We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, friendly and perfect”
Review of Casa del Agua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa del Agua
Ranked #1 of 67 Granada B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 December 2013

This place couldn't have been better for the first days of my trip to Nicaragua. I stayed in a front room, which was big, clean, comfortable and surprisingly quiet at night, with big colonial-style shutters that blocked out street noise. But the real standout is the warm welcome from Gerry and the relaxed, friendly vibe that the patio with the pool and big open kitchen create. Traveling solo, I was able to meet people easily and even was invited out by Gerry and some of his friends. And the pool is fantastic - it's HOT in the afternoon in Granada, and you'll be glad it's there! (I only wish I'd booked a place with a pool in León...) I also appreciated the free water, coffee and use of the big fridge.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nutellanut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (412)
There are newer reviews for Casa del Agua
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 412 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2013

We stayed here for four nights in a bedroom beside the pool. The room was comfortable and clean. The pool was amazing when you would come back from a full day of walking around town or hiking a volcano. It was very hot while we were in Granada. The room also has A/C for a small extra cost, if needed.

This place is amazing for the value and location. Gerry has a fridge stocked full of a beer and uses an honour system for a good price.

Casa del Agua is close to the town centre, no needs for cabs. You can walk to bars, restaurants, choose from tours within a five minute walk. We did a volcano day trip, zip lining which we arranged ourselves by using public bus. We took a walk downtown and signed up for a tour of the islands, both days were amazing.

I would not think twice about staying at this place if we ever travel to Granada again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thetravellingkind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Last night of our 3 week visit to Nicaragua landed us in the Casa Del Agua. Excellent location, a perfect host, and a very comfortable reasonably priced room. Perfect location in central Granada to tour the historic hot spots. Gerry Webb, the propietor, greeted us warmly and was the most perfect host offering us information on what to do and where to eat. Casa del Agua has a definite charm with all the comforts. From free coffee to free bicycle usage and stories from Gerry to the afternoon/evening walks and carriage ride in the streets, our last night in Nicaragua could not have been better. Gerry ensured a 4:15 AM personal wake up call with a reliable taxi to meet for our early flight back home on time. Sad to have had only one night in Granada but most happy for having stayed at the Casa del Agua. Most definitely would highly recommend this place to stay. D & D from Canada

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

It was three years since I last stayed at Casa Del Agua, so I was thrilled to see that the place has retained its charm despite growing in popularity immensely since 2010. It really is like a hostel for older travellers who want a bit of comfort. The rooms are spotless, well maintained, the pool is gorgeous and always a perfect temperature, given the heat of Granada, and the communal kitchen seating area gives the place a really social vibe you rarely find in a mid-range hotel.

With only nine rooms, it's a great place with a friendly vibe ... on a couple of nights four or five of us who had only met at Casa Del Agua decided to head out for meals after exchanging info about our travels in the communal area. The rooms are nice enough for you to hang out and just watch cable TV if you don't want to be too sociable after a day of wandering Granada's gorgeous colonial streets, or checking out the nearby lakes and volcanoes.

Gerry has a wonderful, warm personality, so he loves swapping tales and sharing info with travellers ... He's also from my own country, Ireland, and I never expected to meet an Irish lad running a nice budget hotel when I first found myself in Granada three years ago.

The free bikes are a great addition for a ride around the city or a trip down to the lake, the wi-fi is far superior to some of the places I've stayed in throughout Nicaragua, and it really is like staying in a friend's home. There were lots of fireworks going off during my stay due to a religious festival, so it's not the quietest of places for a nice sleep ... but then again, the location is fantastic. It's so close to the Parque Central and La Calzada that you never need to get a cab at night.

Casa Del Agua is a delight.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ciaran77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

My husband and I have been travelling through Central America for 3 months now and Casa del Agua is easily the best hostel we have stayed in. Gerry, the owner is brilliant and really informative. The location is perfect for access to the centre. Our room was clean as was the common areas. The shower (which really is hot...a rarity in CA)was amazing! We were sad to leave.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank EllieT2B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Was bit concerned after staying at a dumpy "b&b" in Leon.. Gerry's Casa del Agua turned out to be a jam. Travelling alone was no problem due to Gerry. He arranged a private driver for me to catch late night and early flights at reasonable price. Great location, charming place, awesome coffee, sweet staff, great recommendations (dream spa, restaurants, tours). Will return soon! Lisa from chicago

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chicafromchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We stayed at Casa del Agua for 8 nights while we were in Granada. Gerry and his staff were so kind and accommodating. Right when we arrived, he sat with us and gave us all the details of where to go, where to eat, where not to go, and we quickly learned that his advice was spot-on. Some of the best meals of our trip were at restaurants suggested by Gerry. Casa del Agua is also perfectly located one block off the main square where the noise level dies down significantly at night but you are still so close to everything. I would highly recommend staying here for so many reasons: it's clean and comfortable, centrally located, and all the staff are really helpful. But Gerry is who makes this place amazing. He is very kind and concerned about his guests comfort, and is also a blast to hang out and chat with. He's very passionate about his business and the city, and it really shows. If you're going to Granada, you want to stay at Casa del Agua.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kassie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 45 in Granada
1,043 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#1 of 45 in Granada
671 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#5 of 45 in Granada
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Real La Merced
Hotel Real La Merced
#11 of 45 in Granada
128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 45 in Granada
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Agua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Agua

Address: Calle Guzman | La Gran Francia Al Sur, Granada, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range: £28 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome Casa Del Agua. An historic colonial house, located just off central park in Granada, Nicaragua. Each accommodation is uniquely and individually designed to suit all our guests requirements, (individual, family, triple, single, twin and double rooms,) which are all spacious and ensuite, All guests have full access to an open kitchen, dining and lounge and porch areas where you can enjoy the camaraderie and great advice of other guests. Also included is a continental breakfast, free coffee, tea, filtered water and bike rental all day! Exploring Granada's beautiful colonial city is easy to do since our location is right in the heart of town. Explore the many great restaurants and eateries that has made Granada the food capital of Nicaragua. And when the sun is at it's highest, the feet are tired, escape by dipping into our 2 crystal clear pools. We offer great and unique tours, such as Bella del Mar Isleta tour and 'Mombacho's secret' chocolate tour, along with everyones favorites, Masaya Volacno night tour and Laguna de Apoyo day trips. Our motto: Casa del Agua is just like home, only better. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo so you can book your Casa del Agua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Agua Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing