We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay if you like privacy in the bathroom!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Granada
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hospedaje Cocibolca
Ranked #38 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Reviewed 4 August 2010

I stayed here as part of a group booking so was not surprised to have a basic level room, however I was very disappointed with the level of cleanliness and the lack of privacy.
The bathroom walls stop about 50cm short of the ceiling, and the door didn't actually stay closed anyway, so you could here everything going on in there. Fine if you are a couple who don't mind that sort of thing, but not great when travelling with a friend you don't know that well. The shower also flooded on the first night, but to their credit this was fixed the next day.
The hotel has a couple of kittens who used the plant pots outside the rooms as toilets so the whole place stank.
Very good location for bars and restaurants.
Helpful and friendly staff.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madlymanutd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
There are newer reviews for Hospedaje Cocibolca
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2010

I have stayed at this hospedaje a few times and have found it to be perfect for my purposes. It is clean, and safe and wonderfully located just outside of the plaza--within walking distance to the louder parts of town as well as Lago Cocibolca. The staff was extremely accommodating--we had a large group that they prepared a delicious breakfast for each morning ( including traditional North American fare as well as traditional Nicaraguan fare (gallo pinto) ) at 5 am so that we could begin our service project work by 6am. The rooms are sparsely furnished and not air conditioned and most have their own simple bathrooms. I would not hesitate to stay there again. It is also directly across the street from the Zoom Bar where the mojitos flow freely!!

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lascool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2010

The hotel has a very central location on "gringo street", excellent for geting to numerous restaurants and bars (fantastic if travelling alone like I was). There is also a fairly well equipped kitchen guests can use if you don't want to eat out all of the time. The rooms are basic, but clean, and have a fan. Rooms upstairs are better with rocking chairs outside to relax in, and quieter than those downstairs.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OhNoTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2009

We stayed at CociBolca for two nights at the end of trip, not wanting to stay in Managua. It is centrally located in a safe part of town and is very easy to get to and to use as a home base. The rooms are very small for a double/single (ie: one double bed), but we were not there to spend time in the hotel, just a place to sleep and keep our possesions safe. Our room did not have AC, but we did have a fan and a private bathroom with a large shower. It was a bit loud at night until around 12pm because of its awesome location, and we were there on a weekend.

The manager/front desk when we were there was incredibly helpful and friendly, and the front lobby has great rocking chairs and good internet access.

A good choice for a short stay in Granada!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gringoblanca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2009

I booked my first night's stay in Granada in this hotel online through thier online booking service. I arrived at 10pm by myself, female alone, to be told that they had not received my booking and that they were full. Another couple arrived after me and were also told the same. We had all booked directly through the hotel's website and were all turned away when we arrived and left to walk the streets at 10pm.

Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
1  Thank Carly136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2009

There are two hotels by the same name.

The first, which has no swimming pool is essentially a hostel for backpackers. The room offered us was adjacent the public gathering area and had one electrical outlet. There was none in the bathroom.

The second hotel was an improvement, however the room was the size of a postage stamp. The dresser drawer would not stay closed. Although it was clean, there was a horrible sewer smell which came from the bathroom area. This room also was inappropriate for a couple seeking some privacy.

The internet was not available in the evenings.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bejoytoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Les chambres à l'étage sont mieux que celle du bas.
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Salvatore C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Barcelona
Hotel Casa Barcelona
#30 of 45 in Granada
153 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Maltese
Hotel El Maltese
#28 of 45 in Granada
43 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa La Merced
Casa La Merced
#24 of 45 in Granada
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Il Padrino Hotel
Il Padrino Hotel
#17 of 45 in Granada
184 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 45 in Granada
1,043 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
#1 of 4 in Isletas de Granada
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospedaje Cocibolca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospedaje Cocibolca

Address: Catedral 3c al lago Calle la Calzada, Granada, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Price Range: £12 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Hospedaje Cocibolca Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing