We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the Best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Miss Margrit's Guest House
Ranked #3 of 77 Granada B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Miss Margrit's is an oasis of comfort within an easy walk of the centre of the beautiful colonial city of Granada. There are only three guest rooms and the atmosphere is more like a house shared by old friends. Chris makes you feel right at home, and is an excellent resource for getting to know the city. The casa is designed in the classic colonial style and fooled me as I thought it was a restored original. However it is only a few years old. Our air conditioned room was spacious and furnished with with a comfortable king sized bed. There was a huge walk in closet and the bathroom was modern and very clean. The room opened onto the balconies that surround the two courtyards where the fountain and pool were located. The pool was very refreshing after a dusty day of walking the town. The rate includes an excellent full breakfast with fresh fruit, juice and first class Nica coffee. Chris even let us park our rental vehicle inside the compound. I would not stay anywhere else if I returned to Granada.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wudzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (442)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

297 - 303 of 442 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2012

Everything in the reviews was spot on! A true gem in a lovely, historic city. Chris is a kind, enthusiastic host. Interested in hanging out (while he makes delicious breakfasts) - to get to know you; and chock a block full of information and things to do. Chris' British charm coupled with his four-legged, canine companion (Lola) and her local, tail-wagging spirit makes for a most excellent travel experience. An easy walk to the main square and yet far enough to escape the foray of larger, touring crowds. We will totally build our next trip around his room vacancies.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tazycanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

My husband and I had the pleasure of spending 5 days at Miss Margrit's and we couldn't have been more comfortable. Chris was extremely welcoming. He even found us an honest mechanic to fix our car! We really felt right at home. I was able to cook delicious meals whenever we wanted in the beautiful outdoor kitchen. It was hard to tear myself away once the car was ready. I cannot recommend it enough. And we'll be back soon!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annikab229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We came back to this wonderful B&B two years after the first time we discovered it and it is every bit as nice as we remembered. There is a new host now, Chris, brother to the wife of the couple who were hosts when we first visited, and he was just as sweet and accommodating as his sister and her husband had been. This grand old home is really large and open with great balconies, pool and fountain and big comfy rooms. There is air conditioning and beautiful showers. Breakfast is whatever you want, whenever you want it. Definitely recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luckyinallthings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

The reviews are true, this is a great place. Most people start their trip to Nicaragua here, but we saved Granada for the end. We started in Leon, then San Juan Del Sur, then Ometepe and finally Granada. We liked Leon a lot, but it would have been anticlimactic after seeing Granada. We stayed 4 nights and that is really the minimum needed to see this place. The biggest mistake that the travelers that we saw made was that they traveled all the time and couldn't even unpack, let alone see stuff off the beaten path. If we had been there another day we would have gone to the ballgame there, that looked like fun. Be sure to pick up the great magazine on Granada in the lobby. Not only does it have a great map for walking around, but lists all the great places to eat and do stuff. We walked to an antique shop that was listed in there and picked up some cool stuff. We also liked the tourist market in Masaya. It was very friendly without being pushy. Most of the stuff was ordinary but 3 or 4 stalls had some really special stuff, we thought. If you hit that up on the last day of your trip you don't have to carry the stuff all around Nicaragua. There is a big local market near the tourist one that we would have liked to check out with more time. We thought that the Lago de Apoyo was interesting but a bit overrated. The water is very high right now so there is no beach. The heavy mineral water is hard to swim in because you sink like a stone compared to the ocean. There is a cool bell tower at one of the churches in Granada that charges a dollar to go up, but is very well worth it, especially for taking sunset photos. There were some great street performers in the main square that were a lot of fun and there is a pedestrian mall full of good places to eat and drink. We thought that the city was very safe. Sure, the occasional hooker or drug dealer ask if you are interested if you walk around at night, but we felt comfortable and never had any problems. You learn a lot more by walking than by taking cabs.Take a flashlight in case the electric goes out. Chris is a great host and went above and beyond the call of duty to make our stay happy and healthy. Stay long enough to get to know him and the other guests, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank darwin31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Warm welcome from Chris, lovely room in a colonial style house. Wonderful, sociable breakfast with other guests, always interesting. Location is great, a few minutes walk to the centre. Made our trip to Granada outstanding.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grumpy554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

This small B&B has only 3 rooms so is very laid back. There are huge outdoor areas with gardens, kitchen area, pool, eating area, and sitting areas scattered about the property. The rooms are airconditioned, large and have nice bathrooms with hot water. Rooms and grounds are clean and uncluttered. Location is about 7 to 10 minute walk to the central park area.

Breakfasts are a combination of food set out to pick from plus prepared eggs or omelets.

We very much enjoyed our stay here and felt comfortable from the time we arrived. Chris makes you feel at home right away and is willing to help you with your travels, what is happening around town and making sure that you are well taken care of.

They have an arrangement with the gym in town so you can use that as part of your stay as well.

Great place!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripAffine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.6 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#3 of 45 in Granada
747 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#1 of 45 in Granada
693 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mansion de Chocolate
Mansion de Chocolate
#20 of 45 in Granada
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Condo Hotel Xalteva
Condo Hotel Xalteva
#13 of 45 in Granada
266 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
0.4 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#2 of 45 in Granada
1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miss Margrit's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miss Margrit's Guest House

Address: Calle Gutierrez | Next to Rest. La Frontera, Granada 100074, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range: £49 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Miss Margrit's Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Miss Margrit's is a stunning Colonial Guest House boasting two vibrant tropical courtyard gardens and a revitalizing swimming pool. With only three double rooms our guests can enjoy the luxury of a boutique hotel within the privacy of a private home. The rooms are spacious, each with air-conditioning, walk-in wardrobe and en-suite bathroom. Delicious Breakfasts with fresh juice and artisan bread is included. Includes: Wi-Fi, indoor parking, laundry service, computer facilities, library and Cable TV lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Miss Margrit's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miss Margrit`s Guest House Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing