We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Granada”
Review of Casa del Agua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa del Agua
Ranked #1 of 64 Granada B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Granada”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My first visit to Granada and I had a blast.

To begin, the owner of Casa del Agua, Gerry, is a wonderful host. I did not had a plan and I did not know where to go either and he pleasantly gave some directions and a list of places to go. All the recommendations were AMAZING.

Moreover, la Casa del Agua was clean, comfortable and close to the main square. It also has bikes to visit the city which makes things easier.

I would definitely reccomend la Casa del Agua to anyone. Do not forget your bathing suit but if you do, Gerry will kindly explain you where to get one at good prices.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliovelascoypunto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    58
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
48
181
54
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed at this lovely hostel for 3 nights and absolutely loved it. Our room itself was spacious and clean, with a good fan (and the option of a/c), and the en-suite bathroom was also clean (even with the option of a hot shower).
The owner, Gerry, was an absolute star. He couldn't have possibly been more helpful - organising a taxi for us from Managua airport, giving us loads of ideas about what to do, where to eat etc and just generally being incredibly helpful.
The communal kitchen was clean and well stocked, coffee was free all day and there was a large fridge/freezer to keep drinks cool in the heat. The swimming pool in the courtyard was so ideal for cooling down after long days.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samuel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

The right price for a laid back well located guest house. Perfect for having kids in the city. My kids (3,6,9) used the little pool a lot and having a kitchen was key. Gerry helped us with all our questions and sent a driver for us at the airport. Very safe and we got good use of the games and common area.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 June 2014

over the course of a year I have spent here at Gerry's place. It's quiet, always an interesting mixture of world visitors, and I always feel like I'm coming to my "home" away from home. It's a "special find" in Nicaragua. I highly recommend a stay....book early!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apusgp09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, WV
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We loved the beautiful spanish style house. Gerry the owner has everything covered. He was Amazing. He greeted us and was there when we left at 4am. He even arranged for us to share taxis to and from the airport to cut down on costs per person. He set us up with a really nice guide, also. We would recommend to even a picky traveler.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shawnalevonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanwood, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I always wanted a pool in my kitchen, this place is great. Gerry the owner was extremely helpful and full of joy. We really got lucky with this place, I highly recommend it. Rooms and beds are great. Cold beer in the refer pay on the honor system. Great kitchen for your personal use or pay a couple buck and have a private chef cook for you. One block from the main square, one block from the bus to Masaya or Managua. Take a day trip to Laguna De Apoyo for $3. Gerry can also provide a great personal tour of the city. Use horse cart #9 at the main square for a $15 tour of the town. We loved Granada and this place made it a perfect stay!

Room Tip: Upstairs Room for couple, lovely Queen bed and bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I would highly recommend staying here if you come to Granada. It is very central but also quiet, and a beautiful property with a small pool in the central courtyard area. The rooms are spacious and clean, comfy beds, and each room has plenty of fans and the option for A/C. Gerry (the owner) could not be more helpful - he gave us some great advice and was always on hand for us to chat with and to answer our questions and he set up all our tours and onwards travel arrangements. The place also has bikes which you can use for free (we cycled down to the waterfront which was nice), free tea and coffee and free water. There is also a kitchen which is handy if you want to save money. Great value for money - I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front on the ground floor which while was cooler than the other rooms, the nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith_A72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 43 in Granada
1,027 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#5 of 43 in Granada
697 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#2 of 43 in Granada
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 43 in Granada
650 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
0.4 mi away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#6 of 43 in Granada
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Agua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Agua

Property: Casa del Agua
Address: Calle Guzman | La Gran Francia Al Sur, Granada, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome Casa Del Agua. An historic colonial house, located just off central park in Granada, Nicaragua. Each accommodation is uniquely and individually designed to suit all our guests requirements, (individual, family, triple, single, twin and double rooms,) which are all spacious and ensuite, All guests have full access to an open kitchen, dining and lounge and porch areas where you can enjoy the camaraderie and great advice of other guests. Also included is a continental breakfast, free coffee, tea, filtered water and bike rental all day! Exploring Granada's beautiful colonial city is easy to do since our location is right in the heart of town. Explore the many great restaurants and eateries that has made Granada the food capital of Nicaragua. And when the sun is at it's highest, the feet are tired, escape by dipping into our 2 crystal clear pools. We offer great and unique tours, such as Bella del Mar Isleta tour and 'Mombacho's secret' chocolate tour, along with everyones favorites, Masaya Volacno night tour and Laguna de Apoyo day trips. Our motto: Casa del Agua is just like home, only better. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Del Agua Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing