We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, quaint & convenient!”
Review of Hotel La Bocona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel La Bocona
Ranked #30 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Reviewed 12 March 2014

My husband & I stayed at Hotel La Bocona 3 evenings this past January. We found the quarters to be safe, convenient & full of colonial charm. Miguel arranged for our transportation to and from Managua international airport. It was wonderful having him greet us upon arrival.

Balance Spa is in one of the hotel courtyards and was a wonderful on-site perk. The massage was FABULOUS and offered superb value! The massage therapist was incredibly kind, personable and incredibly professional. However, if you are considering spa treatments, pass on the pedi. Like other reviewers mentioned, breakfast was a highlight…Nothing like starting your morning with Nicaraguan coffee and hospitality.

The only suggestion I would offer regards drinking water. While a large bottle is provided upon check-in, the hotel should offer a dispenser for guests to fill water bottles (all other hotels we stayed at in Nicaragua offered this). I found myself “rationing” water to ensure I had enough to brush my teeth at the end of each day. Outside of that, perfect & pleasant stay!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaBocona, Manager at Hotel La Bocona, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Thank you so much for your review

It was a pleasure to us that you enjoy your stay with us

It is also pleasent knowing that you enjoy our Nicaraguan dishes and coffee

I will take into consideration the water dispenser

Hope to host you in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights in February 2014 and loved every minute. The hotel is perfectly located within Granada--just 2 blocks from the central square, but at enough of a distance that it is nice and quiet throughout the day and night. GIANT rooms with A/C available, everything is immaculately clean, and the entire place has an air of class and comfort.

As many other reviewers have commented, the manager Miguel is a fantastic guy. He's really friendly, speaks perfect English, and loves to help you have a good time in Granada. If you stay and don't hang out with him, you're missing out!

The breakfast included in the hotel bill was maybe the best food I had in Nicaragua--multiple options, all delicious, and the best coffee I've ever had, hands down.

The pool is great--open to use 24 hours, private and secluded, gorgeous setting with a hammock poolside, and cheap beer or cocktails available any time from the front desk. If this isn't paradise, I can't imagine what is

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ted S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaBocona, Manager at Hotel La Bocona, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Thank you for your review

It is a pleasure to me to share some of my country and city history with my guests

Our breakfast is 100% Nicaraguan and so is our coffee

We at Hotel La Bocona wants to host you again soon!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The room was beautiful...huge! Comfortable seating outside every room to that you can enjoy beautiful breakfasts. Wonderful pool and courtyard. Spa services were great and SOOOO reasonable. Every member of the staff was super. Loved every minute

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HML22301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaBocona, Director of Sales at Hotel La Bocona, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you for your review

This is our main concern that you live with perfect satisfaction

Hope we can host you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We spent 2 nights at La Bocona with our 2 children, ages 3 and 5. Our flight got in late at night, and we were picked up by Miguel at the airport which was greatly appreciated after a long day of travelling with small children. Our daughters loved the hotel and the gorgeous beds with their mosquito netting, and the staff were all very sweet with them. We had 2 king beds, and our room was absolutely massive! It faced on to the street, which had some noise, but was truly no bother at all. Miguel was happy to offer up suggestions of things to do, and arranged a boat cruise for us and suggested a great restaurant that was totally family friendly. We felt very safe, and the bathrooms across the hall was no bother at all. I had a facial at the spa which was lovely, and the pool was delightful. I would absolutely return, and would recommend for travellers of all types.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank travellingbird888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaBocona, General Manager at Hotel La Bocona, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thank you for your review

It was a pleasure to host your family

We are waiting to have you back again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The bed is very good,and the room huge, but you do not have your own bathroom.You have your own bathroom outside your room........
You do not have airconditioning and no window in your room..
There is no bar in the hotel and the breakfast is regular.
That alltogether makes it very unconfortable and for that price we will never come back.

Room Tip: Choose an other hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaBocona, Director of Sales at Hotel La Bocona, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thank you for your review

It looks like you have never been in a colonial mansion before

When a room faces the street there is room for window....safety reasons and also building regulations you dont need no one to peep thru your room.

The breakfast is nor regular....is Nicaraguan style!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

A converted colonial villa with six spacious rooms, antique furnishings, and a perfectly central location in Granada. After a long day of sightseeing and navigating through the chaos in the city, it's great to be able to walk a few blocks back to the hotel and recharge.

Miguel, the manager, is helpful in recommending things to do and routes to take. The breakfasts are also excellent, my favorite being the crepes with papaya, lemon, and honey.

There is a karaoke club nearby and it is on one of the central streets, so it can get a little noisy. In general, with the fan and the A/C on we did not have any trouble falling asleep.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salvarsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaBocona, Director of Sales at Hotel La Bocona, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Thank you for your review

It was a pleasure helping you thru your stay with us

Iam also glad that you enjoy our breakfast

Hope to host you again!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

It is very noisy. The hotel is located right in the middle of the city. There are no traffic lights in Granada, so the locals honk their horns at intersections to alert others. Even with the fan and AC on, we could not get much sleep.

In addition, the bathrooms are separate, which is clearly stated, but you need to walk across a mini outdoor courtyard to access. I was not super comfortable roaming around there in my PJ's.

Lastly, the rooms are very nice, but the beds are quite firm. That may be okay for some, but not so much for us.

The man at the front desk, Miguel is super nice though. The only one there who speaks English. I just wanted to mention that as he was very helpful getting us settled, identifying good places for us to eat, and also agreed to refund our money for the nights we did not remain there.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marniprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaBocona, Director of Sales at Hotel La Bocona, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Thank you for your review

I am so sorry that you did not spend all of your nights with us

Also sorry for the noise

Thank you for mentioning my name i am here ti make our guest really happy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Granada
Hotel Granada
#22 of 45 in Granada
326 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Real La Merced
Hotel Real La Merced
#11 of 45 in Granada
137 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#9 of 45 in Granada
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hotel El Maltese
Hotel El Maltese
#26 of 45 in Granada
45 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alhambra
Hotel Alhambra
#29 of 45 in Granada
183 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#2 of 45 in Granada
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Bocona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Bocona

Address: Calle La Libertad | 2 Blocks West of Central Park, Granada, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Price Range: £67 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Bocona 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Bocona is a six guestroom restored colonial mansion with a large swimming pool and an on-site professional spa to be enjoyed by travelers from all corners of the world who come to Granada looking for an authentic portal to exciting times in Latin American history. An architectural showpiece, the Hotel boasts all colonial period features including cathedral ceilings throughout, solid wood ornate doors, pillars, chandeliers, embellished wood sun-catchers above the doors and, of course, Spanish courtyards of tailored gardens inside. Included in our rates is a full breakfast, afternoon snack, local gym membership, wifi and private parking. We promote responsible tourism by donating half of all revenue to Carita Feliz, a local charitable organization that offers personal, professional, health programs to young people and serves more than one hundred thousand meals annually to children and other community members of little means. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel La Bocona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing