We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sustainable tourism at its finest”
Review of Hotel con Corazon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel con Corazon
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2013

So happy I found this beautiful, friendly, unique hotel! It was their mission and business model that was most appealing to me (100% of the hotel's profits are invested in local education initiatives including some scholarships and hotel operations include local employee training, placement and advancement). I would have stayed here regardless of amenities, but the experience was rewarding on every level.

The staff are simply wonderful, the rooms and common area are cozy and comfortable, the building itself is culturally interesting and inviting, location is central and there's also an amazing full breakfast included in the room rate. And the talented bartenders also make great mojitos!

Can't wait to return to Granada and Hotel con Corazón! En un pais con tanto corazón, era increíble para encontrar un lugar que apoyarlo, y encarnarlo al mismo tiempo.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (675)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 675 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2013

We have only stayed at Hotel con Corazon for one night, but it has been a great experience. The old colonial building is beautifully refurbished, the staff amazingly friendly and the breakfast was wonderful. The hotel does have a big heart and it doesn't only show it through its projects, but also to its guests!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartinaH2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed at Hotel con Corazon a couple of times during our 2 week trip to Nicaragua. It is fairly well located just a 5 minute walk from the center of Granada.

The common areas of the hotel are very nice and inviting. It is especially nice that they have a swimming pool in their courtyard.

The included breakfast is very generous- muesli, yogurt, fruit, rolls and your choice of eggs. The breakfast is the same everyday. The best part of breakfast is that they have a proper espresso maker (which you do not see in many places throughout Nicaragua).

The rooms are quite small, clean and nicely presented. The decor is tasteful and somewhat unique. They have a small safe in the room. The TV offered a decent selection of channels. The A/C is OK- not the best, and the rooms were a bit warm. The WiFi was not very strong in any of the rooms we stayed in, but is much stronger in the common areas.

The nig downside of the rooms, which is what will likely cause us to stay elsewhere in the future is that the rooms at the beginning and end of the hallway are extremely dark. Yes, I realize that this is a colonial style building with the rooms opening out to the courtyard, and thus, you are not likely to get much, if any, direct sunlight. However, because of this, I think the hotel should install proper lighting in the rooms. The lights on the side of the bed are more decorative than truly useful (think "mood lighting"). There is one tiny (and I mean, tiny) light on the side of the room on the wall. There is no overhead light (which would be easy to have given that there are fans over the beds). We had to use our flashlights to pack our bags at night before we left early one morning. Truly, these rooms are so dark that it is a challenge to see properly when the sun goes down. The rooms directly next to the swimming pools provide more light, but they are still quite dark at night.

The staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room directly next to the pool. Room 1 is noisy, dark and looks out on the laundry room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelSimone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We found this from Lonely Planet and were so pleased with this gem. If you are looking for an affordable hotel with beauty and comfort, then definitely go here. They arranged an airport pickup for $30 US, and were there with a personalized sign for us. Our room was small but lovely, with an excellent fan and ac. The pool is beautiful, as is the courtyard with chairs, gorgeous flowers, hammocks, and more. The breakfast was included and was delicious and filling! The bar had great drink deals each night too. Try the mancua; its super tasty! The staff was bilingual and so helpful. They helped us get our bearings, suggested restaurants and called reservations and were helpful when our next shuttle (from Leon, not them) was late. On the whole i highly recommend this gem. Great for a quiet, beautiful spot within five minutes walk of the main drag in town. We did not take any of their guided trips, but met the guide who was very friendly. They also offered to help us rent bikes, but we didn't have time to take them up on it.

Room Tip: We had seven which was nice and secluded and near the pool too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrea k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We stayed with my family for almost a week in Hotel con Corazon. We loved everything about the hotel. The nice atmosphere, the most service minded staff we ever met in Central America, the beautiful patios and gardens, their lovely new pool and the WIFI all over the hotel. We really felt at home (as the website promised) and enjoyed their delicious and healthy breakfast. This hotel has several beautiful places to sit and read, to surf the internet or to lie down by the pool with one of their famous mojito's. Rooms have airco, fan, save, TV and really fancy bathrooms. And last but not least, we loved the whole concept of the hotel to donate all the profit to local educational projects. This is really a hotel with a heart! We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Verbruggen_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

This is a boutique hotel that's quaint, comfortable and charming. A big breakfast is served in the garden/patio and there's a few nice little places to relax; hammocks in the garden, a sweet little pool, and a balcony area with seating. The fact that 100% of the profits go to educational programs for Nica children and the friendliness of the staff were huge plusses. We took our kids on the boat tour of the Isletas and the carriage ride tour offered through the hotel and loved both. We're not usually tour people, but with limited time in Granada, we decided to do these and were really impressed with our guides & how much we go to see. Again, 100% of the tour profits go to educational programs - can't beat that! The staff was super friendly and even arranged for a packed breakfast to-go since we had to leave for the airport at 4:30 am.

Room Tip: We had the "family suite" upstairs which had 2 adjoining rooms and was nice & quiet in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

What was the best part? The hot showers and comfortable beds? The air conditioning? The fact that 100% of the profits go toward educational programs helping local children and families? The art, handicrafts and photos on display (and for sale) by some of these same families? Or was it the sweet and refreshing swimming pool, with towels provided? The awesome location near everything in Granada, but not in a noisy neighborhood? Maybe the huge and healthy breakfast that is included in the price of the room? Or perhaps the amazing staff that was incredibly friendly, funny and interested in helping us have a great experience? This hotel will not disappoint anyone!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#2 of 45 in Granada
1,055 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
0.1 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#4 of 45 in Granada
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 45 in Granada
661 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Xalteva
Hotel Xalteva
#12 of 45 in Granada
257 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Real La Merced
Hotel Real La Merced
#11 of 45 in Granada
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel con Corazon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel con Corazon

Address: Calle Santa Lucia 141, Granada 0000 Granada, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Granada
#3 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#4 Best Value Hotel in Granada
#7 Business Hotel in Granada
Price Range: £57 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel con Corazon 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel con Corazon is a boutique hotel in Nicaragua. Located in the city, in a colonial building with fifteen rooms, a restaurant, bar, patios and a swimming pool. The hotel offers all the modern comforts a traveler desires. It's a place that feels like a home away from home. But these simple luxuries aren't even what makes this hotel so unique. Your stay helps Nicaraguans build a brighter future, as 100% of our profits are invested in education. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel con Corazon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Con Corazon Hotel
Con Corazon Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing