treat yourself!

The staff will also help you find guides. Nicaragua isn’t easy to get around without either a vehicle or a guide. I found guides’ prices very affordable and worth it. Their vast knowledge of the region made the sights I saw even more fun.

Take some time to speak to one of the staff who works with the foundation. They can tell you how you can continue to support the work that they do.

Lastly, I want to specifically thank a few staff members who went out of their way for me: Noemy, Maritza, Angelo, Leo, Chepe, Anelka, Denis and many others. You, as a visitor, really are contributing to Nicaragua just by staying here.

A phrase I learned while in Nicaragua kind of sums up my visit: Hay mas tiempo que vida (there is more time than life). In other words…don’t rush things. Enjoy Granada and Hotel Con Corazon.

Room Tip: They all look comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dianitah525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    572
    76
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
138
245
78
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

This hotel is located in a nice quiet area of Granada as opposed to the busy Parque Central.
It is lovely, clean and so welcoming. I spent 4 nights there and decided to come back and spend my last night there before my flight back. It was like coming back home. They have two computers available for guest which was great as i did not bring one with me.The staff is terrific and so helpful. They helped with transportation, tours, restaurants, etc. Naomi and Iyonne (as well a great Spanish teacher) were the best! I miss it already The fact that all profit goes to education in Nicaragua makes it the only choice for me.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bostonandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2011

What a lovely and charming hotel! We were so thrilled with our stay. The premises are beautiful and meticulously well-maintained. The rooms are immaculate, the a/c strong, and the showers warm.

What really stood out to me was the bar and the food. We spent one night at the hotel and spent the evening drinking at the lovely bar with our friends. The bartender was absolutely meticulous and made delicious cocktails. You could really see the way he took pride in his work. I'm from San Francisco where mixology is considered an art form, and I was thoroughly impressed by his attention to detail.

The breakfast in the morning was an absolutely delicious, multi-course meal. The service was top notch. Hands down the best "free" breakfast I have ever had in all of my travels.

I would recommend this hotel without hesitation!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helenmelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Great service, very comfortable rooms, family friendly, terrific staff, good breakfast, nice pool! The website doesn't do the hotel justice. The staff are super helpful, speak good English, and can help you set up any kind of tour you want, or direct you to any place you need to go. We loved every minute of our stay here and we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We had the family suite - terrific for traveling with our kids ages 6 and 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LCA99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

A fantastic small hotel that exceeded our expectations (even after reading all the glowing reviews on TA). A lovely layout of public space (plus a swing and giant chess board that our son loved), the breakfast was incredible (and included), the rooms have great styling, were spanking clean and very comfortable (and if you have not had AC and TV in a while you will love that too). But it is the staff that really makes this place—sister’s Ivonne and Nohemy who work at the front desk and the house tour guide Frank were awesome and our 6 year old son loved them. (the rest of the staff was great too) Our family highly recommends this hotel. (And of course the foundation where all the profits go makes it a no brainer when staying in Granada)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crwolff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

Hotel Con Corazon is no hotel as any other. Its profits go to education and local crafts, providing a basis for long-term aid and development. Aside of that, it's also a wonderful hotel with excellent service and value for money. Its rooms are spotless, an extensive breakfast will get your day started, and the pool may not be too big but provides a more than welcome moment after a hot day, as well as its relaxing hammocks. All in all, we had a very nice stay here. Thanks for the great service!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RWMV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinsburg, WV
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I stayed 2 nights at Hotel con Corazon, and it was absolutely perfect. The reception staff is super friendly and available to help with anything. I received very personal service during my stay, and it really felt like home. The hotel is a few blocks from the Central Park, so it's a little more quiet than some of the central hotels. It's an easy 5 minute walk to get to the center. The pool is fantastic for cooling off after a hot day sightseeing in Granada. The food is excellent! I enjoyed a gigantic dinner here on my first night. The cook uses local and fresh ingredients to prepare Nicaraguan favorites. Breakfast is also bountiful. Every day, I enjoyed fresh fruit, granola with yogurt, fresh bread and a choice of eggs. The rooms are simple and clean. There is a fan above the bed, and air conditioning. I didn't use the AC, and I stayed fairly comfortable throughout the night. There is also a wide variety of TV channels, but once again, I didn't use much. I took advantage of the free wifi that's located in the public area of the hotel. I highly recommend Hotel con Corazon. Great service and great mission!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank postaltiburon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#4 of 44 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
0.3 mi away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#3 of 44 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#6 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
0.1 mi away
Il Padrino Hotel
Il Padrino Hotel
#15 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel con Corazon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel con Corazon

Property: Hotel con Corazon
Address: Calle Santa Lucia 141, Granada 0000 Granada, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Granada
#3 Best Value Hotel in Granada
#3 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#7 Business Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel con Corazon 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel con Corazon is a boutique hotel in Nicaragua. Located in the city, in a colonial building with fifteen rooms, a restaurant, bar, patios and a swimming pool. The hotel offers all the modern comforts a traveler desires. It's a place that feels like a home away from home. But these simple luxuries aren't even what makes this hotel so unique. Your stay helps Nicaraguans build a brighter future, as 100% of our profits are invested in education. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel con Corazon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Con Corazon Hotel
Con Corazon Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing