We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem in the Heart of Granada”
Review of Casa Silas B & B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Silas B & B
Ranked #5 of 63 Granada B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Big Corn Island, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Gem in the Heart of Granada”
Reviewed 23 August 2009

We just spent 18 days in Nicaragua and 11 nights were spent in this delightful Bed & Breakfast. Set in the heart of Granada it was a real treat to be part of the local community. Rob and Janik have renovated a lovely colonial home complete with bedrooms off the center pool and garden. We spent many relaxing hours laying in a hammock and reading in this little oasis. After our trips of exploration we indulged in many refreshing dips in the pool. Breakfast at Casa Silas was always a treat with a bowl of fresh fruit, delicious smoothies as well as cooked breakfast as desired. The B&B is close to everything and Rob & Janik were very helpful in arranging trips to San Juan del Sur, Pueblos Blancos and our return trip to the airport. Rob & Janik gave us many suggestions as to where to eat, sights to see, and things to do - plenty to keep us busy for our stay with them. Believe me, when we return to Nicaragua, Casa Silas will be top of our list for accommodations in Granada.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
211
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
amsterdam
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2009

What a nice and restfull place after visiting the city of Granada. Its located in the center but a tranquil place. The pool is a really nice and welcome refresher! Janik serves the best breakfast of the whole of Nicaragua and is always there for you. The rooms are spacious, cool and stylish with beautiful wallpaintings drawn bij Rob who is a good artist. We are coming back here for sure!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nelpep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2009

Casa Silas is a charming B&B that I had the pleasure of stumbling upon. The hosts Janik & Rob are extremely accommodating and helpful. Breakfasts are delicious and revile any hotel stays! This B&B is a little oasis in the city with a fabulous pool in the courtyard and hammock to lounge in after a day of exploring the city. I would certainly go back again and highly recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cityslicker0424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2009

I recently returned from a stay at Casa Silas. It is my new home away from home. I am an adoption attorney and travel to Nicaragua quite frequently. I found the accommodations at Casa Silas very comfortable with that home away from home feel.

Casa Silas has a very intimate atmosphere and the owners are always there to help you with any questions. Each morning the owners prepared a fabulous breakfast to help me start out the day.

Casa Silas has wireless internet and a North American phone connection (Vonage) which allowed me to keep in contact with all my clients back home while attending to my adoption business in Nicaragua.

If you want hip, stylish, and comfortable accommodations, choose Casa Silas. You can't beat the price. I already have my next stay booked!

Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank AdoptionAttorney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
81 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2009

I spent four nights at lovely Casa Silas at a rate of $40 per night. Casa SIlas is owned by Janik and Rob, a friendly Canadian couple who go out of their way to make you feel at home and help you out with any needs. Their happy dog Silas acts as night watchman. Janik makes phenomenal breakfasts (included in the room rate), truly the best hotel breakfast I've ever had. The rooms have cold A/C, are spacious, and well furnished with a comfy bed, nightstands, chairs, closet space, roomy bathroom. There is a small pool in the atrium area and a hammock to read in. It is right in the center of town, just a 5 minute walk to the Parque Central. I would rate this as the nicest bed and breakfast I've ever stayed at, I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UsaPassportStamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2009

We stayed at this lovely b&b and were so thrilled with the accommodations. Spotless! The cleanliness and comfort was such a relief to us as we've been disappointed before on various getaways and everything here is new, fresh and immaculate. The hosts Janik and Rob are originally from Canada and have retired here. They are so knowledgeable about the best places to go and how to get there. They were so accommodating and made us entirely comfortable during our stay. We would love to go back and when we do, we'll definitely return to Casa Silas.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JewelsOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nevada City, Ca
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2009

Casa Silas is a lovely find in Granada. Charmingly decorated, spacious bedroom and best of all, delightful hosts Janik and Rob, and their friendly dog Silas. The bed and breakfast was very close walking distance to the main plaza. We traveled all over Nicaragua and kept coming back to stay at Casa Silas. We highly recommend this bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuanitaNevadaCity_Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.5 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#6 of 43 in Granada
694 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#4 of 43 in Granada
1,020 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 43 in Granada
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Il Padrino Hotel
Il Padrino Hotel
#16 of 43 in Granada
181 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Barcelona
Hotel Casa Barcelona
#30 of 43 in Granada
152 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#2 of 43 in Granada
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Silas B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Silas B & B

Property: Casa Silas B & B
Address: Calle La Concepcion 206, Granada 43000, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Silas B & B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Silas offers you a very comfortable Queen size bed and ensuite bathroom with hot shower. Our rooms are equipped with air-conditioning and ceiling fans, and also feature skylights for a gentle wake up call from the Nicaraguan sunrise and the parrots outside your window. The rooms look out upon the courtyard garden and swimming pool. Your most difficult decision at Casa Silas will be whether to have a morning dip in the pool before or after coffee. In addition to coffee we also offer a selection of fresh, local fruits, jams and heartier breakfast fare to start your morning of exploring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Casa Silas B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Silas Hotel Granada
Casa Silas Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing