We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Hidden Gem”
Review of Casa Cubana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Cubana
Ranked #3 of 67 Granada B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

From the outside, you would never know the beauty and tranquility that awaits you inside. My husband and I spent 3 weeks here and enjoyed many days relaxing by the pool reading a book. The hotel is walking distance to everything in the heart of Granada and Uli was a wonderful host.

I will definitely return to Casa Cubano.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
123
37
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cranbrook, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 4 April 2014

My family and I had an amazing experience at the Casa Cubana! The hospitality, accommodations, and cuisine were excellent. The location was perfect for walking around the city. Esther and her staff were extremely friendly and knowledgeable. If you are looking for that place that is going to make your vacation that much more memorable, I would strongly recommend making the Casa Cubana your number one choice!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2014

My family was planning to stay at Casa Cubana for 2 nights then head to the island. We ended up cutting our trip short on the island to come back and stay at Esther's place because it was perfect for us. The rooms were beautiful, the breakfast was fresh and delicious, the staff was lovely and the location was close to everywhere we wanted to tour in Granada. We will be back for sure. Thanks to Esther, the staff and meeting all the great people through her.

Room Tip: I actually don't think there would have been a bad room, they were all beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Well I'm not sure where to start?....I can't say enough about Casa Cubana, the location and the staff. It is absolutely stunning inside and so well maintained. Comfortable and relaxing. I've officially travelled all of Central America and who would of thought that one of my greasiest experiences would of been in a city. Well without a doubt it was!!! Aside from how beautiful this quest house is it couldn't be more perfectly situated. Just a few blocks from the City Central and so close to so many little boutiques, bistro's, local and fine dining restaurant right around every corner. I can't say enough about Esther and her Nicaraguan counter parts. They are on the ball! Andy is one of the most genuine guys I have met and he is sure to get you wherever you need to go safe, sound and right on time. The two ladies that cook and maintain the place have it down to an art...and well if Esther is the one pointing you in the right direction for tours, transportation, eats or joining you for a glass of vino....you couldn't be in better hands!!!!! Nothing but love for Casa Cubana!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Salvador, El Salvador
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I Had the most relaxing 3 nights stays at Casa Cubana than I have had at no other hotl on my trip through Central America. Esther greeted me at the door with welcomes, showed me around my room and environs and allowed me time to settle in. The room was beautiful, spacious and well laid out with gorgeous wooden furniture. During my stay, Esther helped organize a kayaking tour, gave me great recomendations for restaurants and sights to see.
Each morning there was a different breakfast, always starting with fresh fruit , granola and yogurt and then followed by whatever Hazel and Maria had prepared for us. It was all delicious.
Thank you, Esther for your kindness. It was greatly appreciated!

Room Tip: Pool was wonderfully refreshing with lovely cool water. Just what was needed after a walk around t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GMRN2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed at Casa Cubana in February and had an absolutely wonderful time. It was our first stop before heading to the Corn Islands, and made for a great introduction to Nicaragua. Esther and her staff are incredibly friendly and knowledgeable if you want to explore the surrounding area, or fun company if you happen to be lazy bums like my partner and myself.

Esther gave us great recommendations for places to eat in town that were food-restriction friendly (no meat for my partner), and made us amazing breakfasts every morning that were also veggie friendly.

The room we stayed in (Saffron, the upstairs room) was beautiful, as are all the rooms. We felt very lucky to stay there and hope to return as soon as we can finagle our next trip to Central America!

Mrs. Magrit's is also a great option next door - Esther took us over to get a look at the property. But we felt that the Casa Cubana had a more intimate feel, and the rooms definitely had more character. If you have the chance, definitely choose Cubano on your trip to Granada.

Room Tip: The upstairs room (Saffron) has a great view of the property and of the city (somewhat). Some of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
189 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Casa Cubana is a delightfully enchanting boutique inn with lots of character within easy walking distance of central Granada. The rooms are quite spacious and nicely decorated with soft hues and colonial pieces. The veranda surrounds a lush courtyard planted with palm trees and flowering shrubs, and the dipping pool is an ideal oasis to restore oneself at the end of the day. The inn is located in a neighborhood with excellent restaurants and cafes right around the corner. Just a half block away is a very good fritanga, where a local family prepares grilled meals in front of their home and wraps them in banana leaves to go. It’s a very good option if you want to eat in one night. And if you are tired of walking, remember taxi fare is only 10 Cordobas during the day and 20 Cordobas at night per person (50 cents and $1.00, respectively), so any destination in Granada can be reached quickly and inexpensively.

Casa Cubana is an excellent value. Beyond atmosphere and ambiance, Esther’s warm personality and knowledgeable suggestions for restaurants and activities contributed greatly to our wonderful stay at Casa Cubana and Granada.

Best travels,

Craig and Donna

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnaandCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#4 of 44 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#6 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
0.5 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#2 of 44 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
0.8 mi away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#3 of 44 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Cubana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cubana

Property: Casa Cubana
Address: Calle La Libertad | 2 cuadras al norte de Iglesia Xalteva, Granada 012466, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Cubana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Cubana is a charming and elegantly restored Spanish Colonial boutique hotel in the heart of Granada, Nicaragua. We offer 4 Unique Suites priced from US $70 per night. Each suite is luxurious with a Queen bed and orthopedic mattress, large private bath, with vanity and hot water. Nutmeg Suite has a Loft bedroom and a single handcrafted daybed on the first floor for families or traveling friends. In addition to the unique suites, we also offer a wide variety of bar drinks and juices for you to enjoy. Prices include a gourmet breakfast in our open air dining area by the pool! Come join us! Wish you were here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Casa Cubana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing