We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away from Home in Granada”
Review of Hotel con Corazon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel con Corazon
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2009

Hotel Con Corazon is truly an excellent pick. I stayed there from July 16 to July 20 of 2009. Its surroundings are excellent, about two blocks away from the main square and activity center of Granada. You can eat in the hotel but great restaurants are in walking distance. The town is a friendly place, where doors are always open - literally everyone keeps their doors open during the day, including this hotel. After a few days in Granada, you'll get to know the town well. There are horse carriage taxis and these carriages are also used for every day transportation of goods. There are very few cars on the street (but plenty taxis). There is an excellent bar about 3 blocks from the hotel with live music, a real treat for those who like salsa and merengue.

The hotel offers first class service, including a fully stocked bar, friendly staff, squeeky clean rooms (which is very important to me), and a first class swimming pool with a nice temperature, with free towels. The dinner at night is a set menu, that rotates per day. There is no a la carte food (yet). The breakfast is healthy and outstanding, served as of 7.30am (mainly fruit, yogurt with wholegrain cereal, fruit juice, coffee, and omelet, scrambled egg, with or without ham). They also give nice breakfast kits when guests leave early in the morning (including a nice bottle of water which i needed much on the way to the airport early monday morning). Lunch is not served.
During my stay, I noticed that the hotel has become a pillar of this local community. It is run by a foundation from the Netherlands. All the profits (100%) are used to improve the lives of the Nicaraguan children of 2 rural schools that have been adopted by the hotel. The main focus is to create an environment for these children where they are well fed, rested, and get the right support to learn how to read. The hotel General Manager Freek Sanders, is more than willing to conduct a presentation for the guests. I attended such a presentation one night, and was quite impressed with the program, that employs only local people, including six full time teachers that teach after school lprograms to primary school children. If you'd like to get in touch with some of the local kids, the hotel actually has a library open to the street where kids can come and read for free in a safe and welcoming environment that offers books and fresh clean cold water, supervised by a friendly local volunteer, a lady from the neighbourhood. The hotel, unique because of its mission to touch and improve the lives of children in need, attracts a lot of local Nicaraguans and inernational people alike that want to help.

The hotel manager said it best when he said "staying here is already a big help", given that all profits are used for the program. That made my stay not only a pleasant one, but also left me with a rewarding feeling afterwards.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (675)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

512 - 518 of 675 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2009

We absolutely loved everything about Hotel Con Corazon. The staff was awesome, our room was charming and filled with little cute details, the pool was clean and refreshing. It was the nicest hotel we stayed in during our one month trip to Nicaragua. You really can see the corazon everywhere you look! We didn't have time to take the trips that their own travel agency offered, but they also seemed wonderful.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cerenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2009

Hotel con Corazon is a very special place where you fill as if you were at home. The weather of the city is incredible and it invites to take a beer at every moment. The staff is very kind, the breakfast is fantastic. Is not expensive, rooms are very comfortable and if you don’t think that’s enough with the money you pay they help poor kinds of Nicaragua. I think you should go an enjoy it.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank viajerodelmundo61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2009

Hotel Con Corazon

Is not the cheepest hotel i Granada, but that just dosent matter, because off the staff, the food, the atmosphere, and more...

Reasons to choose Hotel Con Corazon

1. Moste of the staff speak English, and are very helpfull.
2. Good food. only one menu per. night but it is a 3 coures meal and its cheap.
3 Wifi Internet
4. Even though the rooms are from 40$ and up per room, they are clean and with fan and aircondition. Big bathroom and hot water if the weather is not warm enough.
5. Pool
6. Big open courtyard environment with hammocks and a laid back mood
7. The Reason !!!! The profit of the hotel goes to education for kids in Granada.

No way you wont like it!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morten-and-Josefine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2009

Beautiful rooms, nice and clean, great pool, lovely staff - this was the perfect place to stay while in Granada. Before you're deterred by the "distance" from parque central, you should know that you can easily walk it in 2 minutes, and I, a female walking alone, would not have any qualms about walking back to the hotel alone at night. The reception staff are very attentive and able to organize spa trips, taxis, sightseeing, sailboat rides on Lake Nicaragua... I don't have a single criticism about this place. And I'm fussy. Oh, and the bathrooms really are as great as they seem!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MzanziTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2009

My colleagues and I were visiting the commodore our foundation Mundico supports. It was nice te go 'home' to hotel Con Corazon every night. And it was even better knowing that our money was well spend: hotel Con Corazon uses it to help others in Nicaragua.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elkiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2009

My husband and I found our time at Hotel Con Corazon delightful. The staff was consistently courteous, helpful and patient with our limited Spanish, going out of their way to make our stay a pleasant one. The pool and courtyards were lovely and well kept. The food - excellent. We will definitely return here on our next trip to Granada.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsbVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#2 of 45 in Granada
1,055 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
0.1 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#4 of 45 in Granada
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 45 in Granada
661 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Xalteva
Hotel Xalteva
#12 of 45 in Granada
257 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Real La Merced
Hotel Real La Merced
#11 of 45 in Granada
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel con Corazon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel con Corazon

Address: Calle Santa Lucia 141, Granada 0000 Granada, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Granada
#3 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#4 Best Value Hotel in Granada
#7 Business Hotel in Granada
Price Range: £57 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel con Corazon 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel con Corazon is a boutique hotel in Nicaragua. Located in the city, in a colonial building with fifteen rooms, a restaurant, bar, patios and a swimming pool. The hotel offers all the modern comforts a traveler desires. It's a place that feels like a home away from home. But these simple luxuries aren't even what makes this hotel so unique. Your stay helps Nicaraguans build a brighter future, as 100% of our profits are invested in education. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel con Corazon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Con Corazon Hotel
Con Corazon Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing