We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel”
Review of Hotel El Almirante

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel El Almirante
Ranked #18 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2011

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in early March 2011. I had a very pleasant and comfortable stay. The hotel was very clean, modern and pretty with hot water, constant electricity, airconditioning, cable TV and wireless internet. The food was excellent. The hotel is located in a very quiet and safe area only a few blocks from the town center. I was able to sleep well at night and didn't hear any nosie.

The staff is very helpful, professional and accomodating. The owner is also nice and helpful. Granada is a pretty and interesting town to visit with lots of interesting places to see on day trips. "Las isletas" (small islands at the lake) was also worth a visit.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vacaciones71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2011

We reserved online based on other TA reviews and are glad we did!

Stayed here for 3 nights last week and would definitely stay here again! We were quite pleased about everything: great breakfast, few minutes stroll from park, restaurants, ATM etc., clean room and pool, good service.

There is free internet on the computer located in the large living room-lounge and Wifi access.The staff were friendly, helpful and made us feel at home. We are big coffee drinkers and they served us free coffee by the pool or in the bar.

The ambiance is wonderful, we enjoyed the colonial building with it's courtyard. It was great to come home to after the hustle and bustle of the park and historic area.

All in all, we found great value for the price.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Moqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2011

My husband and I stayed for a week at this cozy, clean and very sweet hotel in early Feb 2011. The rooms were clean and spacious, bed was great, the ambiance is lovely and the staff were unfailingly wonderful to us. We wanted to leave our things there mid week for one night while we did a one day road trip. Not only did they let us leave everything in our room but they didn't charge us for that night. There is a small bar in the hotel as well as a small restaurant which served a very good breakfast included in the rate. The hotel is in a very good location - we were within walking distance of many shop and restaurants and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it for anyone going to Granada.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StephaniePh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2011

El Almirante is only one year old, and in all a very nice hotel that can be recommended. It is located near the center of Granada, and it has everything you need. I appreciate the well maintained, clean and very quit rooms. The rates are a little high when you travel alone, but you get full value for your money.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skipper1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2011

I travel to Granada several times a year and have stayed in many lovely places in that beautiful town. This is however a completely renovated hotel and everything is new. At this point now I know all the staff and feel at home here. The new pool and restaurant help as well. It has wifi 24/7 and they will make you a coffee anytime you wish.I hope your stay is half as pleasant as mine,,,Buen Viage

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seamus68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2011

We found this hotel by accident and fell in love with it. Everything is brand new, all the employees are super friendly. It is in a great location, walking distance to everywhere but on a quiet street and they have secure parking, very important if you have a rental car. The hotel has air conditioning, hot water, flat screen TV's, in room safes, a pool, a bar and a restaurant, everything you could need. I will stay here again on my next trip to Nicaragua.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iluv2travel4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2011

My wife and I went to Granada for a 4 day trip and we stayed at the El Almirante at the suggestion of a friend. In a few words we were impressed with the quality of the hotel, the attentiveness of the hotel staff, and the affordability of our room, which included breakfast each morning off the menu, dinner on our last evening and more hot water than you will ever use.

The hotel was originally a private home of colonial Spanish tradition and is a little over 180 years old. When you see the beauty of the hardwoods used as part of the structure, its doors, posts and beams, it is easy to forget that these components are original to the property. This is an absolutely beautiful boutique hotel of 20 rooms. The food and menu is excellent as well from the bocas to dinner everything was always perfect and served properly by a well trained staff.

This hotel lacks for nothing as the result of the philosophy of its owners and the training and dedication of its staff. Add to that its Green approach, including solar hot water, results in an incredibly energy efficient hotel.

The hotel is located about a block and a half from the center of town so you have the best of both worlds in convenient walking access to everything without the noise. The secret sauce however is the staff and their dedication to customer service and to their guests’ experience. Less than a year old, the El Almirante is the hidden gem of Granada. If they continue on their approach, which we have every reason to believe will happen; this hotel will be the place to stay when visiting Granada Nicaragua. We will be back and we will tell all our friends.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DougHenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#3 of 45 in Granada
731 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa del Consulado
Hotel Casa del Consulado
#19 of 45 in Granada
235 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Casa Barcelona
Hotel Casa Barcelona
#31 of 45 in Granada
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Il Padrino Hotel
Il Padrino Hotel
#15 of 45 in Granada
189 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Xalteva
Hotel Xalteva
#13 of 45 in Granada
263 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#1 of 45 in Granada
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Almirante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Almirante

Address: Calle Corrales 111 | 1/2 cuadra de la Ferreteria Datisa al lago, Granada 43143, Nicaragua (Formerly BEST WESTERN El Almirante)
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Price Range: £45 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel El Almirante 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the beautiful colonial resort town of Granada, best known as the Great Sultana. The Hotel was refurbished keeping it`s original colonial architecture, creating a picturesque and warm atmosphere for our guest. Hotel El Almirante has twenty rooms in suite. Each room equipped with air conditioning, hot water, mini bar, and LCD cable tv , wifi available throughout the Hotel and rooms. Guest can relax in the swimming pool troughout the day or in our tv lounge with courtesy PC. Hotel El Almirante was built with the enviroment in mind. We have utilized the lastest tecnology in solar power for our hot water system. the installation of a card system for the rooms ensure unnecessary use of energy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel El Almirante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing