We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”
Review of Hotel La Bocona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel La Bocona
Ranked #32 of 43 Hotels in Granada
USA, europe
1 review
“Excellent service”
Reviewed 7 February 2010

I and my friend got an excellent and personalized service at the hotel. Both when we were planning for individual trips or wanted to know more about the country. The special feature of the hotel was the beautiful atrium. We could swim in the pool, sit alone or you could talk with the hosts of the hotel, who knows a lot about the country.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katja11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    28
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
26
98
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2009

There are a few, very few, hotels that have a magical ingredient that turn them into someting truly special. Hotel La Bocona is one such place. Arranged around three patios in classic Spanish/Moorish style, one patio has an inviting Moorish-style swimming pool overlooked by a mango tree home to orange breasted birds called lapas, another is a welcoming oasis of plants, a third is a zen-like space for massage and other spa treatments provided by the hotel. The bedrooms are beautifully simple with triple height ceilings, huge four poster beds and antique furtiture. There are home comforts aplenty like freshly baked bread at breakfast, a welcoming tea or coffee after a day exploring the wonders of Granada or a bottle of chilled mineral water left in your room, just when you need it. But any boutique hotel can do this. What sets La Bocona apart is the warmth, friendliness and desire to help that emmanates from Martin, the host of this magical place and that filters down to everyone who works here. It turns what would be a just a beautiful hotel into something truly special. There is a great energy here that makes it one of those places you never forget. A gem - don't miss it.

Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank nicholasgiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2009

My husband and I stayed at La Bocona as part of our one year anniversary trip. We LOVED it. Perfect place to welcome us to Nicaragua. Gorgeous hotel, huge rooms, beautiful outside garden/patio areas. Delicious breakfasts. Martin, the manager, was incredibly helpful. He was welcoming, interesting, and had excellent recommendations for us for meals, things to do and arranged a tour for a full day with a wonderful guide (Bosco!). All in all we loved everything about La Bocona and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 November 2009

Traveling and doing business in Central America/Nicaragua can be challenging and tiring. La Bocona provides just the secure friendly homely atmosphere, comfort and cleanliness you need as a compensation - we ended up staying twice on this trip. The rooms are BIG and extremely stylish and host Martin has a tremendous feel for when to offer a nice chat, cup of tea or food - or leaving you alone if that's what you want. Truly a home away from home - that is if you are used to a luxurious one. Give yourself the pleasure of enjoying the many great paintings of the hotel and don't forget to visit the nearby museum holding a World Class collection of pre-columbian pottery.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JHC63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2009

Beautiful colonial hotel in the middle of Granda. The rooms are gorgeous and the managers delightful. We truly felt at home. From the pool to afternoon tea, everything was fabulous. The only drawbacks were that there was a lot of street noise as our room was right on the street with no windows - only wooden doors - and the bathrooms (though private) are across the courtyard. However, all the positives far outweigh the negatives. We would stay here again, just be aware.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank esung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2009

A beautiful and stylish family run hotel in charming Granada. An unassuming front gives way to stunning courtyards with contemporary art adorning the walls and surrounding high-ceilinged rooms. The stunning four-poster beds left my travelling companion waking up - and i quote - 'feeling like a princess'. The hosts do a wonderful job looking after you and ensure a relaxing and comfortable stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank outandabout82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen Region, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2009

This was my last day before I was off from Managua. I was offered afternoon tea with freshly baked cakes upon my arrival. The room was magnificant; about 40 m2 and not spoiled by an in-room bathroom. Cielings were about 8 m and air circulated nicely; no aircon necessary despite hot and humid weather. My private bathroom was shining clean. I felt like visiting a large classical family home - not a hotel. I went out for dinner; the hosts carefully listened to my wishes and the recommendation was spot on.
Breakfast was unforgettable and I just sat the whole morning and enjoyed the garden before Martin took me to the airport. All that for 100 USD was one of the best hotel deals I have ever made.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frequentflyerDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#5 of 43 in Granada
696 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dario
Hotel Dario
#14 of 43 in Granada
368 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 43 in Granada
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa del Consulado
Hotel Casa del Consulado
#20 of 43 in Granada
195 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 43 in Granada
1,025 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Club
Hotel El Club
#30 of 43 in Granada
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Bocona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Bocona

Property: Hotel La Bocona
Address: Calle La Libertad | 2 Blocks West of Central Park, Granada, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 43 Hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Bocona 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Bocona is a six guestroom restored colonial mansion with a large swimming pool and an on-site professional spa to be enjoyed by travelers from all corners of the world who come to Granada looking for an authentic portal to exciting times in Latin American history. An architectural showpiece, the Hotel boasts all colonial period features including cathedral ceilings throughout, solid wood ornate doors, pillars, chandeliers, embellished wood sun-catchers above the doors and, of course, Spanish courtyards of tailored gardens inside. Included in our rates is a full breakfast, afternoon snack, local gym membership, wifi and private parking. We promote responsible tourism by donating half of all revenue to Carita Feliz, a local charitable organization that offers personal, professional, health programs to young people and serves more than one hundred thousand meals annually to children and other community members of little means. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel La Bocona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing