We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa del Agua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa del Agua
Ranked #3 of 66 Granada B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

Was bit concerned after staying at a dumpy "b&b" in Leon.. Gerry's Casa del Agua turned out to be a jam. Travelling alone was no problem due to Gerry. He arranged a private driver for me to catch late night and early flights at reasonable price. Great location, charming place, awesome coffee, sweet staff, great recommendations (dream spa, restaurants, tours). Will return soon! Lisa from chicago

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chicafromchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    57
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
45
175
53
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

We stayed at Casa del Agua for 8 nights while we were in Granada. Gerry and his staff were so kind and accommodating. Right when we arrived, he sat with us and gave us all the details of where to go, where to eat, where not to go, and we quickly learned that his advice was spot-on. Some of the best meals of our trip were at restaurants suggested by Gerry. Casa del Agua is also perfectly located one block off the main square where the noise level dies down significantly at night but you are still so close to everything. I would highly recommend staying here for so many reasons: it's clean and comfortable, centrally located, and all the staff are really helpful. But Gerry is who makes this place amazing. He is very kind and concerned about his guests comfort, and is also a blast to hang out and chat with. He's very passionate about his business and the city, and it really shows. If you're going to Granada, you want to stay at Casa del Agua.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kassie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

This was the best place. Location was perfect, it was clean, beautiful pool, great owner! I absolutely loved this place. Might come back with my mom and can't wait to stay here again. If you can get a room here, stay here!

Room Tip: I don't think you could go wrong here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CanadianCandice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

We had a few nights in Granada prior to starting a bicycle tour of Central America. Casa Del Agua had great reviews on Trip Advisor so we booked 2 nights. The previous guest reviews were not wrong. From the time of our first contact with Gerry to the end of stay we were very satisfied. Gerry arranged for a taxi to pick us up at Managua Airport and drive us to his location. The next day he gave us a review of the area and made several suggestions for restaurants and things to do. We took advantage of all the restaurant recommendations and were pleased with each one. The use of the kitchen and the clothes line was an added bonus. The location made it very easy to walk to the tourist center of Granada. We felt very much at home. Thanks Gerry

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

When we came arrived in Granada we didn't have secure hotel/hostel plans so we had been going door to door looking for a spot and we serendipitously ran into Gerry! And we were so lucky to find Casa del Agua! It really made our brief stay (2 nights) in Granada special. The location is fantastic and Gerry is great. His recommendations were fantastic and advice extremely helpful! The rooms were nice, clean and comfortable. The open kitchen and pool created a really nice community-feel. We had a great time cracking open Tona's from the fridge and chatting with the other guests. The hotel has a great vibe..we didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cole192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
245 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

The endless accolades of Casa del Agua won't stop here. Gerry did everything to make our stay comfortable and pleasant. Our spotless rooms were great with quality sheets and towels, comfortable beds, functioning A/C and lots of storage space. Coffee was always on the brew and beer was always chilling in the kitchen and the small courtyard pool was a welcome respite after the hot humid days roaming the town.
The location, just of the Parque Central, is so convenient to the sites, to the bar and restaurant area, and to the banking and shopping areas.
Gerry also assisted with arranging transport from Managua and on to San Jorge. He provided a wealth of info on the town, made meal recommendations, and even changed money for us.
We were able to make our reservation without a deposit and when we left a day early ( a change in plans-nothing to do with the hotel or Granada), he waived most of the 48 hour cancellation fee.
The only criticism I have is the free bicycles. I guess you get what you pay for as they had no brakes, which made the downhill drive to the lake a bit of an adventure.
Gerry is a great host who will make your stay in Granada very enjoyable.

Room Tip: If you have a small group of 4 or 5, get the two rooms on the North side which have a separate entra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diverdan28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peachland, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

Casa del Agua has been our home away from home. Our host, Gerry, made us welcome and comfortable in Granada. The central kitchen was a great place to meet other travellers. Our room was spacious and clean. The pool was always inviting. Casa del Agua is a great bang for your buck.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#4 of 43 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#6 of 43 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 43 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Terrasol
Hotel Terrasol
#13 of 43 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
0.0 mi away
La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Agua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Agua

Property: Casa del Agua
Address: Calle Guzman | La Gran Francia Al Sur, Granada, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa del Agua is located in the beautiful and historical colonial town of Granada, Nicaragua. Just 30mts south of the Catheral in central park. Your ideally located to explore the heartbeat of the town, with it's many bars, clubs and fine food cafes & eateries. This self catering guesthouse is a must for all travelers! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Del Agua Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing