We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful, peaceful place”
Review of Backpackers Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Backpackers Inn
Reviewed 1 February 2013

I love this place -- one of the best hostels I've stayed in anywhere. The courtyards are beautiful, our room was spacious. I loved the pool. Oh yes, cooked breakfast is included. If you're looking for a party hostel, this may not be it, but if you're looking for a wonderful, peaceful place with a warm, helpful staff, this it. It feels more like a hotel than a hostel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2013

Great place, friendly and very helpfull staff, this is the second time i have stayed here.

Bit pricy for most backpackers so the name is a bit missleading but for a special "treat" it is the best.

About 40 seconds walk from the main square, very clean, quiet and relaxing.

Will come back here again.

Room Tip: book in advance, we did not and ended up in the tripple room at a higher price as the last double h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spideray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

This is so much more than just a hostel, it's a boutique hotel, an small luxury hotel for sure, you may never expect what you are about to find behind the doors. Friendly staff, excellent food (dont forget to taste gallo Pinto and order a cup of unsurpassable coffee). It has a very relaxing pool and the rooms are quite large and heavenly decorated.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuisRdz94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013 via mobile

The beautiful shared spaces are what make Backpacker's Inn so special. Leafy courtyards, patios, shaded bar and television areas. The rooms have high, dark, wood-beamed ceilings and the whole place has a dignified, slightly monastic feel: a refuge from the amplified music, dust and car horns of the Nicaraguan streets. Spotlessly clean, full kitchen, firm beds and lovely art and furniture (Nicaraguan painting, ceramics and joinery is gorgeous) all over the place. This is not some ordinary hostel: this feels more like a boutique spa: for (our) 30 dollars a night. It was a bargain. Even if you're on a budget, try to stay here for at least one night and one morning lounging by the pool. It'll be worth it.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steerpike66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

This a very mixed review as I really love the hotel and the building but I think the rude and inattentive staff are letting the place down tremendously.

Overall the Backpackers Inn is a lovely hotel, it's far more of a boutique hotel than it is a backpackers. The building is lovely, the rooms although a bit empty are spotless and the swimming pool is great, the outdoor areas are beautiful and relaxing.
There is also access to a kitchen for guests wishing to cook their own meals, however the kitchen could do with some sprucing up to match the rest of the hotel.

On the down side the staff are awful, judging by the previous reviews I can't believe this is even the same staff we're talking about. The staff here rarely smile, getting a thank - you out of them is like pulling teeth and their general disposition is that they are doing you a favor.
The man who works during the evening might as well be mute, he doesn't so much as grunt when we thank him for opening the door.
Another lesser downside is the breakfast, apart from being prepared and served by an incredibly inhospitable lady its down right dismal. Try and get a discount and eat elsewhere.

We've stayed in many hotels and this surely is a very beautiful one but the staff are as important as the hotel itself. Unfortunately the staff at Backpackers Inn are making the atmosphere at this lovely hotel not such a great one, management should really do something about it!

That being said if you are looking for beautiful quaint hotel, that's well priced for Granada and you're not bothered about the staff, I would definitely recommend Backpackers Inn

Room Tip: Although a little more expensive the rooms by the swimming pool are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bdmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

I booked this Hotel for $69 dollars/night for 6 nights. As soon as I arrived it was clear to me that this was a rip-off. For starters, the hotel is really not a great location. Not surprisingly, I was their only guest. I decided to stay anyway, but was approached by the manager on the third day, and asked to pay for first two nights. I was very surprised, but have pulled my CC to pay. Manager's comment was that the system was down and that I would have to pay with cash. I checked in a nearby Hotel, and they had no problems with their system. I went back to the Backpackers Inn, payed with my CC (the system of course worked), and checked out.

I went to Colonial and paid $70 per night for a Hotel that is on the main square, with a much better service (referring to B. Inn management dishonesty in particular), and better ambiance.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zoranton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012 via mobile

We got a huge room for 40 dollars. The old colonial house is great. The staff is friendly, Altough Its better if you speak spanish. theres also a small swimmingpool. Breakfast is ok, but ask for a discount and eat it elsewhere. I really recommend the place.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jospian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Casa Barcelona
Hotel Casa Barcelona
#32 of 45 in Granada
155 reviews
0 mi away
Hostal Cultural Casa Del Poeta
0 mi away
Emily's Hostel
Emily's Hostel
#10 of 76 in Granada
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Surfing Donkey at the Lake
0 mi away
GM Granada Hostel
GM Granada Hostel
#4 of 76 in Granada
164 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#2 of 45 in Granada
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpackers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers Inn

Address: Corner of Real Jalteva St. and Barricada Ave, Granada 0000, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 76 Speciality Lodging in Granada
Price Range: £15 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Backpackers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing