We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Notes from a small island”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Islita Boutique Hotel
Ranked #6 of 63 Granada B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
South Petherton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Notes from a small island”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We have all said it at some time over a holiday - `if only'.` If only we had booked to stay at this hotel for longer. If only we were staying in this place instead of moving on'. From 6000 miles away in England La Islita sounded like an 'If only' hotel, our kind of hotel. So why not build our holiday around it. Thorough research suggested Granada could be an excellent base, so we booked the best room at La Islita for three weeks solid, fortunately at a time when, if we had stayed at home, we would have been under water.

La Islita is a boutique hotel of eight rooms. Five years ago it was a house which, although close to the Parc Centrale and Cathedral, stood on its own as though it were a small island. It was bought by Tim and Andreas who gave up a career and a business in Miami to convert it into a hotel of their own considerable design skills,

They literally paved themselves up to the nearest road so that the hotel now sat at the end of a cul-de-sac with the mighty Mombacho volcano as a backdrop. On opening day they waited expectantly with family and friends for the first visitor who - wouldn't you know it? - turned out to be a Yorkshire man. 'I were just tekking a walk and thought `eh up, what's this..' We roared with laughter and approval when Tim told us.

Our spacious room of twin full-size beds was blessed with a wide balcony woven with bougainvillea and equipped with two deckchairs and view of the cathedral dome.
It was the room everybody looked up to, not without envy, as they approached the hotel.

Breakfast is taken in an inner courtyard of considerable charm, and served by two irrepressible
maids, Victoria and Pamela. It is unfailling generous, colourful and original - fruit, fruit juices, eggs any way you want them, pancakes, omlettes, breads and, of course, excellent coffee never too hot to drink. You helped yourself to beers, and chalked it up on a sheet.

Tim and Andreas roped in any number of friends to create holiday highlights for us every day. We had the services of a private tour guide, Jessica, who took us with a great Canadian couple to places the street tour companies could not reach. They included a glorious private estate for lunch and the use of the owner's own horses to ride in the foothills of Mombacho. I had never ridden before, so naturally they put me on `Dynamo'.

We were among first guests at their friends' new La Laguna Beach Club, built down gardens on the rim of the Apoyo volcano now filled with a silky, blue lake heavenly to swim and kayak in. We went three times, preferring to give up plans to head for the Pacific coast beaches. And we discovered many of Granada's charms for ourselves, some the hotel were keen to learn about.

As a finale we were invited to La Islita's famous Chinese New Year party given for their friends, the hotel dressed exotically for the occasion by party-planner Andreas. It will remain in the memory for ever.

Room Tip: Book early for the twin-bedded room with gorgeous front of house balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 576davidjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    45
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
46
138
31
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Golden, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We had a wonderful time at La Islita. It's a wonderful, quiet, elegant place to stay in Granada. It's close to the action yet out of the fray. The owners were delightful and quite helpful in guiding us to good spots. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: My husband and I got the room with the balcony. It was spacious with a king sized bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank macaburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heredia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

First trip to Granada and am so very thankful I choose this place to stay! Not only for the cleanliness, helpful staff, and authentic colonial atmosphere... but the location is perfect! One block to a computer with web access that was very inexpensive (the hotel has wifi but I didn't bring my computer); two blocks to the best Mediterranean restaurant I've ever enjoyed (El Camello), and two and a half blocks to the main tourist street in the City. The hotel is spotless, the rooms very generously sized with a/c, the art incredible, the ambiance casually elegant and the owners just two really really nice people. Built around a huge old Mango tree that you sit under on the roof terrace, you'll find yourself pampered with gentle attention, and fed a marvelous breakfast each morning. Enjoy!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SALEM
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

What a nice place, the staff were awesome, rooms were nice and very reasonable. Breakfast was terrific, each day we had something different....all of it was very good. The staff was very helpful with getting around Granada... Would defiantly stay here again

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Salem_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rifle, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

This cute little hotel was perfectly clean, was centrally located near several amazing restaurants and Grenada's cute little entertainment strip that has a wide selection of restaurants, as well as a direct route to the water. The staff at La Islita were more than helpful and so friendly, we couldn't have asked for better. The rooms were perfectly clean and comfortable and the stay was nothing but desirable; we would not improved a thing!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schaumburg, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I spent a week here and enjoyed every minute of it. The hotel is beautiful, historical, comfortable, well run. The breakfasts are not to be missed. Every morning the table was set and waiting, the food fresh and beautifully presented. My room was #8, with a balcony facing the street. The room was very spacious, clean, nicely done. The balcony was pretty with flowering vines, two chairs and a table. The hotel lobby is really nice. It has a sitting area, a dining area, and a garden. The city is friendly and interesting. There are many good restaurants and some really good gift shops that help the community. The owners of the hotel are very knowledgeable and enjoy helping guests have a good visit. You will definitely like this hotel.

Room Tip: I was in #8. I enjoyed spending time sitting on the balcony watching the street in from of the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LangdonTowne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

What a wonderful place to arrive to in Granada. The property is stunning, the views from the rooftop deck gorgeous and the location is spot on. They helped organize rides to and from the airport, massages, day trips out and were always ready to greet with a smile. The rooms are beautifully appointed, had air conditioning and the chickens are barely audible so not sure what other reviewers are on about.
My only negatives were the low water pressure in the shower and an adequate (but not great) breakfast, but both were still good enough not to detract from a top score here.
A special mention to Michael, who manned the hotel in the absence of the owners and was so helpful, friendly and professional that he would not be out of place in a 5 star resort. That is the kind of employee I'd want running my business any day.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SOLTATIO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#4 of 43 in Granada
1,020 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#2 of 43 in Granada
659 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#6 of 43 in Granada
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 43 in Granada
642 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
0.4 mi away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#3 of 43 in Granada
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Islita Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Islita Boutique Hotel

Property: La Islita Boutique Hotel
Address: Calle El Cisne | de la alcaldia, 2 c al lago, 1.5 al sur, Granada, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Islita Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Islita, a cozy boutique hotel with Spanish Colonial charm, is undoubtedly in the best location on a quiet street in the heart of Granada's historic center. Restaurants, shops, language schools and cultural sites are a quick walk away. Our eight rooms are equipped with A/C, Cable TV, Hot Water, Stylish Fans, and Wi-Fi access. Two suites have oversized private balconies. A refreshing saltwater swimming pool in a tropical garden is available to all guests. The rooftop terrace offers some of the best views of Granada. A great value for your money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your La Islita Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing