We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home”
Review of Hotel Jerico

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Granada
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Jerico
Ranked #36 of 43 Hotels in Granada
Meadow Lake, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Home away from Home”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stay at this clean, economical hotel every time we are in Granada. It is family run, safe, and a great deal. For two we paid 36 a night that included air conditioning and breakfast. The family and staff are always as happy to see us as we are to see them. it is located on the main street between the central park and the lake so easy access to everything.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juanita A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    19
    7
    0
    5
See reviews for
5
20
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I found this hotel by accident and really enjoyed it for the US$35.00 that I paid per night. It is basic, clean and comfortable. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, the bathroom had a stand in shower and was clean. The air conditioning was very welcome because it was very hot when I was there in September. The breakfast was meager but that is how it is in most of Central America. It was included and that was a plus. The staff were very courteous and nice, but I spoke the language. I do see a problem for someone who does not speak English. They should have someone who speaks some English to improve their clientele. I would stay here again if I went back to Granada and do recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LotusPrins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Hotel Jerico was our starting and ending destination. Granada was centrally located on our trip. We had a driver waiting for us at the Managua Airport who drove us to hotel Jericho. A friendly staff greeted us. Since Granada is a city, we appreciated that we had hotel staff on 24 hours a day. The rooms have excellent AC, which works VERY well. The rooms are clean and convenient.
The staff was very helpful in recommending restaurants and activities to do in Granada. Breakfast is included and is good Nicaraguan fare.

After exploring Nicaragua, we returned to Granada and Hotel Jerico. It was late in the day but it was recommended that we visit Laguna de Apoyo, a volcanic crater filled with mineral water-amazing! We asked Hotel Jerico what our options were and they found us a driver who was ready to pick us up in 15 minutes. They arranged everything!
On our departure, we thought we lost our camera at the restaurant from the night before. The owner/operator of Hotel Jericho named Faresse heard our problem. But it was 4:00 am and we had to leave to catch our flight back to the US. At the airport we checked in our entire luggage and found the camera. We didn’t think any more of it until my husband got a message on Facebook from Faresse. He informed us he had gone to the restaurant we went to and asked about the camera. He even personally found and spoke to our waiter. He said it wasn’t in the restaurant but he would keep looking. We were amazed by Faresse’s thoughtfulness and the amount of effort he went to. If you are in Granada, we recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirsten D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granada, Nicaragua
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

After one night in a very inexpensive/basic hotel we learned that air conditioning was not an option (for us) so we selected a room at Hotel Jerico that had both A/C and a fan. This combination kept us very comfortable at night and gave us relief during the day. It was worth every penny of the $35US we paid per night.

The typical Nicaraguan breakfast is free and good. Gallo Pinto (beans and rice), eggs, rolls, cheese and coffee. We ate it almost every morning. The service was simply wonderful. Every need and request were taken care of. Gemma was excellent, slipping into English when our Spanish was weak.

Room Tip: As you enter the room area, choose a room on the far (left) side, closest to the kitchen. When rain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Glenn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estes Park, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

the truth is that the hotel is nice and comfortable but the family is very smug, but the cleaning and with the secretary does not speak in English I think they should look for a person who can speak English because it is a hotel where you get extranjeroscomo Attended my case very badly ellame never comprehended foulbrood was telling me a desastrela full truth is nobody there speaks fluent English should study to be a better hotel that serves no attention.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank megan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managua, Nicaragua
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

We stayed here two nights. Cheapest room with AC we've booked the two months we've been traveling in Nicaragua. Very clean, not much to look at, large room. Internet works well. ONLY $30 US for a matrimonial each night.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kovertkermudgeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managua, Nicaragua
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

this is probably the best deal i've found on a hotel in Nicaragua, and i've traveled the country pretty extensively. this deal is especially good considering how touristy Granada is. you can easily pay $50 on a similar room in most locations in the city. the rooms are simple but immaculately clean. they also have a sofa, which i always find nice in a hotel room. all in all, we paid a measly $30 a night for a matrimonial double-bed in a large room with air-conditioning! Nicaragua may be cheap overall but finding a deal like that here is a rare one indeed. the hotel staff are also extremely friendly. Granada can get pretty hot during the day, so it's definitely worth the small additional price to pay for AC if you can afford forking it over. they even have signs posted that ask you to turn off all the electrical devices in the room before you leave so "they can continue to offer the low prices in the hotel for the benefit of everyone." that's something i can really get behind. highly, highly recommended

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.3 mi away
Il Padrino Hotel
Il Padrino Hotel
#13 of 43 in Granada
182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#5 of 43 in Granada
697 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 43 in Granada
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa Barcelona
Hotel Casa Barcelona
#31 of 43 in Granada
152 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Granada
Hotel Granada
#24 of 43 in Granada
319 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dario
Hotel Dario
#14 of 43 in Granada
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jerico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jerico

Property: Hotel Jerico
Address: Calle La Calzada, House 414 | From cathedral church 3 ½ blocks from the lake, Granada, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 43 Hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing