We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in Granada”
Review of Hotel La Mar Dulce

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel La Mar Dulce
Ranked #31 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Lovely spot a short walk from the centre of town. Clean, nicely appointed rooms. Lovely pool and bar, tasty breakfasts and quiet for a city hotel.

The staff are pleasant and take care of any issues/requests promptly.

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel naturally will experience more street noise. The side and back room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2014

This is the PERFECT place to stay in Granda. Ten minute walk to the downtown, and just secluded enough to be quiet. The staff is great and the breakfasts are fun. The pool is nice and the room was beautiful. Highest possible recommendation!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank delfinparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

We (the girlfriends) were a little hesitant because of 1 really bad review but this hotel was truly great. The staff have us some free drinks and played music while we hung out outside by the pool. We never walked outside late at night, but we would take a 10 min walk to downtown during the day and cab home at night. The cab was only $1 per person and even though there was 6 of us, the cabbies would fit all of us in (and we didn't barter with the cabbies) so I'm sure we could have gotten a cheaper deal.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Ben T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

After much research about Granada my wife and I decided on Hotel Lar Mar Dulce mainly due to the relatively low price. After staying here I would highly recommend it to anyone.

First off for most is the location. I'd say the walk is 5-10 minutes to Parque Central depending on how quickly you move along. I wouldn't call the neighborhood "scary" any more than I'd call Granada itself "scary." We walked daily to other parts of the city and never felt threatened. At night we took literally a $1 cab ride back to the hotel from the Park. Either way you're fine.

The pool was one of the most well-maintained I've come across in Central America. It was not the biggest or the fanciest but possibly the cleanest. We watched maintenance fastidiously clean it every day while we had breakfast. I also noticed that whenever anyone got in the pool they immediately turned on the filter.

We stayed in a room with a double bed and balcony. The balcony is nothing spectacular, basically double-doors that open onto the street for extra air and maybe a view. The room itself was extremely clean and well-maintained. As an added bonus housekeeping actually changed out our used glasses when we had them. You might think this is a big deal but I've stayed in much nicer places in Central America where the maids just leave the dirties behind. Also nice in the room is the air conditioning and cable tv. Both worked flawlessly.

Included in our rate was daily breakfast. I had the Americano (pancakes and fruit) and my wife had the Typical (eggs, rice and beans, and plantains). Also included were orange juice and coffee. Everything about the breakfast was very nice; service, food quality, etc.

What I look for in hotels more than anything are the details. It doesn't matter if it's a 2 star property or a 5 star. Is it clean? Are the facilities well-maintained? Is the service good? Hotel La Mar Dulce succeeds on these issues and then some. It's really nice to go to a hotel where you can tell the owners/managers actually care about the guest experience. Some hotels/resorts get too caught up in providing a "luxury experience", so much to the point where they forget just to keep things clean in and in working condition. At La Mar Dulce they provide everything you need/want at a very reasonable cost. I'd stay there again without hesitation.

Room Tip: You might need to let the water run a little while for the hot water to start. It's definitely t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

This is great property with a friendly staff some of whom speak English. It is about a 15 minute walk from town but taxis are cheap and plentiful. The rooms are extremely well lighted, they have several English channels on the flat screen TV and the breakfast is made to order and very good.
They do not have a restaurant for other meals but there are several nearby and a supermarket three blocks away.

Room Tip: There is no elevator so a downstairs room is more convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank srscmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

First of all, let me start by saying that I arrived at the hotel 10 minutes before 11 p.m.. The hotel is in the middle of a horrible neighborhood far away from the Central Park, very dangerous neighborhood!. The hotel lights were completely turned off, the front desk personnel leaves at 11 pm and you are left with a man who guards the hotel. The room was dirty, the sheets were stained in red, the toilet was sprayed by urine, the floor was dirty. I was then moved to another room, the sheets were not stained but the room was dirty. There is a phone in the room but if you want to make a phone call you have to call the front desk to make the call for you, I had to keep on going to the front desk where this man, who was the security guard tried to help me but could not do anything about the whole situation. I gave up and had to activate my cellular phone with AT&T even though I had brought another cell phone that had magic jack in order to be able to call with internet but the WI-FI was not working. I left the hotel before 7 am, I arranged to have a driver pick me up from this hotel to take me to another hotel where I received 7 star treatment. I was very surprised to see that the person who prepares the breakfast is the front desk clerk! I have never in my life been so scared as the doors to the hotel are locked at midnight with a huge lock and you are practically in jail without phone! I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. I had paid for 2 nights in advance and the General Manager, Jaime Masis would not refund my money and after calling him today, he insulted me and said I had no education and I was hysterical.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Ivania C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaMarDulce H, Director General at Hotel La Mar Dulce, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014
Google Translation

Estimada Sra. Ivania Castillo Gracias por elegir Hotel La Mar Dulce para su reciente estancia en Granada!

Estimada Sra. Castillo lamentamos cualquier molestia ocasionada durante su estadia, nuestra prioridad es la atención esmerada hacia nuestros clientes, asegurándoles una placentera estadia durante su visita.

Durante su estadia fuimos informado por el personal de turno, que usted ocasiono molestia y enojo entre los clientes que también estaban alojados con nosotros, al estar hablando con voz alterada después de las 11.00pm , esto innecesariamente, ya que para pedir una llamada bastaba con hacérselo a saber al personal de turno. Varios clientes se molestaron con nosotros por lo sucedido esa noche. Cabe señalar que uno de los clientes que se quejó, incluso discutió con usted por que llego ofendiendo a todos en el hotel.

Algo que nos ha caracterizado siempre es la LIMPIEZA, lo cual puede verlo en las calificaciones de los clientes que han escrito en nuestro perfil.

Recientemente nos han galardonado con el premio “Certificado de Excelencia 2013” que avalan todos los comentarios y calificaciones de nuestros clientes.

Referente al reembolso, se le estara depositando el equivalente a la noche que pago y no hizo uso, ya que la primera noche usted durmió en el hotel.

A pesar de que nunca nos hemos visto en ninguna situación como la descrita por usted en ninguno de nuestros hoteles que operamos, estamos siempre abiertos a críticas constructivas que nos permitan seguir mejorando la calidad de nuestros servicios.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

Nice place, the front desk staff on first night was lovely, second night not so much. She wasn't rude but also not warm or friendly or helpful. The hotel is also not exactly central. Bit noisy - maybe the pool? Couldn't really sleep soundly. Will stay closer to the city next time.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Cdn_flipflops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Cordoba Granada
Hotel Cordoba Granada
#41 of 45 in Granada
16 reviews
0 mi away
Mansion de Chocolate
Mansion de Chocolate
#23 of 45 in Granada
203 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Xalteva
Hotel Xalteva
#13 of 45 in Granada
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Real La Merced
Hotel Real La Merced
#11 of 45 in Granada
137 reviews
0 mi away
Paraiso Granada Condominiums
0 mi away
Casa La Merced
Casa La Merced
#27 of 45 in Granada
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Mar Dulce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Mar Dulce

Address: Calle La Islita. Del supermercado La Colonia 3 cuadras al Sur 1/2 Oeste, Granada 0505, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Price Range: £51 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Mar Dulce 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is located at the entrance of our colonial city, La Gran Sultana, on La Islita street, from Supermarket La Colonia 3 blocks south.. The hotel gets with 16 modern rooms, entirely with everything, including a Suite, for you pleasure and satisfaction. This way your enjoy your stay with us.Hotel La Mar Dulce holds exclusive swimming pool for our guests and their families and friends. Also national drinks, juice, beer and rum of your preference in our bar.Bellow you will find all amenities in our rooms;• Swimming pool• Internet (WiFi - Free)• Hot Water• Air conditioning / ceiling fan• TV cable• Safe deposit box (free)• Breakfast • Bar service• Laundry service• Turistic info• Transfer - Tours• Transportation from /to the airport• National & international tickets• Laptop for rent with access Wifi• Cyber café (Free)• National & international calls/fax service (with IP technology)• LED Lighting• Security cameras• Security 24 hrs.• We accept credit cards ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel La Mar Dulce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing