We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would greatly benefit from customer service training!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel La Posada del Sol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 November 2011

The rooms are adequate and clean, although a bit expensive for $45 a day. No credit card really accepted. Sleep quality is good as well as breakfast. However, customer service is really really bad. The lady at the front desk is rude. She would greatly benefit from customer service training. I came here as a part of a group and there were some last minute changes. We required 2 singles bedrooms instead of a double room. Although se made the changes for one day, we had to pay up-front -please notice we are part of a big party of 10+ Her comments were inadequate and rude. She wasn't helpful. On the contrary she was inattentive and scolding. Being a native Spanish speaker I understand really well the nuances of her comments. She is very strict on the hour one must leave the room, but not so as strict on the entering hour. It seems she is doing one a favor. This is a payed service! As a side note While in a meeting yesterday, they turned on the TV right next to us -person didn't even asked or explained, to put a baby to sleep. I am assuming the baby is the son of the owners. It doesn't bother me to have a family ambiance, but such behavior seemed again highly inappropriate. There is a lot of potential for Granada. The hotel is a nice place. However, building long-term relationships is not something they envision.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Silvia d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2011

The owners are terrible in regards to customer service. Th couple lives in the hotel, so its like staying in a inhospitable budget hotel. The rooms are at best adequate, however the what most definitely makes this hotel bad, is the way the couple handles customer service. They are uneducated and not courteous. Lots of better options other than this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elston c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaPosadadelSol09, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel La Posada del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2017
Google Translation

Querido Elston C, en realidad tu opinion es demasiado critica, mas detalladamente queremos explicar que los dueños del hotel, viven en Italia.
Una de las recepcionistas que es también la manager tiene su casa en Managua y a veces por trabajar más de 14 horas diarias se queda a dormir en el hotel por no viajar hacia su lugar de noche. También se aprovecha el momento para explicar que los asuntos personales de los trabajadores del hotel, no tiene relación con la calidad de los servicios que el hotel brinda y con el tipo de instalaciones que el hotel ofrece.
De todas maneras lo sentimos si desafortunadamente algún accidente específico ocurrió durante la estadía de Elston C, por lo cual se generalizó un comentario que no corresponde a nuestra habitual calidad de servicio.
Invitamos a estas y todos los viajeros de probar la calidad de nuestros servicios que hace sentirse en familia a nuestros huéspedes y le damos la bienvenida a La Posada del Sol.
Nosotros tomamos mucha energía y satisfacción cuando el cliente reconoce nuestro trabajo y tomamos fuerza cuando las opiniones de nuestros clientes no son tan positivas, para mejorar en nuestra labor diaria y garantizar la satisfacción y que el cliente goce de su estadía.
Les deseamos un feliz dia a todos, cordiales saludos Hotel La Posada del Sol.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

The best deal, without a doubt, in this lovely city. Before we (wife and i) settled here we looked at several places, but none came close to matching what you ge for your money. Very clean rooms, very large, swimming pool, a/c, and friendly staff. The most cofortable beds I-ve ever slept in too!

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed decent/ upstairs have kitchen and refrigirators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlos z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We didn't have any reservations and we had some trouble finding a hotel within out budget that wasn't a hostal. But we came across La Posada del Sol which is a great, clean and nice hotel. It has a swimming pool which can be great considering how hot Granada is and the rooms have AC, Cable TV, Free Wi-fi and are pretty comfortable. I got sick during my stay and the staff at the hotel were very helpful, telling my boyfriend where to buy medicines and even giving us a doctor's address. The breakfast was OK but a bit pricey. I do recommend eating at el Zaguan instead of the "tourist-trap" restaurants in the main street.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatSM12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

We stayed for 2 nights and it was a pleasant stay. The owners leave in the hotel and they have a hotel room themselfs. they were hanging their clothes to dry right at the pool, at times it felt we were intruding in their private home. they have a small baby boy that was cared by the staff on duty, the baby even had a cot in the courtyard and spend most of the day there napping or playing, it takes a village to raise a child, right? :-) the first night they told me the hotel was full although I have made a reservation prior to my arrival. They send us to a cheap, craby place 2 blocks away and we returned the next day. Breakfast is expensive for what it offers, you are better off going to Garden Cafe, they have the best breakfast in town plus has a really nice ambience. the hotel stay overall was nice.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bella134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

We were recomended to visit this place , and we did not regret it!It is very secure,day and night.
The room are roomy , staff is friendly . and always ready to help you , whatever your needs.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2011

Spent four nights here while in beautiful Granada. This was a great find, recommended by an amiable local. After looking around, we felt it was a really good value in comparison to some of the other hotels and b&b's we looked at.

The location is on a quiet side street, parallel to the main pedestrian street and very near the central plaza. We felt the barrio to be safe and neighbors friendly. The hotel itself is lovely, with its charming courtyard garden and rather large pool. Staff was friendly and helpful. The room we had was quite spacious, had a queen and twin bed, separated by a partition, as well as a small kitchen and dining area. We found it to be clean and comfortable - not the height of luxury - but very pleasant for the $50USD/night we paid (incl taxes, but not breakfast). We enjoyed the pool very much. It was a great break from the mid-day heat, surrounded by the pretty garden, enhanced by the visiting geckos, parakeets and motmot's flying overhead.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allyoop1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel El Maltese
Hotel El Maltese
#26 of 45 in Granada
45 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#3 of 45 in Granada
719 reviews
0.4 mi away
Il Padrino Hotel
Il Padrino Hotel
#17 of 45 in Granada
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casa La Merced
Casa La Merced
#27 of 45 in Granada
47 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa Barcelona
Hotel Casa Barcelona
#33 of 45 in Granada
155 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#1 of 45 in Granada
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Posada del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Posada del Sol

Address: Calle el Caimito the mayoralty three blocks i average lake, Granada, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 76 Speciality Lodging in Granada
Price Range: £34 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Posada del Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel La Posada del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing