We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”
Review of Islets of Granada

Islets of Granada
Book In Advance
More Info
US$125.00*
and up
Private Islet of Granada Day Tour from Managua
Ranked #2 of 74 things to do in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: We have the best services to make a tours in the islets, with the best boats.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Great views of the volcano around the lake. The lake ride showed wildlife like monkeys cranes and birds. Wonderful

Helpful?
Thank jennifer c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,656 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    911
    527
    181
    20
    17
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NC
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A cooling break from the city heat”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We did the simple 1 hour tour; 20$ per couple. The guide showed us some wildlife, but mostly homes on the islands-nothing special. Monkeys on one of the islands were tame-again, nothing special.
Maybe a longer tour or one where we had been specific about what we wanted to see/not to see would have made for a better experience.
I imagine a kayaking tour might be more enriching.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank CBY56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Interesting Trip - Avoid overpaying though”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We were keen to do this trip but the cost seemed high. We walked down to the lake from the Central Square and turned right, following the path along the side of the lake. Every 5 minutes or so we were approached by 'tour reps' trying to sell us boat trips through the Islets. We have read then some of these are unlicensed so had no intention of booking through them. Once we had arrived at the pontoons where the official boats depart from we faced another onslaught of tour reps. They are not in the least pushy and unlike other places in the world the chaps do take no for an answer. The price started at $30 each for a 2 hour trip (not sure whether this was a private tour or with others. We thought we'd return the following day as it might be quieter. The chap then offered us a 1 hour trip for $5 each. We accepted. We joined a group and returned 1.5 hours later having seen everything we planned to see. Suggest that if you are on a budget don't book in town but take a walk (or a cab - it's a long walk from the Central Square) and see if you can get a deal.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank 001PJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I am fairly active and love lakes and rivers etc, so I couldn't resist kayaking around these 365 islands. I went with a guy called Vladimir Torres, a local 30-something who was delightful. I was a woman alone and felt quite safe. He gave me yellow and green coconuts to try , showed me some tiny bats on a tree branch, went all the way to the howler monkeys island and waited on the shore of an island while I had a swim. We spoke Spanish but I think he speaks some English.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank AJGiffords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meridian
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Relaxed Boat Tour”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Small lancha (covered boat seating 10-16 people) tour for $25. Tour is about an hour and takes you around the small islands in Lake Nicaragua. These islands are often have vacation homes with pools mostly owned by Nicaraguan elite and a few internationals. Really beautiful with lots of mango trees and volcanic rocks.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Theresaluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Islets of Granada also viewed

Granada, Granada Department
Granada, Granada Department
 
Granada, Granada Department
 

Been to Islets of Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing