We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing, a good value, great location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa del Agua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa del Agua
Ranked #3 of 66 Granada B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Relaxing, a good value, great location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

My family and I recently stayed at Casa del Agua in Granada, Nicaragua. We were very happy with the location- 1 block from the plaza central, and appreciated all the extras that came with our rooms. There is a nice pool right in the middle of the house, and there is hot and cold purified drinking water available for free. The owner, Gerald, was most helpful, and even set us up with a great driver, Hector, who was professional and kind. The rooms have a. c. for $10 extra per night, which was very nice. There is a fully stocked kitchen which guests are allowed to use, and each room has a great TV. Gerald had maps for us, and lots of tips on what to do in Granada. He recommended we eat at El Camello, which was very good. If we return to Granada, we would definitely stay at Casa del Agua. There are many fun things to do in town and around the town. We especially enjoyed renting bikes and riding down to the lake where we took a tour of the lake and the islands. VERY fun!

Room Tip: If you want two adjoining rooms, we loved ours! The downstairs had a double bed and a bathroom. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    56
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
44
175
53
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antananarivo, Madagascar
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed here twice because I loved it so much! The hotel is absolutely charming, with beautiful, clean, air conditioned rooms. The rooms are spacious and well-decorated. Jerry, the owner, is delightful and very helpful when trying to find your way around the area. I have recommended this hotel to every person I know who is headed to Granada. He could charge a lot more for these rooms, but as is, it's maybe the best hotel deal I've ever found.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Katie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanwood, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

I've been told that one should not become emotionally attached to a house. It is after all, just four walls and a roof. Well, I became emotionally attached as soon as I walked into Casa del Agua. Absolutely enchanting! Gerry, the host, was also a great part of the experience and gave advice and tips on where to go, what to do and what the cost should be. The location couldn't have been better, about a two minute walk to the plaza. When I got too hot I just went "home" and jumped into the pool. Not to often one sees a pool in the kitchen. When I left the property I felt completely safe that my belongings were in good hands. My stay was exceptional in every way! Thanks, Gerry, miss you already! =)

Room Tip: All of the rooms are excellent but... the Balcony room is a fairy tale
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

The room was comfortable and affordable, but the best part of staying at Casa del Agua was the individualized attention that Gerry gave guests. Not only did he give us a map and his own recommendations on food and sights in the city (all of which were spot on), but we also could use a common computer free of charge and refill our water for free. He even let us take bikes for the afternoon, free of charge.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We loved our visit to Casa Aqua. Jerry gave us great recommendations of where to go, what to do. Rooms were spacious and beautiful. Air Conditioned! YES! Pool in the kitchen! What could be better? We loved the market just down the street - incredible fresh fruit and vegetables to take back to Casa Aqua to eat for breakfast, lunch, dinner or a snack.

Room Tip: Head upstairs!
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lisanwgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

My first visit to Granada and I had a blast.

To begin, the owner of Casa del Agua, Gerry, is a wonderful host. I did not had a plan and I did not know where to go either and he pleasantly gave some directions and a list of places to go. All the recommendations were AMAZING.

Moreover, la Casa del Agua was clean, comfortable and close to the main square. It also has bikes to visit the city which makes things easier.

I would definitely reccomend la Casa del Agua to anyone. Do not forget your bathing suit but if you do, Gerry will kindly explain you where to get one at good prices.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliovelascoypunto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed at this lovely hostel for 3 nights and absolutely loved it. Our room itself was spacious and clean, with a good fan (and the option of a/c), and the en-suite bathroom was also clean (even with the option of a hot shower).
The owner, Gerry, was an absolute star. He couldn't have possibly been more helpful - organising a taxi for us from Managua airport, giving us loads of ideas about what to do, where to eat etc and just generally being incredibly helpful.
The communal kitchen was clean and well stocked, coffee was free all day and there was a large fridge/freezer to keep drinks cool in the heat. The swimming pool in the courtyard was so ideal for cooling down after long days.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samuel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 43 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#6 of 43 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 43 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Terrasol
Hotel Terrasol
#15 of 43 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
0.0 mi away
La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Agua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Agua

Property: Casa del Agua
Address: Calle Guzman | La Gran Francia Al Sur, Granada, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa del Agua is located in the beautiful and historical colonial town of Granada, Nicaragua. Just 30mts south of the Catheral in central park. Your ideally located to explore the heartbeat of the town, with it's many bars, clubs and fine food cafes & eateries. This self catering guesthouse is a must for all travelers! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Del Agua Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing