We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing and wonderful service”
Review of Hotel La Bocona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel La Bocona
Ranked #31 of 44 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Paris
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing and wonderful service”
Reviewed 28 October 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights in October. We arrived very early in the morning after an overnight in Atlanta. We were immediately allowed to check into our gorgeous room. The room were spotless and spacious. The bathrooms are very spacious and with hot water. Often, hotels do not provide all promised amenities, but at Hotel la Bocona everything they promised was there. The service and the staff were impeccably attentive and friendly. The breakfast is very uncommon because they have home made bread. Together with all the others things in the morning this is properly the best breakfast I ever have tasted. The pool and the massage were wonderful, just like the rest of the hotel. The owners were very helpful to arrange transport around Nicaragua.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    28
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
26
98
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2009

We started our holiday in Nicaragua with 7 days in this wonderful hotel. The colonial room was very spacious, just like in Spain, and with the most beautiful view to the garden.

The breakfast is fantastic, with homebaked bread, and we were dreaming about it for the rest of our trip. We ate in the second garden, in the pool area. The pool is very nice and you can sun bath in it, because it has a sun deck.

The atmosphere is the hotel is very different to other hotels in that part of the world. They have a very high level of service and they speak several language in the hotel.

Half of the hotels turnover goes to a local childcenter in town. If you sleep 1 night in the hotel, you feed 250 children one day. As the center feed 500 children every day, we fed 1750 children the period we stayed at Hotel la Bocona. One might say, you can sleep with a good conscience. The price of the rooms are very fair. We can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dieter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2009

This is a wonderful hotel in a great location. The hosts does everything possible to ensure their guests get the best. The rooms are large, perfectly clean and immaculately decorated, including fresh flowers. The bathrooms are fantastic and so clean. In the hotel there are 3 gardens. The first garden/patio is for reading or drinking coffee/tea/cola. The second garden is where the most wonderful pool is. The third garden is the wellness area with different treatments. The hotel is located in the middle of Granada. We spent 7 days here, using the hotel as a base from which to explore Nicaragua. It was ideal. By the way, another thing. When you sleep in the hotel, you support a childcenter in town to give 3.050 children food and education. You are also very welcome to drop by and see the center 7 days a week. That is what I call to sleep with a good consience.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2009

This is a pretty new place in Granada, Nicaragua. But don´t miss it. It is a pearl among hotels and mansions in Granada. The service is excellent, the staff is very friendly and you feel at home. Half of the turnrover goes to af childcenter in town, called Carita Feliz. You can actually visit the childcenter every day and see what the money goes to. It is impressing and you will love it.
The hotel is very clean, the bathrooms are done twice a day, the sheets are changed every day and the doors to the kitchen are allways open, so you can see how clean it is and what is happening. The pool area is wonderful and including in the price there´s one hour of treatments every day. The food is fantastic and very healty.
Please book in advance, there is many guests. I will absolutely recomend it.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolla r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2009

I only meant to be in this fantastic hotel for 3 days but ended up for a whole week. It is a new hotel in a old colonial building from 1853. They have done a beautiful reconstruction with a lot of respect for the old house. It is now a small hotel with 7 rooms, a mansion just like in France or Holland. The rooms are very big, mine was about 60 m2. They have properly the best service, the most competent host/manager and staff in Centralamerica. It is a little bit pricy but you get what you pay for. Full value for your money. A big and very tasteful homemade breakfast, an fantastic lunch and of course the 4 oclock tea or coffee with homemade cake. By the way did I mention the pool area and the treatments of massage?

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Real La Merced
Hotel Real La Merced
#11 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#6 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa del Consulado
Hotel Casa del Consulado
#22 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Estrada
Hotel Estrada
#21 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Mar Dulce
Hotel La Mar Dulce
#32 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Granada
Hotel Granada
#23 of 44 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Bocona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Bocona

Property: Hotel La Bocona
Address: Calle La Libertad | 2 Blocks West of Central Park, Granada, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 44 Hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Bocona 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Bocona is a six guestroom restored colonial mansion with a large swimming pool and an on-site professional spa to be enjoyed by travelers from all corners of the world who come to Granada looking for an authentic portal to exciting times in Latin American history. An architectural showpiece, the Hotel boasts all colonial period features including cathedral ceilings throughout, solid wood ornate doors, pillars, chandeliers, embellished wood sun-catchers above the doors and, of course, Spanish courtyards of tailored gardens inside. Included in our rates is a full breakfast, afternoon snack, local gym membership, wifi and private parking. We promote responsible tourism by donating half of all revenue to Carita Feliz, a local charitable organization that offers personal, professional, health programs to young people and serves more than one hundred thousand meals annually to children and other community members of little means. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel La Bocona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing