We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Customer focused hostel/hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa del Agua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa del Agua
Ranked #2 of 66 Granada B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Customer focused hostel/hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We stayer here for 4 nights. Located in walking distance to virtually everything, CDA is perfect place for mid-range travelers looking for clean and very fairly priced accomodation in Granada. Gerry has been cutting costs (while still providing free coffee and water) so that the rooms are cheap compared to what you get (which is a great value option). All should feel totally comfortable following Gerry's advice and recommendations. They were great! Go here!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Raha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    57
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
46
178
53
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Fantastic little hotel right in the heart of Granada with real character to the place. It's family run by the host Gerry who provides good information on tours, transport, restaurants and money exchange. Free coffee and water all day, which is an added bonus and a nice start to the day. The rooms are clean and spacious, complete with tv and private bathrooms. Best of all they have a pool in the middle of this beautiful colonial building, great for cooling off at the end of the day.
Would highly recommend staying here.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank AndyTaylor82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We are delighted to have discovered Casa del Agua and stayed there twice during our recent vacation in Nicaragua. Gerry is a great host and helps you get orinentated in this beautiful city, he also recommended some great tours of the lakes and local volcanoes. The house is close to the main square beside the cathedral and has good rooms with A/C or fans. There is a dipping pool in the center of the building which is perfect to relax in (with a beer!) after exploring the hot Granada streets & markets. There is a communal kitchen with a large fridge, free chilled drinking water and free tea & coffee in the morning. After the sun goes down you should walk down the nearby "Calsada" which is the main pedestrian street leading to the lake with lots of restaurants, bars & music. I would highly recommend Casa del Agua as a place to stay in Granada.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cormac O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huizingen, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Friendly owner Gerry
Spatious rooms and good bathrooms.
Good muskitoproof rooms
Perfect location
Breakfast is not included, but there is a nice kitchen

Maybe a little bit expensive compared to other hostels/hotels in Granada

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Maarten P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Casa Del Agua twice during our 2 week stay in Nicaragua - 4 nights at the start and 4 nights at the end. The second stay really felt like coming home.
Gerry is a laid-back, very friendly guy and with the kitchen available for guest use and free coffee on tap, we felt totally at ease and found it was a perfect base for exploring Granada and the surrounding area, really handy for the market, transport and places of interest in the city.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank OMPughy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

The location is great, close to the parque de central but quiet and we felt safe walking down the street at night. Jerry was great, offered us a good price for a great room, and made us feel at home!

We are on a tight budget but we got good value for money based on the quality of the room and service (even if we did break our meagre bank!).

We were very lucky he had a room free as all rooms were fully booked when we stayed. Would definitely recommed!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ang G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

My family and I recently stayed at Casa del Agua in Granada, Nicaragua. We were very happy with the location- 1 block from the plaza central, and appreciated all the extras that came with our rooms. There is a nice pool right in the middle of the house, and there is hot and cold purified drinking water available for free. The owner, Gerald, was most helpful, and even set us up with a great driver, Hector, who was professional and kind. The rooms have a. c. for $10 extra per night, which was very nice. There is a fully stocked kitchen which guests are allowed to use, and each room has a great TV. Gerald had maps for us, and lots of tips on what to do in Granada. He recommended we eat at El Camello, which was very good. If we return to Granada, we would definitely stay at Casa del Agua. There are many fun things to do in town and around the town. We especially enjoyed renting bikes and riding down to the lake where we took a tour of the lake and the islands. VERY fun!

Room Tip: If you want two adjoining rooms, we loved ours! The downstairs had a double bed and a bathroom. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 44 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#5 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#1 of 44 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
0.3 mi away
Hotel Terrasol
Hotel Terrasol
#14 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Agua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Agua

Property: Casa del Agua
Address: Calle Guzman | La Gran Francia Al Sur, Granada, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa del Agua is located in the beautiful and historical colonial town of Granada, Nicaragua. Just 30mts south of the Catheral in central park. Your ideally located to explore the heartbeat of the town, with it's many bars, clubs and fine food cafes & eateries. This self catering guesthouse is a must for all travelers! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Del Agua Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing