We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostel La Siesta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel La Siesta
Certificate of Excellence
San Ramon, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Home away from home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

I come to Nicaragua often and like to just relax for a few days until returning home to Costa Rica. I tried La Siesta for the first time this trip and am happy to say that I have found my new "home away from home".
It is spotlessly clean both in the room and in the common area, it is quiet and has a very chill vibe. The room has a shelf for your things, a fan, a towel, a mirror and even a place for your tooth brush! This might not sound like anything special, but when traveling on a budget this is AMAZING given the price of the rooms.
Above all else, the owners and other staff are SUPER friendly and helpful. Right from my first email they have been going above and beyond to accommodate me.
I definitely recommend La Siesta for travelers looking for a friendly, quiet place to call home while in Granada.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    40
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
58
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

The place is very calm and comfortable.
A bit away from the center (but less than 5-10mn walk anyhow), which is quite a good thing at the end: less touristy, with a local feeling.
Rooms are a bit dark and could be better on decoration though, but it does not really matter as it is not the kind of place where you stay all day long.

The owners Boris and his wife are really nice. They will give good advice on Granada and Nicaragua as a whole, do not hesitate to ask!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sinaloa237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

We had a bit of a hard time finding a good place to stay in Granada until we stumbled across La Siesta. This hospedaje is not overly publicized or easy to find, and the reward is well worth it! A bit out of the town center, La Siesta is for travelers who want a personal, not (too) touristy perspective of Granada. The owners, Boris and Marcela, are very friendly and personable and give lots of advice on where to go around the city (ask them where to go for lunch), what to do, and how to get around. The rooms are very clean and comfortable, and the courtyard is a perfect setting to relax, meet other travelers (though it is never overly crowded), and drink your morning coffee. While breakfast is not included, it is only $3/person, delicious, and substantial. It is a great value too - about $10-$15/person, depending on what room you get - which, for a clean, comfortable, personable stay in Granada is hard to beat! While a bit hard to find information, La Siesta's philosophy of not being an overrun guesthouse in a tourist trap pays off. We would definitely recommend La Siesta to anyone who values this mentality in their travels, and would definitely stay here again if we return!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJimmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2011

I stayed two nights at La Siesta just to check out the city of Granada. The place has about 6 private rooms, a nice courtyard to relax and is clean and quiet. Beds are what you would expect in Nicaragua, Rooms don't have a/c but do have fans, breakfast and drinking water are available for reasonable price. The place was great especially at $14 a night. Boris was very helpful with directions suggestions and even helped me get a cab to the airport at 4 in the morning when my shuttle fell through. If I'm in Granada again I will definitely stay here!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mateowr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranbrook, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2011

clean friendly family operation, breakfast and english speaker, this hostel is hard to duplicate in granada,i would go back if i were going back.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tterbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky River, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2011

Boris and Marcela are the wonderful hosts of this clean, quiet "home away from home". Our triple room was spacious and comfortable. The location is just a few blocks from the center of town, but far enough away to make it a peaceful location! There are only 6 rooms and this offers a great opportunity to meet the other guests and share a drink in the courtyard!
We were supposed to stay for three nights, but had to cut out one night due to issues with our flight so we didn't take advantage of the delicious breakfast options (at very reasonable prices)but, did enjoy coffee in the courtyard in the mornings!
Boris and Marcela are willing to answer any questions you may have and help arrange tours tours and taxis! If you're lucky, their daughter, Triana, may draw you a lovely picture to take home with you!
I would recommend La Siesta to anyone wanting to escape from the ridiculous prices of the city center and to anyone who wants to feel like they are home..away from home! A beautiful and very relaxing place to stay!!

Room Tip: Boris responds to all e mails in a timely manner!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenGregEthan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2011

In a city that can feel like one big tourist trap, La Siesta is such a wonderful oasis that you just don't want to leave. We stayed there for 3 nights on our way down through Central America, and compared to the couple of other places we stayed in in Granada (La Siesta did unfortunately not have room for us for our entire stay - book ahead!), this was so much lovelier and chilled. The fantastic owners Boris and Marcela went out of their way to make our stay even better several times. One more bonus is the breakfast, really tasty and plentyful at an extremely reasonable price. The fact that it is some blocks from the central park was just a bonus to us, that end of town has a much more authentic Nica feel to it.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imw29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Terrasol
Hotel Terrasol
#13 of 43 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Casa Barcelona
Hotel Casa Barcelona
#30 of 43 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#4 of 43 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#6 of 43 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Almirante
Hotel El Almirante
#14 of 43 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Cultural Casa Del Poeta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel La Siesta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel La Siesta

Property: Hostel La Siesta
Address: El Almendro | De los bomberos, 1 cuadra al norte + 20 varas al lago, Granada 50750, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 59 Speciality Lodging in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our friendly and familiar hostal. Lots of touristic informations and peace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hostel La Siesta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing