We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis”
Review of Hotel con Corazon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel con Corazon
Ranked #3 of 44 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
va
1 review
“An Oasis”
Reviewed 14 July 2009

My husband and I found our time at Hotel Con Corazon delightful. The staff was consistently courteous, helpful and patient with our limited Spanish, going out of their way to make our stay a pleasant one. The pool and courtyards were lovely and well kept. The food - excellent. We will definitely return here on our next trip to Granada.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsbVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    573
    76
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
138
246
78
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2009

Hotel Con Corazon is like no other place I have ever visited. It is a Hotel with a conscience. The people who run the hotel are from a group of investors/friends in Holland who had a vision for a hotel in a developing country where all the profits would be used to serve the underserved. This hotel donates its proceeds to educational and social organizations in Nicaragua with which it shares this vision.

The hotel is roomy, quiet, lovely, and comfortable. My daughters, 9 and 12, my wife, and I absolutely loved our experience there. The rooms are immaculate, the pool is cleaned twice daily, the rooms are air conditioned and the beds are comfortable and clean. The giant floor-tile chess set is wonderful diversion after a day of hiking volcanoes or shopping in Masaya. The four course breakfasts are the best in Nicaragua.

While there, we were told of an opportunity to observe a pinata factory that receives support from Hotel con Corazon. The pinatas are made by mentally impaired adults, who otherwise would receive no support or training or therapy. My daughters were guided by two of the clients in this voluntary occupational therapy program in making their own pinatas, which they brought home with them to remind them of this cherished experience. We were so moved and impressed by Ernesto, Corrina, and Dora, the three people who have created this space to assist the most marginalized members of Nicaraguan society that we ended up making a donation afterwards. It was the most important moment of our three weeks in the country.

Kim, the Dutch woman who was past manager of the hotel has stayed on to expand such opportunities, while Freek (pronounced Frake) has recently arrived from Netherlands to take over from Kim. In a year, another member of the cooperative will come to add the Hotel Con Coranzon's legacy. This is more than a Hotel. It is an experience and a privilege. I thoroughly encourage you to try it -- the extra few dollars/euros you might spend are well worth it.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chuckbux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nosara, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2009

Hotel con Corazon is by far the best place to stay in Granada. I was impressed by all aspects of the hotel including décor, service, cleanliness, comfort, food and drinks. The hotel is located just a few blocks from the central plaza in Granada in a safe quiet area. During our stay we enjoyed the pool, excellent drinks at the bar and the breakfast that is included was wonderful, fresh fruit, fresh squeezed juice, eggs, cereal, fresh bread it was all delicious. The rooms at the hotel are very nice, with comfortable beds, good linens, modern décor, direct TV, air conditioning, and the best shower with hot water. The staff of hotel con Corazon are the really the crowing jewel, they go above and beyond in their service and friendliness. And if you thought it cannot get any better it does! Your stay at this precious home away from home directly benefits the Nicaraguan school children. This program created a sustainable business that uses its profits to assist the local schools. So you can help the community with your dinner your drinks your stay. Really a brilliant concept. Thank you Hotel con Corazon.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csaiticachica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2009

Traveling to Nicaragua with my father and a couple of friends, Hotel con Curazon was our first stop in the country. We chose the hotel based on their non-profit status as well as the excellent reviews they had already received. The staff and management were incredibly helpful in not only collecting myself and my friends in Managua, but also arranging for my father to arrive the prevous day by Paxeos. The hotel is a wonderful Oasis in the middle of the relative hustle and bustle of Granada. The rooms are excellent , clean and comfortable and reasonably priced for what you get. They even have a nice little pool to cool off after a day hiking or biking. Cheaper accomodation can surely be found; but you must consider the mission of the hotel and how you are helping to contribute to the local economy and need. Even so, the rates are extremely reasonable... and the breakfast was fantastic. If your budget allows, you should stay here. If you are on a backpacker budget... it makes for a good little splurge before leaving Nicaragua and was heads and tails above any hostel we visited. Our hosts went beyond and above expectations in all manner to make us feel at home and point us in the right direction for the rest of our trip. We liked it so much that we even came back to the hotel from Leon for our last night in Nicaragua rather than staying at a questionable hotel in Managua. We all have plans to return to Nicaragua and they will certainly include Hotel con Curazon... hopefully for a much longer stay.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EGriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2009

The Hotel con Corazon is a uniquely appealing combination of a charming, immaculate hotel and a foundation to fund educational projects for children in Nicaragua. The tastefully renovated building, the minimalist chic rooms with modern bathrooms, the great little swimming pool in the courtyard complete with bar, and the affordable price - which includes a very good breakfast as well as taxes - already make this hotel a first choice for visitors to Granada. Furthermore, the staff are all friendly and helpful and aim to make your stay pleasant. Some were perhaps a little more attentive than others, but this was hardly an issue. The hotel feels very safe, which is not something to take for granted in this part of the world. And it provides free wi-fi, a nice extra. All in all, I really enjoyed staying here and felt very much at home. I admire the efforts of the Dutch team behind the whole project, as they have really succeeded in creating something special. The fact that the hotel was conceived specifically as a means to generate income to fund social projects is all the more reason to support it in its endeavours.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jake0012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
1 review
Reviewed 25 May 2009

We are a tour company in Tamarindo Costa Rica. We choose the Hotel Con Corozon because we believe in helping the children of Nicaragua. The Hotel Con Crozon was extremely clean and well kept. The rooms were simple and very comfortable. The food and the staff were excellent. I would recomend this hotel to any of my friends or future clients.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timothyday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2009

As soon as we walked into the courtyard, we knew we were in the right place. The pool was a wonderful, cool break from the constant heat. Our room was spotless and very tasefully done. The staff were friendly and helpful - the ladies in the laundry even helped get a stain out of my blouse for nothing.

We enjoyed breakfast which was likely THE best of our trip, consisting of fresh fruit, granola with milk/yogurt. Coffee (so good!) or tea, fresh juice and warm buns with peanut butter (a welcome treat) and jam.

Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank yvrgirl69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#4 of 44 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
0.3 mi away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#2 of 44 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#6 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.1 mi away
Il Padrino Hotel
Il Padrino Hotel
#15 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel con Corazon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel con Corazon

Property: Hotel con Corazon
Address: Calle Santa Lucia 141, Granada 0000 Granada, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Granada
#3 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#3 Best Value Hotel in Granada
#7 Business Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel con Corazon 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel con Corazon is a boutique hotel in Nicaragua. Located in the city, in a colonial building with fifteen rooms, a restaurant, bar, patios and a swimming pool. The hotel offers all the modern comforts a traveler desires. It's a place that feels like a home away from home. But these simple luxuries aren't even what makes this hotel so unique. Your stay helps Nicaraguans build a brighter future, as 100% of our profits are invested in education. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel con Corazon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Con Corazon Hotel
Con Corazon Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing