We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”
Review of Hotel El Almirante

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel El Almirante
Ranked #19 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We went during off season and I think were the only ones staying there. Everyone was very friendly and the service was great!! Would def stay there again!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gbobay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela S, Receptionist at Hotel El Almirante, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2012

Dear Mrs. Sharon.

Thank you for completing the survey regarding about your stay at our property.

Your opinion is very important to us and we value your review. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at .

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Angela Sirias
Receptionist
BEST WESTERN El Almirante

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2012 via mobile

Ok, My friend knew the owner so I got my room at 1/2 price but I would stay full price anytime. The front half of the hotel is historic. I remember seeing pictures of the bad shape this place was in before they bought the property and OMG did they do a beautiful job. Everything was perfect. The pool was inviting, rooms spacious, clean, & quiet. I have zero complaints regardless of my hook-up.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimberlina01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela S, Receptionist at Hotel El Almirante, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2012

Thank you for completing the survey regarding about your stay at our property.

Your opinion is very important to us and we value your review. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at .

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Angela Sirias
Receptionist
BEST WESTERN El Almirante

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

This is a really great place to stay in Granada.The hotel is very clean, food is very good and the owner(Bendt) has the best staff. Our friend forgot some money in her room when we were checking out and the staff returned it to the front desk. She got her money back before we left the hotel. A nice pool to cool off, in the heat of the day.We will definitely stay here when we visit in 2013. Me gusto Nicaragua muy mucho

Room Tip: Try to get a room with exterior window for natural air if you don't like air conditioners
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SMOKESIGNAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela S, Receptionist at Hotel El Almirante, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2012

Thank you for completing the survey regarding about your stay at our property.

Your opinion is very important to us and we value your review. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at .

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Angela Sirias
Receptionist
BEST WESTERN El Almirante

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We arrived in Granada in the evening. The staff were very welcoming and helpful at first. We were woken up at 5.30am by the huge diesel powered generator underneath our room (room 19). The room was unusable as the diesel fumes entered through our closed windows and we had no choice but to vacate it at 6am. We informed the staff of this at least 4 times and although they listened to our concerns there was no apology made or offer of another room. We wandered the streets at 6am and most other hotels had generators installed well away from the rooms. We were supposed to stay there 3 nights but checked out that morning. It was an unfortunate incident and no actual fault of the staff as power cuts happen all the time in Nica. It would have been helpful to have been offered another room if there was one available.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 18 and 19 as they are above the huge diesel generator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Munbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela S, Receptionist at Hotel El Almirante, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2012

Thank you for completing the survey regarding about your stay at our property.

Your opinion is very important to us and we value your review. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at .

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Angela Sirias
Receptionist
BEST WESTERN El Almirante

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Very good, quiet location 1.5 blocks from the main square in Old Town, close to restaurants and tourist sites. Clean bathrooms, comfy beds, hot water, A/C, refreshing pool, good food. My husband and I stayed here 3 nights in mid-Feb. Bendt, the owner, has lots of good info re the surrounding area. Very friendly and helpful staff. Recommend hiring their driver Victor for any transportation needs. Definitely would stay here again. Lovely city.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aileen2266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

the title says it all. I would recommend it and stay there again. No charming but nice and very functional.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Texybert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela S, Receptionist at Hotel El Almirante, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2012

Thank you for completing the survey regarding about your stay at our property.

Your opinion is very important to us and we value your review. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at .

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Angela Sirias
Receptionist
BEST WESTERN El Almirante

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights in January2012 It was very noisy due the all the tile but I would recommend this as a very relaxing and comfortable hotel to stay at. The pool was so refreshing after traveling all day from Playas del Coco Costa Rica on the bus. The breakfast choices were wonderful and servings large. The staff were very friendly and helpful If ever we return we would stay here again

Room Tip: the upstairs rooms are quieter
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank Sharron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#5 of 45 in Granada
708 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#2 of 45 in Granada
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#1 of 45 in Granada
671 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Real La Merced
Hotel Real La Merced
#11 of 45 in Granada
132 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Xalteva
Hotel Xalteva
#12 of 45 in Granada
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Almirante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Almirante

Address: Calle Corrales 111 | 1/2 cuadra de la Ferreteria Datisa al lago, Granada 43143, Nicaragua (Formerly BEST WESTERN El Almirante)
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Price Range: £33 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel El Almirante 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the beautiful colonial resort town of Granada, best known as the Great Sultana. The Hotel was refurbished keeping it`s original colonial architecture, creating a picturesque and warm atmosphere for our guest. Hotel El Almirante has twenty rooms in suite. Each room equipped with air conditioning, hot water, mini bar, and LCD cable tv , wifi available throughout the Hotel and rooms. Guest can relax in the swimming pool troughout the day or in our tv lounge with courtesy PC. Hotel El Almirante was built with the enviroment in mind. We have utilized the lastest tecnology in solar power for our hot water system. the installation of a card system for the rooms ensure unnecessary use of energy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel El Almirante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing