We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Become Part of the Family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Charly's Bar, Restaurant & Guesthouse
Ranked #23 of 67 Granada B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 April 2014

If there were 2 more stars for a rating I would give them to Charly's.

I had booked a bus trip to Granada for April back in January, and researched hotels, hostels and guesthouses which were close, but not in the center of all of the tourist activities. I came upon Charly's as a good location with a restaurant on-site as a good option.

After I arrived at the bus station, it was only a 5 block walk to the guesthouse and the terminal agent was quick to give me the easy directions. This set well with me since once the name Charly's was mentioned, he was quick to smile and knew it well. Arriving at Charly's I rang the doorbell and was greeted by Charly's wife, whose English was challenged by her Spanish, but we made the check-in swiftly. Charly himself showed me to my room which was well equipped with A/C, TV, comfortable beds and chairs and a quaint bathroom. I also had wi-fi access throughout the Inn and restaurant. There is a common patio area with cool breezes flowing and wonderful natural trees shading it. You also get to meet the resident Siberian Husky who is beautiful, and the pet parrot who is quite talkative. This is a great place to read a book, or just relax.

The restaurant and bar are very rustic with a hint of local flora throughout. Charly offers the only draft beer in Granada along with a wonderful selection of international brews and a fully stocked bar. Charly's menu, which he prepares for you himself, is diverse including local fare, traditional barbecue, German dishes, an the unique (Venison and "Rodent"). During my stay, I sampled one of every genre (including the "rodent" which I highly recommend) and can easily say I left the dinner table well-fed with my taste buds well satisfied. Of particular note, I highly recommend Charly's German potato salad, which reminded me of my mother's from years ago, and his sauerkraut, which is just the right blend of sweet and sour.

Charly, himself, is a great conversationalist and very knowledgeable about the history and traditions of Granada, and always greets his guests by their first names. It truly makes you feel welcome and a part of the family. Even though this Inn only has three rooms, the other guests interact with each other sharing the day's plans or reviewing the previous day's activities. Again, lending to the family atmosphere.

I made this trip by myself this time, but plan on returning to Granada with my wife in July. Our choice of accommodations is a no-brainer - we will be staying at Charly's (although my wife will pass on the "rodent". Thank you Charly for making this a memorable experience.

Room Tip: The Inn is only a 15 minute walk from Parque Central, but bring walking shoes.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EpacWeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
There are newer reviews for Charly's Bar, Restaurant & Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2012

My wife and I spent a week at Charly's guesthouse and used it ase a home base to do day-trips around the Granada area from there. Charly's guesthouse offers a better standard than most hotels we got to know in Nicaragua on our trip. His rooms are very clean, with air conditioning, hot and cold water in bathroom and shower, and serviced daily. The prices are low for what you get. The area is quiet and you can park your car safely in the neighbor's yard or in Charly's garage.
From Charly's guesthouse we took day trips to Masaya, the Laguna de Apoyo, the Islettas, the Mombacho vulcano, the beach in Casares and to Niquinohomo, the birthplace of Sandino.
Charly got stuck in Nicaragua sometime in the 80s, during the heydays of the Sandinista Revolution, has married a Nicaraguan lady and has a daughter.
He can tell you a lot about the country, places to go like hotels and beaches all over Nicaragua. He has connections and phone numbers of some places we went that he recommended to us. Charly is the Captain of the Granada Fire Brigade (Bomberos de Granada) and also the head of the Twin-City-Organisation of Granada and Frankfurt (Germany). We got the impression that almost everyone in Granada knows him.
We left Charly after one week and then travelled around Nicaragua. On our last three days in Nicaragua at the end of our trip we went back to him to finish our trip with some quiet days off in Granada.
We will be there again, for sure.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roland Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

Couldn´t review just the restaurant here (we didn´t actually stay here) but I thought it deserved a good review just for the quality of the food and beer.
$7 will get you a large excellent meal. For $10 you get a huge excellent meal. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidC82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Barbla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
Thank JakaFlores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mathias W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 45 in Granada
1,043 reviews
5.5 mi away
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
#1 of 4 in Isletas de Granada
336 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Barcelona
Hotel Casa Barcelona
#30 of 45 in Granada
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#5 of 45 in Granada
705 reviews
0.4 mi away
GM Granada Hostel
GM Granada Hostel
#4 of 72 in Granada
159 reviews
4.7 mi away
Isleta El Espino Ecolodge
Isleta El Espino Ecolodge
#2 of 4 in Isletas de Granada
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charly's Bar, Restaurant & Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charly's Bar, Restaurant & Guesthouse

Address: De Petronic 4c oeste, 25 vrs Sur, Granada 00000, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range: £24 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Charly's Bar, Restaurant & Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing