We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a pleasant experience”
Review of Casa del Agua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa del Agua
Ranked #1 of 72 Granada B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I'm quite confused about all these positive reviews of Casa del Agua. My boyfriend and I stopped by on our vacation through Nicaragua and found the rooms to be filthy and the swimming pool to be the size of a bathtub. This place also smelled of chemicals while the noise from the traffic outside was astounding. We had one quick look at our room and decided to stay somewhere more comfortable and clean, and quiet.

Gerry was a little bristly with us when we wanted to leave but became nicer once we paid him for our committed stay. We're not precious travelers but this place was too dirty, loud and uncomfortable for us when all we wanted was some peace and comfort. Also, the staff here seemed unhappy and unwelcoming.

It's too bad because a lot could be done to make this property nicer since it's in the center of Granada but I understand that Casa del Agua is a place for budget travelers, like us, but we also value peace, comfort and cleanliness.

We certainly wish we had a better experience like the rest of the reviewers here. We only chose to stay at Case del Agua based on the great reviews and photos on TripAdvisor, but unfortunately we didn't have the same amazing time.

Room Tip: This place is pretty noisy due to direct outside traffic, and inside as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank Sunny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casadel, Guest Relations Manager at Casa del Agua, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you for your review. We do hope this response will be helpful in clearing up your confusion.
Your boyfriend & you didn't "stop by" as you had a reservation or "committed stay", with us for 2 nights.

We note from reading your profile that your favorite place to stay was at Tribal.
Please note that their pool was constructed by our pool company and our bathtub is of the same dimensions. These
dimensions are the norm for traditional colonial houses.

We read that your 2 hotel stays in Granada were at Tribal & Plaza Colon, which are very fine establishments and that
you consider them, at a rate over $100 per night, as budget travel. This is an OK budget for you,and people
like Paris Hilton and the Kardashins. However, we at Casa del Agua have proudly served "our" people which come from
all walks of life in the USA incl, Politicians, military & emergency service personnel, sports stars, farmers,
construction, vet & medical students as well as hard working volunteers.People that give their lives effortlessly to
reshape your wonderful country, & have also, contributed in building ours.

We also see that this is your first visit out of your country. Here's a tip: official information of our
guesthouse is displayed on our official website. All other social media such as
facebook, yelp & trip Advisor may contain inaccuracies as it is based on the opinions of others & not written by us.

As regards to both the noise inside and outside of the house, you are the 1st person in over 200 reviews to remark
on this. What is even more remarkable is that you never actually stayed with us to have this experience!
(This was confusing to us to, but we cleared it up with our CCTV coverage of you entering and leaving with your
luggage on the same day & we can clarify that you did not stay).

To clear up your confusion and to get to the core of what this review is, is as follows: You ordered a taxi
collection from the airport & you were a no show, you reserved a room for the same night and you were a no show,
when you dropped by the following day you cancelled your reservation for that day.
These are a breach contract of the terms & conditions which you received on your reservation email from us.
Under the heading "All reservations are subject to the same terms & conditions as of our reservation site
at Hostelworld."
The truth is you became disgruntled and refused to pay your no show and cancellation fees. Eventually, we offered
you a lawyer to represent you as we had decided that our only remaining course of action was to call the police.
We do thank you for your payment to us & our independent taxi service also convey their thanks for your eventual
payment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (422)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 422 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed at casa del agua for one night with my little brother. Gerald, the owner was very communicative prior to our arrival. Communal kitchen was great. Room was clean and we sprung for a/c which was nice. Wifi was acting up a little but seemed like a temporary problem that was being fixed. Gerald also helped us set up a shuttle to Laguna de apoyo which was helpful as well

Stayed: July 2014
Thank yschiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We stayer here for 4 nights. Located in walking distance to virtually everything, CDA is perfect place for mid-range travelers looking for clean and very fairly priced accomodation in Granada. Gerry has been cutting costs (while still providing free coffee and water) so that the rooms are cheap compared to what you get (which is a great value option). All should feel totally comfortable following Gerry's advice and recommendations. They were great! Go here!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Raha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Fantastic little hotel right in the heart of Granada with real character to the place. It's family run by the host Gerry who provides good information on tours, transport, restaurants and money exchange. Free coffee and water all day, which is an added bonus and a nice start to the day. The rooms are clean and spacious, complete with tv and private bathrooms. Best of all they have a pool in the middle of this beautiful colonial building, great for cooling off at the end of the day.
Would highly recommend staying here.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank AndyTaylor82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We are delighted to have discovered Casa del Agua and stayed there twice during our recent vacation in Nicaragua. Gerry is a great host and helps you get orinentated in this beautiful city, he also recommended some great tours of the lakes and local volcanoes. The house is close to the main square beside the cathedral and has good rooms with A/C or fans. There is a dipping pool in the center of the building which is perfect to relax in (with a beer!) after exploring the hot Granada streets & markets. There is a communal kitchen with a large fridge, free chilled drinking water and free tea & coffee in the morning. After the sun goes down you should walk down the nearby "Calsada" which is the main pedestrian street leading to the lake with lots of restaurants, bars & music. I would highly recommend Casa del Agua as a place to stay in Granada.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cormac O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Friendly owner Gerry
Spatious rooms and good bathrooms.
Good muskitoproof rooms
Perfect location
Breakfast is not included, but there is a nice kitchen

Maybe a little bit expensive compared to other hostels/hotels in Granada

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Maarten P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Casa Del Agua twice during our 2 week stay in Nicaragua - 4 nights at the start and 4 nights at the end. The second stay really felt like coming home.
Gerry is a laid-back, very friendly guy and with the kitchen available for guest use and free coffee on tap, we felt totally at ease and found it was a perfect base for exploring Granada and the surrounding area, really handy for the market, transport and places of interest in the city.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank OMPughy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#2 of 45 in Granada
1,057 reviews
0.3 mi away
Il Padrino Hotel
Il Padrino Hotel
#17 of 45 in Granada
187 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#1 of 45 in Granada
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel El Maltese
Hotel El Maltese
#26 of 45 in Granada
45 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#3 of 45 in Granada
719 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Agua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Agua

Address: Calle Guzman | La Gran Francia Al Sur, Granada, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range: £30 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa del Agua 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome Casa Del Agua. An historic colonial house, located just off central park in Granada, Nicaragua. Each accommodation is uniquely and individually designed to suit all our guests requirements, (individual, family, triple, single, twin and double rooms,) which are all spacious and ensuite, All guests have full access to an open kitchen, dining and lounge and porch areas where you can enjoy the camaraderie and great advice of other guests. Also included is a continental breakfast, free coffee, tea, filtered water and bike rental all day! Exploring Granada's beautiful colonial city is easy to do since our location is right in the heart of town. Explore the many great restaurants and eateries that has made Granada the food capital of Nicaragua. And when the sun is at it's highest, the feet are tired, escape by dipping into our 2 crystal clear pools. Our motto: Casa del Agua is just like home, only better. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Casa del Agua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Agua Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing