We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, Convenient, Economical”
Review of Hotel El Almirante

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel El Almirante
Ranked #13 of 44 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Piedmont North Carolina
Level Contributor
162 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Quiet, Convenient, Economical”
Reviewed 30 December 2010

This lovely hotel has opened recently following an extensive renovation of what was once an elegant private home. Do check out the photos on their webpage. It has all that a traveler to Granada can expect. The rooms are spacious and air-conditioned, the beds are comfortable, the bathrooms are large and clean, there is plenty of hot water, etc. Breakfast includes typical Nicaraguan cuisine as well as "bacon and eggs" for the gringos. The staff are remarkable in their friendliness and hospitality. I have stayed in a couple other hotels in Granada and this will be my first choice when I return.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phil2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    54
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
26
78
28
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2010

Like many lodgings in this Colonial Gem of a city, the El Almirante is built around two large court yards in what was formerly a spacious home. Upon entering the spacious bar with a big screen TV room to the right, the visitor passes into the first courtyard which contains the welcome desk and principal dining area with tables scattered around the open lush garden open to the sky. Diagonally across is the open grill adjacent to the kitchen open to the courtyard as well.
The second courtyard is totally open to the sky and features a decent sized pool surrounded by a wide deck. It is in this area that the generous guest rooms are located on two levels. Each air conditioned guest room features orthopedic beds, a chair and desk, flat screen television, personal safe and in-room wi-fi access, the first of any hotel I've stayed in in Granada . Granite tiled bathroom counters are well stocked and a glass front shower make up the bathroom.
All of the staff is incredibly friendly and most are bilingual. Unique to Granada's botique hotels is the Almirante's having a generator to provide electricity during blackouts and a large cistern for the city's common water problems. The owners have also taken great pains to ensure that El Almirante is as green as conditions allow.
Of special note is the quality of the food. While focusing on excellent grilled meats, the restaurant offers a full array of chicken and fish as well and everything is very well proportioned. Breakfasts are a delight and I may have finally found the perfect fried egg.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zeuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2010

We found the El Almirante to be a very nice hotel, but without a lot of local color. If you are seeking a quiet and classy place to stay, run in an environmentally friendly manner by a lovely staff, this is an excellent choice. However, at $86 for our small triple room, it was our most expensive night in Nicaragua except the too-expensive Best Western at the airport. The more culturally integrated, but much more street-noisy, Casa San Martin in the heart of Granada gave us a big lovely triple room for $45 a night.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay at Hotel El Almirante again if I were seeking a quiet modern retreat after enjoying the bustle of the Granada street life, provided I wasn't overly watching my cordobas.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peregonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2010

Our group of four went to Granada for an overnight trip and stayed at the Hotel El Almirante. This 20 room hotel had recently opened. The colonial architecture and decor reflects Granada's history and style.

The rooms were clean and comfortable. Our room had a king-size bed, AC, hot water, TV, free wireless internet, a secured safe/lock box, and mini fridge. (We were told that bathroom fixtures and hardware were imported from Germany!) The hotel also offered a swimming pool, restaurant (with a grill), bar and lounge area, and a laptop for the guests. We tried several appetizers from the restaurant, which was delicious.

The location of the hotel was perfect - located one and a half blocks from the central park with many of Granada's attractions, restaurants, bars and clubs within walking distance.

We would definitely stay again in Hotel El Almirante again and recommend it to our friends!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cesarpjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2010

We literally stumbled upon this new great hotel in Granada. Brand new, reasonable rates, great staff, and very quiet (no street noise), this place was an oasis from the heat and noise of the city after your fill of shopping, exploring etc. The pool is excellent and only steps from a beautiful restaurant serving very good food (breakfast, lunch, or dinner). This place is tremendous value and will be on the radar of anyone looking for a great place in Granada very soon.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicaTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2010

I went to Granada for a long weekend with my wife and we stayed at the El Almirante, which had been recommended to us by a Nicaraguan friend that lives here in the States. According to him, the El almirante Hotel is the talk of the town due to the very modern, efficient and GREEN facilities, meaning hot water by solar panels, controlled power in rooms like European hotels, etc.
We arrived after the road trip from Managua and what a great surprise, we did not have reservations and however we were greeted like kings, it is well known that latin people are some of the best hosts in the world. I have to say that This Hotel El Almirante has some of the better ones. Most of the employees are bilingual so everybody will understand what you want and how you want it. Everything from concierge, reception, the kitchen was superb, fresh and very clean swimming pool. The rooms are as quiet as you can find them, the baths are superclean and brand new. Somebody told me that this is the only Hotel in Granada with hot water 24/7.
Anyway, I will recommend this Hotel El Almirante to anybody that want to rest, have a quiet time and experience good service and attention to detail without breaking the bank.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jobermu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#6 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
0.2 mi away
Il Padrino Hotel
Il Padrino Hotel
#15 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#4 of 44 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#2 of 44 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Terrasol
Hotel Terrasol
#14 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casa Barcelona
Hotel Casa Barcelona
#29 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Almirante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Almirante

Property: Hotel El Almirante
Address: Calle Corrales 111 | 1/2 cuadra de la Ferreteria Datisa al lago, Granada 43143, Nicaragua (Formerly BEST WESTERN El Almirante)
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 44 Hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel El Almirante 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is built in an old colonial house in the historical center of Granada. It opened January 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel El Almirante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing