We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet Retreat Not Far From Parque Central” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Mar Dulce

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel La Mar Dulce
Ranked #30 of 43 Hotels in Granada
Oneonta, New York
Level Contributor
291 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Quiet Retreat Not Far From Parque Central”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

We were pleasantly surprised...we had an overbooking at another hotel for a group in Granada and that hotel arranged for us to stay at the Mar Dulce. It is conveniently located - a nice, safe walk to the center of town and away from all the noise of that area. The neighborhood is quiet and full of families sitting out on their front steps - everyone greeted us kindly...was a switch from the other hotels that are in the busyness of the center. It is also 4 blocks from La Colonia and La Union supermarkets, so if you need anything, you won't have to travel far to replenish supplies like bottled water and snacks, which can be expensive for groups if bought in a tienda.

The rooms are nice and clean...hot water, AC and the pool area is beautiful.

We would definitely bring groups there again and we strongly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RLAMyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    27
    3
    0
    4
See reviews for
20
43
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

This hotel is clean, quiet, and conveniently located to the central part of town. An easy walk to restaurants, the market, and attractions you would hope to see in Granada. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. They were attentative to our needs and quick to respond. They coordinated all of our day trips for us and made our trip very enjoyable. I would definitely stay here again and recommend this spot to anyone considering making there way down to Granada.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madison, wi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights (two couples). The hotel picked us up from the airport, helped arrange tours in the area for the two days we were visiting in Granada and organized our drive back to the airport. The staff truly made the experience memorable - they were always smiling, very accommodating, very helpful and were always checking in with us to see if they can help makes our experience even better. The room was very spacious (even though we shared one room with double beds!) and the pool was very clean and enjoyable. We spent two nights swimming In the pool, enjoying a few cuba libres from the bar after long days of hiking/exploring the city - a perfect way to unwind! The location isn't in that bad of an area as it is in a neighborhood and we felt completely safe walking to and from the hotel to the "downtown" area in the daytime and evening. Breakfast was very good (Nicaragua style) and the coffee was delicious!! Hands down - this hotel was a great bargain for how lovely the staff were and how clean and comfy our rooms were (AC in the room!).

Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank pjnadski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

We stayed at Hotel La Mar Dulce and loved it. The room was great...modern, clean and the AC was cold. The breakfast that came with room was tasty. The surrounding neighborhood is a bit sketchy but the hotel is beautiful and the pool was great. It has a cool little waterfall and a patio bar. It was such a great value! We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lewes
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

I agree with the other reviews and enjoyed our 2 night stay as part of the Explore group to Central America.... but the location is not very nice - surrounded by rubbish and a 20 minute walk through fairly rough area to get to the main square.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 1st floor as rooms on ground have windows only looking out onto interior po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gardencottages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

What a gem of a hotel! Our room was spacious with comfortable beds, great bathroom, and very clean.The rooms are super spacious and super clean, bed very comfortable. The breakfast was very excellent (Nicaraguan typical)! The very best part of this hotel is the staff. They go the extra mile to help you, always smile and attentive. The hotel staff is wonderful and Jaime at Guest Relations was extremely helpful. This hotel is wonderful...

Hope to see u soon!

Room Tip: Double room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

If you are looking for a good hotel in Granada I should say: go to La Mar Dulce. There are really nice rooms, it is clean, there is a fan and an airco in the rooms. By the way: just using the fan is sufficient. After strolling through town, it is refreshing to have a swim in the pool and a drink in the bar afterwards. Last but certainly not least: the staf is really very friendly , helpful and attentive. Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Xalteva
Hotel Xalteva
#11 of 43 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Bocona
Hotel La Bocona
#27 of 43 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Dario
Hotel Dario
#15 of 43 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Granada
Hotel Granada
#20 of 43 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cordoba Granada
Hotel Cordoba Granada
#39 of 43 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#6 of 43 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Mar Dulce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Mar Dulce

Property: Hotel La Mar Dulce
Address: Calle La Islita. Del supermercado La Colonia 3 cuadras al Sur 1/2 Oeste, Granada 0505, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 43 Hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Mar Dulce 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is located at the entrance of our colonial city, La Gran Sultana, on La Islita street, from Supermarket La Colonia 3 blocks south.. The hotel gets with 16 modern rooms, entirely with everything, including a Suite, for you pleasure and satisfaction. This way your enjoy your stay with us.Hotel La Mar Dulce holds exclusive swimming pool for our guests and their families and friends. Also national drinks, juice, beer and rum of your preference in our bar.Bellow you will find all amenities in our rooms;• Swimming pool• Internet (WiFi - Free)• Hot Water• Air conditioning / ceiling fan• TV cable• Safe deposit box (free)• Breakfast • Bar service• Laundry service• Turistic info• Transfer - Tours• Transportation from /to the airport• National & international tickets• Laptop for rent with access Wifi• Cyber café (Free)• National & international calls/fax service (with IP technology)• LED Lighting• Security cameras• Security 24 hrs.• We accept credit cards ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel La Mar Dulce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing