We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gruss Gott”

Charly's Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #40 of 168 Restaurants in Granada
Price range: US$0 - US$15
Cuisines: German, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“gruss Gott”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Greet God is the common salute in southern Germany. This place has everything from southern Germany. Sauerkraut and a good Beer. A nice host, who wa sone of the first foreign restaurant owners here. Recommended.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank richharris53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    16
    5
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Granada, Nicaragua
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I was really looking forward to this place since it seemed to be the only place in town to offer a different kind of menu. Unfortunately, it wasn't worth the wait. The prices are double than what it says on their website, the service is terrible and the food is salty. I sat and had to request a menu since no one came to the table and after ordering, it took approximately 30 minutes for just the soup to arrive! I requested the bill, not once, but twice and even then still needed to wait an additional 10 minutes before I was TOLD the price -sans bill!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank NewYorkerNicaragua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A gem off Granada's beaten path”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We were treated to a fantastic experience at Charly's, with the man himself hosting us for the evening. The food was excellent - a mix of German and Nicaraguan fare that was delicious, filling and very affordable. The service was friendly and classy-but-not-to-formal. The restaurant and ambiance was truly one of a kind - a virtual museum of German and local trinkets, memorabilia and photos.

I highly recommend Charly's looking for a memorable dining experience in Granada. It is truly one of a kind.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dgergovich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granada, Nicaragua
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best meal so far...!”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

My friends, German teacher and I went to Charly's to celebrate the end of our level 3 of German course. Could not have picked a better place to celebrate!! the food is authentic German and so are the beers! I had Fleischkäse and Dunkelbier. The atmosphere is great, again authentic German and we had the chance to practice our German with a couple who were having dinner there and with Charly himself. So far, the best meal I've ever had in a restaurant in town...

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikenica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicaragua
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Mt first Father´s day celebration”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We celebrated Father´s day in Nicaragua yesterday and my wife and i decided to go to Charly´s for a change, i work in the tourism industry nad have eaten in many places nationwide and i was not disappointed with Charly´s food. I had a Churrasco qhcih is not very German like but i was in the mood for a good piece of beef and that i what i got, the fires were amazing and the plate of sausage that i ordered as an appetizer was also very good.

One thing i did not like was that the beer was not cold enough, this si very important in Nicaragua for beers to be cold in such a warm weather.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank RodolfoNicaragua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Charly's Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Granada, Granada Department
Granada, Granada Department
 
Granada, Granada Department
Granada, Granada Department
 

Been to Charly's Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing