We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm and central”
Review of Hotel La Bocona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel La Bocona
Ranked #31 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Reviewed 11 February 2014

A converted colonial villa with six spacious rooms, antique furnishings, and a perfectly central location in Granada. After a long day of sightseeing and navigating through the chaos in the city, it's great to be able to walk a few blocks back to the hotel and recharge.

Miguel, the manager, is helpful in recommending things to do and routes to take. The breakfasts are also excellent, my favorite being the crepes with papaya, lemon, and honey.

There is a karaoke club nearby and it is on one of the central streets, so it can get a little noisy. In general, with the fan and the A/C on we did not have any trouble falling asleep.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salvarsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaBocona, Director of Sales at Hotel La Bocona, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Thank you for your review

It was a pleasure helping you thru your stay with us

Iam also glad that you enjoy our breakfast

Hope to host you again!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2014

It is very noisy. The hotel is located right in the middle of the city. There are no traffic lights in Granada, so the locals honk their horns at intersections to alert others. Even with the fan and AC on, we could not get much sleep.

In addition, the bathrooms are separate, which is clearly stated, but you need to walk across a mini outdoor courtyard to access. I was not super comfortable roaming around there in my PJ's.

Lastly, the rooms are very nice, but the beds are quite firm. That may be okay for some, but not so much for us.

The man at the front desk, Miguel is super nice though. The only one there who speaks English. I just wanted to mention that as he was very helpful getting us settled, identifying good places for us to eat, and also agreed to refund our money for the nights we did not remain there.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marniprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaBocona, Director of Sales at Hotel La Bocona, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Thank you for your review

I am so sorry that you did not spend all of your nights with us

Also sorry for the noise

Thank you for mentioning my name i am here ti make our guest really happy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

This is a great place with a lot of history. It’s nice and quiet and located just a couple of blocks from the main square. Romantic rooms with four post beds and high vaulted ceilings. Miguel, who manages the place, is super friendly and helpful. I wish we had stayed longer.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaBocona, Director of Sales at Hotel La Bocona, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Thank you for your review

This is our main goal that our guests feel right at home

We hope to host you in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

This hotel is, the best place that you enjoy peacefully and quietly your staying. It is situated, close to everything you need. After a day in that historical city of Granada, you will feel peace and comfort in those enormous rooms that, La Bocona have. Amazing staff and Miguel, manager of La Bocona, will help you on any question, no matter how many, and answer with honestly and smile. Very professionals. Thank you so much. Be back soon

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jose A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaBocona, Director of Sales at Hotel La Bocona, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thank you so much for your review

It is always a pleasure to us hosting our guests with top of the line service

Hoping to host you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Hotel Bocona is aesthetically charming, with good service, and well situated as a destination to explore Granada, a starting point into south west Nicaragua, or a return stop for a night before heading to the airport.

Rooms are enormous, albeit sparse, there is a lovely, small swimming pool, an excellent massage studio, hammocks and tables throughout. Breakfast is simple, but very good, with attentive service. And provided the manager Miguel is there, problems or needs can be solved quickly.

The hotel isn't cheap, especially to Nica standards, but it is worth it. Enjoy.

Room Tip: You may want to ask for a room off of the street, as those on the street can be a bit noisier. This...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jphimist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaBocona, Director Comercial at Hotel La Bocona, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014
Google Translation

Gracias por su opinion

Es un placer para nosotros que haya disfrutado este paraiso colonial llamado hotel la bocona

Gracias por mencionar mi nombre es un honor para mi atender a nuestros huespedes como si estuvieran en casa

Espero poder hacerlo de nuevo en un futuro cercano!!!

gracias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

My family and I just came back from a few weeks in Nicaragua.This Hotel was great,we stayed at the beginning and end of our trip-6 nights total here. We had room 5,large with two king size four poster beds with AC. The place is immaculate-open air courtyard,small pool,spa services available. Breakfast comes as part of the rate-it was great and the staff are exceptional. Miguel-the manager is really great-he can help you with any transportation,restaurant recommendations,directions to other areas of Nica,and can arrange car rentals.A true professional-is really a concierge extraordinaire.
One of the most important points of this hotel is little known--The Danish owner runs a large charity in the city-proceeds from this hotel-helps to support this,feeding up to 1500 people a day-supports police projects and local city restoration projects-a humble gentleman,who does great work. Help support his cause-pick this hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank basinharborbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaBocona, Director of Sales at Hotel La Bocona, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Thank so much for your review

It was a pleasure for me hosting and helping you to see around Nicaragua

Me and our staff will do everything to make you feel at home

Your resrvation helped part of those 1500 kids with no hope or help at all

We are very happy to work in this paradise called Hotel la Bocona!!

Hope to host you in the near future

Miguel Marenco and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I stayed at this hotel 2 nights. The room was spotless and the bed was a lovely 4 poster and very comfortable. My room had an overhead fan, two upright fans and an air-conditioning unit. As the other reviews have stated the bathrooms (large shower, commode and counter/sink) are outside of the rooms. Not a problem for me, just one of the differences you experience while traveling. The staff were all very friendly and, even though my stay was very short, they all called me by name. I was made to feel welcome and at home.

The hotel interior is decorated very nicely and the pool area is quiet and inviting.

I cannot comment on the breakfasts as I ate out.

Room Tip: There are only 6 rooms. All of them are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roamergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaBocona, Director of Sales at Hotel La Bocona, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Thank you so much for your review

So happy that you enjoy our Hotel

This is our main concern that right at your ckeck in you fell like you are home!!

hope we can host you in the near future!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Granada
Hotel Granada
#22 of 45 in Granada
326 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 45 in Granada
661 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Real La Merced
Hotel Real La Merced
#11 of 45 in Granada
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel El Maltese
Hotel El Maltese
#26 of 45 in Granada
44 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#2 of 45 in Granada
1,055 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casa Barcelona
Hotel Casa Barcelona
#30 of 45 in Granada
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Bocona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Bocona

Address: Calle La Libertad | 2 Blocks West of Central Park, Granada, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Price Range: £68 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Bocona 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Bocona is a six guestroom restored colonial mansion with a large swimming pool and an on-site professional spa to be enjoyed by travelers from all corners of the world who come to Granada looking for an authentic portal to exciting times in Latin American history. An architectural showpiece, the Hotel boasts all colonial period features including cathedral ceilings throughout, solid wood ornate doors, pillars, chandeliers, embellished wood sun-catchers above the doors and, of course, Spanish courtyards of tailored gardens inside. Included in our rates is a full breakfast, afternoon snack, local gym membership, wifi and private parking. We promote responsible tourism by donating half of all revenue to Carita Feliz, a local charitable organization that offers personal, professional, health programs to young people and serves more than one hundred thousand meals annually to children and other community members of little means. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel La Bocona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing