We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Defining what a good place to stay should be”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Miss Margrit's Guest House
Ranked #3 of 77 Granada B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2010

We have stayed in many different, and excellent, guest homes in Europe, North America, and South America. Miss Margrit's sets the standard. It is immaculately clean, quiet, and wonderfully comfortable. The hosts go out of their way to assure a totally delightful experience. The house is situated in a residential neighbourhood within walking distance of virtually all of the many attractions and good restaurants that Granada has to offer. The private pool in the second patio provides a welcome respite from the city and heat...an oasis of tranquility. We recommend a stay at Miss Margrit's without reservation.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ERP444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (443)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

377 - 383 of 443 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2010

Needing a place to stay in Granada for a night before our flight out, we followed Trip Advisor's travelller's recommendations and stayed at Miss Margrit's and we are so glad we did. What a lovely guesthouse and a great location, with really friendly helpful hosts, Owen and Becky. Our room was huge, clean and extremely comfortable. Breakfast in the morning was really delicious and Owen and Becky made us feel very welcome and at home. Their helpful hints on what to do for our day and where to go were spot on. Couldnt recommend this place enough!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LT1411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2010

Everything everyone else says about Miss Margrit's is spot on. We stayed for three nights and it was like a home from home... but better! Owen and Becky are great hosts, and can't do enough for you. The room was lovely, courtyards beautiful, pool refreshing, and Owen's omelettes are to die for... and do try his coconut bread toast! If we return to Granada we will most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BellyDancingRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2010

We stayed in Granada for 5 nights. We had a wonderfull time. Owen and his wife were always ready for their guests. We can recommend this place to everybody who is planning to go to Granada. This is not just a B&B but one of the better ones or even the best you`ll find out there. The hospitality was amazing, everytime we came back from our trip they offered us some free drinks. The breakfeast was delicious everyday again. The garlic bread, coconut bread or fresh fruitsalad, ...

The city Granada was also a nice surprise for us. It is a beautifull and colorfull city with a ot activities like the Mombacho vulcano, the isletas, pueblos blancas, Masaya market/volcano and a lot of other places.

Jeroen & Luc

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joen12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2010

Miss Margrit's is truly the most friendly hotel I have ever stayed at. Becky, Owen and their two staff are very welcoming and look after you from the moment you arrive. They were very keen to provide (excellent) recommendations for places to eat and to visit and can make any arrangements that you might want - from taxis to take away pizza!

The hotel iteself is a beautiful colonial house with two spacious, attractive and light rooms (with loads of storage space). There is a pool which fellow guests enjoyed but which we did not use and internet access is available via a laptop in the courtyard. A side note should be made that the hotel has flush toilets which is unusual in Granada's old town.

The hotel is located next door to a bar / shop where you can stock up on everyday items but which causes no disturbance at all. It is however a ten minute walk into the centre of town which may put some visitors off - personally I enjoyed this short stroll every day.

All in all it was a real delight to stay at Miss Margrit's and I couldn't have asked or hoped for anything more from my stay. I wouldnt even consider staying anywhere else if I return to Granada.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve_Gila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2010

We just came home from spending 6 nights with Becky and Owen in their little oasis. Without repeating all the superlatives previous guests have expressed, the hosts did everything perfectly and we felt a sense of serenity every time we entered the courtyard from a day of hectic sightseeing. The gorgeous colonial house was gut renovated and decorated by Becky's mom who has impeccable taste. We felt really fortunate to have been able to experience this place for a week. Afternoons were spent in the shade of their 2nd floor lounge with a view of Mombacho and breeze from the lake. Owen and Becky gave us great recommendations on where to eat - El Garaje was hands down our favorite place and what to do - spending an entire day at San Simeon at Lago de Apoyo was magical. Owen even took us to the Saturday market and showed us where he did his weekly grocery shopping. We also recommend booking a driver for a day through Tierra Tour to see Masaya Volcano (including the lava tunnel with bats), Masaya market and two Pueblo Blanco.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theway02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2010

There is not much one can add to the glowing reviews except to agree 100 percent. We stayed 6 nights. It is a very beautiful house built in a traditional manner and also features all the modern conveniences you might want. We loved our hosts. We loved relaxing by the pool. Miss Margrit's only drawback is that it is so nice you might just spend your entire time in Granada without leaving the premises. Don't do that because Granada has a lot to offer. We would love to return to Granada and would definitely stay at Miss Margrit's again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Ferrinis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.6 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#3 of 45 in Granada
749 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#1 of 45 in Granada
695 reviews
0.3 mi away
Condo Hotel Xalteva
Condo Hotel Xalteva
#12 of 45 in Granada
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mansion de Chocolate
Mansion de Chocolate
#20 of 45 in Granada
211 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
0.4 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#2 of 45 in Granada
1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miss Margrit's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miss Margrit's Guest House

Address: Calle Gutierrez | Next to Rest. La Frontera, Granada 100074, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range: £49 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Miss Margrit's Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Miss Margrit's is a stunning Colonial Guest House boasting two vibrant tropical courtyard gardens and a revitalizing swimming pool. With only three double rooms our guests can enjoy the luxury of a boutique hotel within the privacy of a private home. The rooms are spacious, each with air-conditioning, walk-in wardrobe and en-suite bathroom. Delicious Breakfasts with fresh juice and artisan bread is included. Includes: Wi-Fi, indoor parking, laundry service, computer facilities, library and Cable TV lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Miss Margrit's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miss Margrit`s Guest House Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing