We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms”
Review of Hostel Libertad

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Libertad
Reviewed 4 February 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here 10 days and found it difficult to leave! We had a private room and were very lucky to get a huge room with 2 double beds and a small bathroom (we think it's the only room with a bathroom). It was $15 a night and although some nights were VERY noisy (there was no curfew or security to tell people to go to bed), this was our only real complaint. The place was relatively clean, friendly, and we met some cool people here.
Would definately recommend it

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KTonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2010

I have been so this nice, familiar hostel and I love the atmosphere over there. Its nice to hang out in the hammock in the colourful garden, to talk with the guys there and have a good cuba libre at the bar in the middle of the hostel. The guys are helpful, you could leave your staff there while you are traveling for a few days. Next month I will be back in Granda and I will stay in La Libertad. We will see us :)

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeoBeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2010

I stayed in this Hostel on several occasions while i was travelling in Nicaragua and i absolutely loved this place. The atmosphere is really nice, always music playing and conversations going on, really colourful and relaxing. The staff are the best you'll find, always helpful and it really is like a family and you're made to feel like a part of it.. Whenever i came through Granada again i'd stay here, planning for one night but ending up staying a week. Viva La Libertad! I hope i'll see all the guys there again some day.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattBarwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2010

I stayed here twice during my 3 weeks in Nicaragua and found it be one my favourite hostels in Central America. The owner is incredibly friendly, hospitable and has a good sense of humour. I felt very at home there and enjoyed relaxing in a hamock during the day, and drinking a glass of Flor De Cana at the bar by night....all with a great selection of music to add that all important travelers soundtrack. I'm going back to Granada at Christmas and will certainly be staying there again for a few nights. Thanks to the staff of La Libertad and see you soon!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthiasashford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2010

I passed through Granada a few times over an extended trip through Central America and every time I stayed at this hostel. The staff are sweet and competent, their English is excellent for those who don't speak Spanish, the atmosphere is fun and relaxed. It's affordable and so close to the Parque. I still keep in touch with a few of the staff there, in fact. I loved La libertad!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaLisaPortland_OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2010

Very friendly attention, beds in dorm clean and simple. Expected not that much and was well surprised. Nice hammocks, clean showers and good music.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaliama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2010

we made a reservation in advance and arrived late at night in the pouring rain or we would have left.. Ug, the place was filthy. our little room looked like a old horse stall with a wood door falling off the hinges and no lock on the door. the kitchen was disgusting and had absolutely not utensils or pots and pans. the walls in our room had lots of little holes with insects crawling in and out of the holes.the internet didnt work while we were there.for five dollars more you can stay in a very nice place...NOTE: ALL THE PICTURES ON FLYERS SHOW A DIFFERENT BUILDING, A NICER BUILDING. THEY HAVE MOVED. WHAT A DUMP.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank medaew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.1 mi away
Hostal Amy House
Hostal Amy House
#25 of 76 in Granada
2 reviews
0.4 mi away
GM Granada Hostel
GM Granada Hostel
#4 of 76 in Granada
164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#2 of 45 in Granada
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
#1 of 4 in Isletas de Granada
346 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casa Barcelona
Hotel Casa Barcelona
#33 of 45 in Granada
155 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#3 of 45 in Granada
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Libertad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Libertad

Address: Avenida 14 de Septiembre | De Iglesia La Merced 250 metros norte, Granada 43000, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 76 Speciality Lodging in Granada
Price Range: £10 - £21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La libertad hostel is 10 years old. Passing the years we have been getting better thanks to the reviews from all of our guests that we have had around the world staying in our hostel and they recommend us with friends and other visitors . Thank you everyone for everything and we are here for you. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing