We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique Hotel with Great Personality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Islita Boutique Hotel
Ranked #8 of 75 Granada B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed at La Islita a week ago. La Islita is a great boutique hotel situated close to the action in Granada. The proprietors, Tim and Andreas, along with their terrific staff, are perfect hosts and take great pleasure in their city and making one's time in Granada memorable. From dining suggestions to day-time excursions (along with complete logistical support) their advice was spot on. Stay at La Islita if you want the "personal touch" that you won't find in a larger establishment.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2014

Michael and staff were very helpful and friendly. They arranged a taxi day trip for us to Masaya and for our departure to Ometepe. We stayed here for 2 nights in Feb 2014 and out of the 7 nights we spent in Nicaragua, this was the best place we stayed. The beds were very comfortable, huge hot water shower, quiet, AC & TV, upstairs terrace with a great view. Walking distance to the calzada and main square. Great breakfast in the morning!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spencer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Tim and Andres welcomed us so warmly, it felt like they were opening their home to us personally. It's a small, intimate and very lovely oasis In the midst of a very lovely town. Staff is excellent, rooms are very comfortable and Tim and Andres provided excellent guidance, recommendations and support as we ventured out to explore "their" world. Thank you thank you for making our stay such a great experience. Also thanks to excellent staff, Virginia, Pamela, Maykel and Esteven!!!! Muchas gracias,!!!

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

A couple of us stayed here in late February and we all loved it. The lobby is beautiful and the rooms are a close second. The building is very well maintained, and in great shape(I'm thinking original tile). The staff was great, fluent in English, breakfast was good. The location is 4 blocks from central park, so if you don't mind a little walking it's a great location.
The beds are very comfortable, the a/c and hot water were very nice. They even included a sound machine to block out the neighbors rooster that liked to crow early.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Alejo07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I really recommend this place. Great price, the service was fantastic with extremely friendly staff. They offer an airport pick up for $40 which is less than what a taxi would cost. Really great roof deck with fantastic views. They can also arrange tours for you, we did one on las islitas. Only negative is that there was a scorpion in our room, but that isnt their fault! Stay here if you want to be off the main, loud part of Granada.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Akraynak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We have all said it at some time over a holiday - `if only'.` If only we had booked to stay at this hotel for longer. If only we were staying in this place instead of moving on'. From 6000 miles away in England La Islita sounded like an 'If only' hotel, our kind of hotel. So why not build our holiday around it. Thorough research suggested Granada could be an excellent base, so we booked the best room at La Islita for three weeks solid, fortunately at a time when, if we had stayed at home, we would have been under water.

La Islita is a boutique hotel of eight rooms. Five years ago it was a house which, although close to the Parc Centrale and Cathedral, stood on its own as though it were a small island. It was bought by Tim and Andreas who gave up a career and a business in Miami to convert it into a hotel of their own considerable design skills,

They literally paved themselves up to the nearest road so that the hotel now sat at the end of a cul-de-sac with the mighty Mombacho volcano as a backdrop. On opening day they waited expectantly with family and friends for the first visitor who - wouldn't you know it? - turned out to be a Yorkshire man. 'I were just tekking a walk and thought `eh up, what's this..' We roared with laughter and approval when Tim told us.

Our spacious room of twin full-size beds was blessed with a wide balcony woven with bougainvillea and equipped with two deckchairs and view of the cathedral dome.
It was the room everybody looked up to, not without envy, as they approached the hotel.

Breakfast is taken in an inner courtyard of considerable charm, and served by two irrepressible
maids, Victoria and Pamela. It is unfailling generous, colourful and original - fruit, fruit juices, eggs any way you want them, pancakes, omlettes, breads and, of course, excellent coffee never too hot to drink. You helped yourself to beers, and chalked it up on a sheet.

Tim and Andreas roped in any number of friends to create holiday highlights for us every day. We had the services of a private tour guide, Jessica, who took us with a great Canadian couple to places the street tour companies could not reach. They included a glorious private estate for lunch and the use of the owner's own horses to ride in the foothills of Mombacho. I had never ridden before, so naturally they put me on `Dynamo'.

We were among first guests at their friends' new La Laguna Beach Club, built down gardens on the rim of the Apoyo volcano now filled with a silky, blue lake heavenly to swim and kayak in. We went three times, preferring to give up plans to head for the Pacific coast beaches. And we discovered many of Granada's charms for ourselves, some the hotel were keen to learn about.

As a finale we were invited to La Islita's famous Chinese New Year party given for their friends, the hotel dressed exotically for the occasion by party-planner Andreas. It will remain in the memory for ever.

Room Tip: Book early for the twin-bedded room with gorgeous front of house balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 576davidjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We had a wonderful time at La Islita. It's a wonderful, quiet, elegant place to stay in Granada. It's close to the action yet out of the fray. The owners were delightful and quite helpful in guiding us to good spots. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: My husband and I got the room with the balcony. It was spacious with a king sized bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank macaburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#3 of 45 in Granada
731 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#1 of 45 in Granada
687 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#2 of 45 in Granada
1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Xalteva
Hotel Xalteva
#13 of 45 in Granada
263 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
0.3 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#8 of 45 in Granada
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Islita Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Islita Boutique Hotel

Address: Calle El Cisne | De La Alcaldia, 2 C Al Lago, 1.5 Al Sur, Granada, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range: £53 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Islita Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Islita, a cozy boutique hotel with Spanish Colonial charm, is undoubtedly in the best location on a quiet street in the heart of Granada's historic center. Restaurants, shops, language schools and cultural sites are a quick walk away. Our eight rooms are equipped with A/C, Cable TV, Hot Water, Stylish Fans, and Wi-Fi access. Two suites have oversized private balconies. A refreshing saltwater swimming pool in a tropical garden is available to all guests. The rooftop terrace offers some of the best views of Granada. A great value for your money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your La Islita Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing