We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent tour operator” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nicaragua Adventures - Day Tours

Nicaragua Adventures - Day Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$139.00*
and up
Mombacho Cloud Forest Reserve: Hike and Zipline Tour
Ranked #2 of 44 Tours in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nicaragua Adventures offers private, custom and unique tours, exclusively designed to satisfy our guest's many requests and expectations (we do not form groups!). Operating since 1999 and based in Granada, Nicaragua, we offer sightseeing, soft and more strenuous adventures, for couples, families and small-mid size groups. We offer the highlights, but also always try to include a few original activities/visits on the way, to make our itineraries more valuable and maximize time during your vacation. We also are one of the very few agencies with a license/permit to operate (Delivered by the Nicaraguan Tourism Institute INTUR, you may require it when booking with tour provider in Nicaragua). We own a fleet of vehicles (all a/c, recent and comfortable, well maintained to accommodate all group sizes from 1 person to groups, with well trained, professional and friendly drivers), allowing more flexibility and satisfaction for oour customers. Our company is recommended by New York Times, Outside Magazine, Washington Post and several other magazines, please check about us. In addition, Nicaragua Adventure's manager (Pierre, a native from France living in Nicaragua/Costa Rica since year 1996) has been awarded as the "Top Travel Specialist" for Nicaragua by Conde Nast Traveler, three years in a row since 2011. Contact us for a unique travel experience.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
New York, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“excellent tour operator”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Katia organized a wonderful 10 day tour for us according to our interests and both she and Pierre helped immediately when we had some issues with one of our hotels that came up and needed to be addressed. I highly recommend them, we had a hassle free, relaxing vacation in this beautiful country, exactly what we were hoping for.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank kspanjol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    12
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“An excellent tour operator”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

We took a eleven day (ten night) tour with Nicaragua Adventures and can not say enough good things about them. The tour was organized based on our preferences--active travelers, interested in culture and nature. They prepared a draft itinerary for our approval before finalizing it. Someone was there to greet us when we landed and from then on we were under their care. Transportation was provided and so were guides. The hotels they booked us in were all very nice. We visited Granada, Isla Ometepe (highly recommended), San Juan del Sur, Leon and Mangua. The drivers, Carlos and Roberto, were courteous, pleasant and professional. We had guides for our hikes (Mombacho cloud forest, San Ramon waterfall on Volcan Maderas, and Masaya National Park) and also for other attractions along the way. These guides---Edgar, Erik and Eduardo were all excellent. Very knowledgable, friendly and passionate about their country. This was a private customized trip---just for the two of us, but yet reasonably priced. We had never indulged into such luxury but decided to do so because Nicaragua is not yet at a stage where the infrastructure permits easy travel on your own, unless you are a member of the backpacking set. I am glad we did. Thanks Katia for all the arrangements.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank DeshiMusafeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pierre took the hassel out of planning a trip for four.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Nica Adventures is much more than just a day tour company. Pierre arranged our hotels, vehicles, drivers, and translator guides. The vehicles were modern and nice with functioning seat belts and air conditioning. Drivers arrived on time and accommodated us cheerfully. The hotels were very nice with hot showers, air conditioning, and private bathrooms. All were well-located for our purposes. Eric at Ometepe Island was an excellent guide and driver who spoke English very well. If I ever get back to Nicaragua I will definitely hire Pierre to arrange everything for me.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank AnneG0772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shreve, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

We were fortunate to book a 9-day tour at the last minute during the high season. Pierre handled all arrangements (accommodations, transportation, guides) extremely professionally and with great attendance to detail. We have to thank especially our two terrific guides, Gustavo and Eric who adjusted visits to our interests and provided a wealth of information about this amazing country. We loved every minute! When visiting Granada, we also recommend going to Zampona, a lovely little island in the Lake and a beautiful voyage to get there.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodden Town, Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
166 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Excellent, minimal complaints”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

My husband and I recently got married in Costa Rica and since we had the time, wanted to tour through Costa Rica and cross over into Nicaragua. It was a feat to find a travel company that would help us plan our trek through both countries but from the moment we found Pierre it was pretty much smooth sailing. I gave him a description of what we wanted and he took care of everything else. We had a few emailing issues midway through the process but that was only a minor hitch. All the hotels were great and all the excursions the same. The drivers were prompt and friendly though a few weren't truly "bilingual" as described but I've been told that this is harder in Nicaragua than Costa Rica since they are less touristy. Also our crossing over at the border was a bit hairy (but it is possible that there is no way to truly avoid this) but overall we were safe and well taken care of. Pierre also checked in via email throughout the trip. I would definitely use them again but maybe stick to one country.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kristina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pg011, Owner at Nicaragua Adventures - Day Tours, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Dear Physio_KB,
Thank you very much for your review and feedback about our services!
I understand you had overall a great trip and there were a few minor issues that you mentioned here. About the drivers, I checked the program we sent you, and it specifically mentioned the days there was transportation, and the days you would have a bilingual guide or driver (basically when they were activities), so, although we would love to have only English speaking drivers –and we are strongly working on that-, that was at least quite clear in our itinerary. This is still an issue here in Nicaragua, and the language is very important but it is not all; so we have found individuals who were perfectly bilingual and that we have tried, and they haven’t met our expectations in other aspects (quality of service, knowledge, reliability) we have preferred to get non bilingual individuals that we a least can trust. About 50 % of our drivers are bilingual, and we try to use drivers who “go out of their way” to make our clients happy, when they are not bilingual (this applies to the ones are bilingual too).
Now about the border, that is a constant and growing issue, as we never know what’s going to happen and what will be the “new rules of the day” invented by the government’s immigration and custom’s staff, whether in the Nicaraguan or the Costa Rican part. We had two border crossings this week and it went without a hitch, but we are never guaranteed that there won’t be a delay, although our staff/drivers do their best to give guests support, in both sides. In the Nicaraguan side they are currently rebuilding the border, and once it is completed we’ll see how it works, and in case it is still complicated and unpleasant, we will find another way to operate our trips that combine Nicaragua and Costa Rica. Indeed we are already thinking on a “B plan” in case we judge it is not doable for our particular, discerning customers (and we fully agree with that).
Again, thank you for your comments; they are really valuable for us, and details like the ones you mention contribute a lot to improve our service for tomorrow’s travelers. Your satisfaction is what matters to us, and we try to provide you a unique and hassle free experience. Pierre Gedeon, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nicaragua Adventures - Day Tours also viewed

Granada, Granada Department
Granada, Granada Department
 
Granada, Granada Department
Granada, Granada Department
 

Been to Nicaragua Adventures - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing