We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautifully chic Oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Islita Boutique Hotel
Ranked #6 of 69 Granada B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 February 2009

This was my first time in Granada and I was thrilled to have stumbled across this very chic colonial style hotel just a stone's throw away from the main strip. Both the owners and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful and gave me lots of information and tips on where to find the most competitively priced excursions and tours, where to eat and drink and the best places to buy local artisan crafts. They really were a friendly bunch!
The hotel itself is down an unpaved road about 2 blocks from the main street and once inside you are greeted with beautiful features such as a tropical courtyard, wooden columns, reclaimed roof tile, huge wooden doors, wrought ironwork and colonial inspired floor tile. The reception area is particularly comfortable and vibrant and also had free wi-fi. So nice not having to trundle up a street to find an internet cafe. There is a rooftop terrace which provided wonderful views of Mombacho Volcano and Granada's Cathedral and I sat up there on two occasions with a cold beer. A real funky feature at the hotel was the huge mango tree bang slap in the middle of the property. I'm pleased to report that some of the mangos had been turned into a jam which I enjoyed as part of my delicious homemade breakfast.
My room was very tranquil and had all the usual amenities such as hot water, flat screen TV with cable, A/C and a ceiling fan which was made from that beautiful Italian coloured glass. The bed was really comfortable with Egyptian Cotton sheets. Very nice indeed! The high cane ceiling was a wonderfully attractive feature and a constant throughout the property. It made my room, which was already of generous proportion, feel much much bigger.
One thing you do notice on arrival is just how clean this place is. My room was also spotless.

It was an absolute pleasure staying here. Being a solo female traveller has its down points but I have to say that on this occasion La Islita was a beautifully chic oasis where the staff and owners made me feel so welcome and comfortable I felt like I had known them for years. I would definitely recommend this hotel. 5 Stars!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spindriftmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 307 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2009

My mother and I stayed in LaIslita for 3 nights and had a great stay. The owners and staff were very friendly and attentive to our needs. Our room was very clean and the whole hotel has a bright, happy feel to it. It was a great oasis to make our base in the midst of the busyness of Granada.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLStaples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2009

La Islita has a warm, friendly, welcoming atmosphere. The lobby is beautifully appointed, making the most of work of local artisans and old colonial charm. The rooms are clean, comfortable, and tastefully decorated. Each room has a private bathroom, television, and air conditioning. The Continental breakfast was more than expected with fresh squeezed juice, local fruits, and warm, fresh breads. The owners are extremely welcoming, friendly and helpful. With their familiarity of Nicaragua, they can direct you to local restauants and sights in Granada as well as provide you with tips for traveling and sightseeing in Nicaragua. They make their guests feel right at home.
La Islita itself is conveniently located, only two short blocks from the city center. From the hotel, you have a wonderful view of the cathedral, lake, and volcano. It is only a short walk to local restaurants, the cathedral, and central park. A stay at La Islita is a jewel in the crown of the whole Nicaragua experience.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macduffandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2009

I was recently in Granada and was able to book a room at La Islita. I was very pleasantly surprised at what a jewel this place is in Granada. You are made to feel welcome from the time you step through the front door. The owners are very gracious and available to help you with anything you need to make your stay there amazing. The rooms are well appointed and very comfortable. Finally, the breakfast served at La Islita makes you want to stay and feast. On my next trip there, I will definitely stay at La Islita and would highly recommend La Islita for anyone visting. A perfect place to come home to after a long day of exploring the beauty of Granada.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frankcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Larry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nazira28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Andrés A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 45 in Granada
1,049 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Xalteva
Hotel Xalteva
#12 of 45 in Granada
256 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#5 of 45 in Granada
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#1 of 45 in Granada
671 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
4.4 mi away
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
#1 of 4 in Isletas de Granada
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Islita Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Islita Boutique Hotel

Address: Calle El Cisne | de la alcaldia, 2 c al lago, 1.5 al sur, Granada, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range: £55 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Islita Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Islita, a cozy boutique hotel with Spanish Colonial charm, is undoubtedly in the best location on a quiet street in the heart of Granada's historic center. Restaurants, shops, language schools and cultural sites are a quick walk away. Our eight rooms are equipped with A/C, Cable TV, Hot Water, Stylish Fans, and Wi-Fi access. Two suites have oversized private balconies. A refreshing saltwater swimming pool in a tropical garden is available to all guests. The rooftop terrace offers some of the best views of Granada. A great value for your money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Islita Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing