We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”
Review of Choco cafe

Choco cafe
Ranked #57 of 168 Restaurants in Granada
Price range: US$1 - US$6
Cuisines: American, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Buffet
Description: ¨All you can eat¨ breakfast buffet, with delicious fresh juices and fruit, homemade jams, variety of breads, eggs any style, omelettes, traditional gallo pinto (rice and beans) and sweet plantain, yogurt, granola and more...In the afternoon you can enjoy variety of coffee drinks, our homemade chocolate specialties and our famous cacao tea!Breakfast open from 7am to 11am and coffee from 11:00am to 6pm
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place”
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Great breakfast buffet and a stellar garden with rabbits and magpies. The museum onsite is very informative

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    10
    5
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malmo, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Poor service and mediocre food”
Reviewed 13 February 2013

We had breakfast here and the guy who explained how it all works when you first walk in was talking very fast and you coulnt really comprihend what he was saying, we just wanted to order waffles and didnt realize you had to purchase for the full buffet to get waffles. This option was very expensive and its the only option so either you buy the whole package or you can just order some drinks. Well I asked him about the waffles again and he got very annoyed though I was just confused about how to get the waffles. I made sure I wasnt mean towards him but even though I was smilying he wasnt very friendly back. You pay automatically 10 % tip of something you have to go fetch yourself and you pay the tip before you eat . Doesnt make any sense in my opinion. The food wasnt that good to be honest, we regret paying for the breakfast and we wish we went back to the garden cafe or kathys waffle house instead. There are some cool information about cacao plants and how chocolate is produced etc. But I am quite sure you dont have to purchase anything to see this. I said thanks with a smile to the guy who took the order when leaving and I got a very rude "bye!" back at me. Must say the atmosphere was quite nice but there are better valued places nearby!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alebale2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Gorgeous courtyard.”
Reviewed 22 November 2012 via mobile

We stopped by for a quick drink. I had a really delicious chocolate coconut milkshake. The service was ok and I did find the prices to be higher when compared to other restaurants in the area but it was nice to just sit and enjoy the environment for a while.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SibinaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granada, Nicaragua
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice option for breakfast”
Reviewed 14 September 2012

It was like eating at my own house (Gallo pinto, cheese plantains) it is a nice way to combine the Nicaraguan breakfast with internationals cravings, big buffet with lots of options (toast, jam ,jelly fresh juices, omelets, pancakes, eggs the way you like it etc) and everything it was very fresh all this in an old beautiful colonial building and just for US$6 dollars and you can eat as much as you want so it was the best US$6 dollars I ever spend on a breakfast.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Byronortega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good place for breakfast”
Reviewed 9 May 2012

I ate here every day for two weeks during my latest visit, and never had to wait more than 5 minutes for a waffle or omelet. The buffet choices include standard Nica fare, along with pancakes and more cooked to order. The fresh fruit and juices are always great -- try the passion fruit juice when they have it. It's delicious. I enjoyed the waffles, and my husband was a fan of the pancakes and omelets.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pamela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Choco cafe also viewed

Granada, Granada Department
 
Granada, Granada Department
Granada, Granada Department
 

Been to Choco cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing