We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B+B in Granada”
Review of Hotel La Mar Dulce

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel La Mar Dulce
Ranked #33 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Reviewed 29 January 2014

This is great property with a friendly staff some of whom speak English. It is about a 15 minute walk from town but taxis are cheap and plentiful. The rooms are extremely well lighted, they have several English channels on the flat screen TV and the breakfast is made to order and very good.
They do not have a restaurant for other meals but there are several nearby and a supermarket three blocks away.

Room Tip: There is no elevator so a downstairs room is more convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank srscmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2014

First of all, let me start by saying that I arrived at the hotel 10 minutes before 11 p.m.. The hotel is in the middle of a horrible neighborhood far away from the Central Park, very dangerous neighborhood!. The hotel lights were completely turned off, the front desk personnel leaves at 11 pm and you are left with a man who guards the hotel. The room was dirty, the sheets were stained in red, the toilet was sprayed by urine, the floor was dirty. I was then moved to another room, the sheets were not stained but the room was dirty. There is a phone in the room but if you want to make a phone call you have to call the front desk to make the call for you, I had to keep on going to the front desk where this man, who was the security guard tried to help me but could not do anything about the whole situation. I gave up and had to activate my cellular phone with AT&T even though I had brought another cell phone that had magic jack in order to be able to call with internet but the WI-FI was not working. I left the hotel before 7 am, I arranged to have a driver pick me up from this hotel to take me to another hotel where I received 7 star treatment. I was very surprised to see that the person who prepares the breakfast is the front desk clerk! I have never in my life been so scared as the doors to the hotel are locked at midnight with a huge lock and you are practically in jail without phone! I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. I had paid for 2 nights in advance and the General Manager, Jaime Masis would not refund my money and after calling him today, he insulted me and said I had no education and I was hysterical.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Ivania C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaMarDulce H, Director General at Hotel La Mar Dulce, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014
Google Translation

Estimada Sra. Ivania Castillo Gracias por elegir Hotel La Mar Dulce para su reciente estancia en Granada!

Estimada Sra. Castillo lamentamos cualquier molestia ocasionada durante su estadia, nuestra prioridad es la atención esmerada hacia nuestros clientes, asegurándoles una placentera estadia durante su visita.

Durante su estadia fuimos informado por el personal de turno, que usted ocasiono molestia y enojo entre los clientes que también estaban alojados con nosotros, al estar hablando con voz alterada después de las 11.00pm , esto innecesariamente, ya que para pedir una llamada bastaba con hacérselo a saber al personal de turno. Varios clientes se molestaron con nosotros por lo sucedido esa noche. Cabe señalar que uno de los clientes que se quejó, incluso discutió con usted por que llego ofendiendo a todos en el hotel.

Algo que nos ha caracterizado siempre es la LIMPIEZA, lo cual puede verlo en las calificaciones de los clientes que han escrito en nuestro perfil.

Recientemente nos han galardonado con el premio “Certificado de Excelencia 2013” que avalan todos los comentarios y calificaciones de nuestros clientes.

Referente al reembolso, se le estara depositando el equivalente a la noche que pago y no hizo uso, ya que la primera noche usted durmió en el hotel.

A pesar de que nunca nos hemos visto en ninguna situación como la descrita por usted en ninguno de nuestros hoteles que operamos, estamos siempre abiertos a críticas constructivas que nos permitan seguir mejorando la calidad de nuestros servicios.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

Nice place, the front desk staff on first night was lovely, second night not so much. She wasn't rude but also not warm or friendly or helpful. The hotel is also not exactly central. Bit noisy - maybe the pool? Couldn't really sleep soundly. Will stay closer to the city next time.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Cdn_flipflops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Quiet little place of the beaten path. Perfect for relaxing and escaping the noice sounds of the Calzada (AKA gringolandia). The rooms are nice, clean and conferable, the price just right. My girlfriend and I where going to stay for a night but ended up staying for two. Only down side is the location, around the corner there was a group of local mens who where drinking and talking obscenities to my girlfriend, but thats nit the hotel fault, sense thats a normal scene in this city. Don't recommend walking the near by streets after 9pm b/c is dangerous, fault of the local police, sense they concentrate their force in gringolandia. Otherwise, will stay here again on our next visit.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Manny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights over the New Year period. There were three of us and we had 2 beds in room number 5. The room was very nice with a minibar fridge, quiet and effective AC, and a safe. The water was hot, although sometime you had to wait a bit. There was a TV also although we didn't spend much time watching it. Items from the minibar were promptly replaced the next day, and they kept accurate count to settle with the final bill.

Breakfast was on the patio around the pool and offered a choice of 3 standard plates, cooked to order based on your choice the night before. The staff made changes to meet the desires of two of us who only wanted eggs and fruit. This took a few tries because of the language difference. I'm slowly trying to learn a little more Spanish but somehow things sometimes get lost in the conversation. No worries, and the staff get an A for trying and lots of smiles. Personally I thought the pancackes with fruit was a very good meal.

We had no troubles or worries with the 10 minute walk to the central square, including late at night. The locals all sit outside their homes to take the evening air and most were very friendly and would return a greeting with a smile and a word. There were 3 young men who sat outside one place who perhaps looked a little scary sitting there drinking beer but they were just hams at heart looking for an audience. They made lots of poses after they convinced me to take their picture. When you come back later in the evening the front door is closed but the night watchman outside opens up with a smile.

The pool was a nice place to cool off and relax in the hot afternoons. WiFi worked in the room (barely) but was fine in the pool area just outside the door and even better at the entrance.

We came back to the hotel just before midnight on New Year's Eve. The locals had been shooting off firecrackers and fireworks since before noon. It seems everyone had them. Just before midnight the whole city went up. Everywhere you looked there were fireworks shooting up, and we scurried up to the second floor balcony to watch. My daughter said it was like popcorn, where at first just a few kernels pop, and then everything seems to go off all at once. We loved it!

When we left I asked how many staff worked there and was told 8. I left a modest tip for all to share and from the reaction this doesn't happen too often. Really all the staff deserved it for such great service. And the smiles alone would have been enough to justify doing this.

We would definitely return to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms looked like a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights over the new year celebrations.Very interesting at its best.The hotel and staff were excellent.Breakfast included.Pool and atmosphere were very nice.Great place to stay just far enough away to be a little quieter yet close enough to walk to the center.

Room Tip: We had room 17 .had balcony facing pool on second floor and standing room only balcony facing the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bucklake1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel and were very happy. The staff and service is superb and the breakfast they serve is hearty. You get a choice of American (yummy pancakes & fruit) Traditional (gallo pinto, eggs, cheese & tortilla) or Continental (toast & fruit).

When we arrived there was a snafu with our room. We were supposed to have two beds, but only had one. We were exhausted when we arrived and I was pretty upset. The receptionist offered to split us up into two rooms, but we chose not to. In the end they placed an extra mattress on the floor and moved us to a bigger room the next day. While unpacking they called us down to speak to the manager. He was very apologetic about the mistake and offered us free beverages and even a free ride down into town the next day. I appreciated the personal apology and felt he was trying to make us happy.

The service at the hotel is great. Everyone is nice, friendly and courteous. You can see the workers take good care of the hotel because it's very clean and kept up nicely. The pool area is small, but it's a pool large enough to cool down. There's only one lounge chair and a couple of other smaller chairs in the area.

The location of the hotel is in the middle of a neighborhood away from the center. I didn't feel safe walking through the neighborhood at night into town or back to the hotel. However, the hotel is a quick taxi ride costing about $2 from the center, but taxi service from the hotel only starts at 7pm which is disappointing if you want to leave between 5-7 pm since it gets dark around 5.

The rooms are spacious and beds are decent. The rooms have AC as well as a fan. However, my biggest issue was that the WiFi wasn't available in the rooms. You had to go out into the outdoor area to get it. Not a big deal, but it would have been nice to have.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank savvytraveler2010940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Real La Merced
Hotel Real La Merced
#11 of 45 in Granada
132 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel El Maltese
Hotel El Maltese
#27 of 45 in Granada
43 reviews
0.7 mi away
Paraiso Granada Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa La Merced
Casa La Merced
#25 of 45 in Granada
46 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cordoba Granada
Hotel Cordoba Granada
#40 of 45 in Granada
16 reviews
0.5 mi away
Il Padrino Hotel
Il Padrino Hotel
#16 of 45 in Granada
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Mar Dulce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Mar Dulce

Address: Calle La Islita. Del supermercado La Colonia 3 cuadras al Sur 1/2 Oeste, Granada 0505, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Price Range: £52 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Mar Dulce 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is located at the entrance of our colonial city, La Gran Sultana, on La Islita street, from Supermarket La Colonia 3 blocks south.. The hotel gets with 16 modern rooms, entirely with everything, including a Suite, for you pleasure and satisfaction. This way your enjoy your stay with us.Hotel La Mar Dulce holds exclusive swimming pool for our guests and their families and friends. Also national drinks, juice, beer and rum of your preference in our bar.Bellow you will find all amenities in our rooms;• Swimming pool• Internet (WiFi - Free)• Hot Water• Air conditioning / ceiling fan• TV cable• Safe deposit box (free)• Breakfast • Bar service• Laundry service• Turistic info• Transfer - Tours• Transportation from /to the airport• National & international tickets• Laptop for rent with access Wifi• Cyber café (Free)• National & international calls/fax service (with IP technology)• LED Lighting• Security cameras• Security 24 hrs.• We accept credit cards ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel La Mar Dulce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing