We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of Hotel La Mar Dulce

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel La Mar Dulce
Ranked #33 of 43 Hotels in Granada
Indian Trail, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This little place is off the beaten path which is nice in town that can get loud. We had a team stay here for three nights. While the beds are not the softest, and hot water is not guaranteed, the overall stay was well worth it. I will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    28
    3
    0
    4
See reviews for
20
44
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at Hotel La Mar Dulce in April and fell in love with Granada during our stay. The rooms are clean, air conditioned and very comfortable. The prices are very reasonable for Granada ...not the highest or the lowest ... definitely a great value!

The staff and manager of this hotel were extremely wonderful and helpful and made you feel very welcomed. The hotel was nice and clean and had a wonderful pool.

We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a great place to stay in Granada.

Room Tip: Room overlooks the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

As soon as we arrived they gave us the suite, very simple room but it was raining inside from the window on the bed so the bedding was really dirty. We changed room to number 8, there the sink was broken and the water was coming down all over in the floor, couldn't even walk there and no hot water in the shower! Breakfast was the terrible part of everything, they asked us the day before what we wanted to eat, we said a normal breakfast, some toasts with jam, some fruit like pineapple melon bananas, here there's a lot of fruit and it's really cheap, then some cereals with milk, we also set a time for it at 7.30. Well at that time we were there and nothing was ready, a girl served us but in a rude way asking everything what we wanted again so we repeated everything and the fruit was a banana and some pieces of watermelon, everything was improvised! worst breakfast ever! The staff was polite but there were no discount for all this, had to pay full price. My advise is to go in another hotel choosing carefully!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Lovely spot a short walk from the centre of town. Clean, nicely appointed rooms. Lovely pool and bar, tasty breakfasts and quiet for a city hotel.

The staff are pleasant and take care of any issues/requests promptly.

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel naturally will experience more street noise. The side and back room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

This is the PERFECT place to stay in Granda. Ten minute walk to the downtown, and just secluded enough to be quiet. The staff is great and the breakfasts are fun. The pool is nice and the room was beautiful. Highest possible recommendation!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank delfinparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Catharines, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

We (the girlfriends) were a little hesitant because of 1 really bad review but this hotel was truly great. The staff have us some free drinks and played music while we hung out outside by the pool. We never walked outside late at night, but we would take a 10 min walk to downtown during the day and cab home at night. The cab was only $1 per person and even though there was 6 of us, the cabbies would fit all of us in (and we didn't barter with the cabbies) so I'm sure we could have gotten a cheaper deal.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

After much research about Granada my wife and I decided on Hotel Lar Mar Dulce mainly due to the relatively low price. After staying here I would highly recommend it to anyone.

First off for most is the location. I'd say the walk is 5-10 minutes to Parque Central depending on how quickly you move along. I wouldn't call the neighborhood "scary" any more than I'd call Granada itself "scary." We walked daily to other parts of the city and never felt threatened. At night we took literally a $1 cab ride back to the hotel from the Park. Either way you're fine.

The pool was one of the most well-maintained I've come across in Central America. It was not the biggest or the fanciest but possibly the cleanest. We watched maintenance fastidiously clean it every day while we had breakfast. I also noticed that whenever anyone got in the pool they immediately turned on the filter.

We stayed in a room with a double bed and balcony. The balcony is nothing spectacular, basically double-doors that open onto the street for extra air and maybe a view. The room itself was extremely clean and well-maintained. As an added bonus housekeeping actually changed out our used glasses when we had them. You might think this is a big deal but I've stayed in much nicer places in Central America where the maids just leave the dirties behind. Also nice in the room is the air conditioning and cable tv. Both worked flawlessly.

Included in our rate was daily breakfast. I had the Americano (pancakes and fruit) and my wife had the Typical (eggs, rice and beans, and plantains). Also included were orange juice and coffee. Everything about the breakfast was very nice; service, food quality, etc.

What I look for in hotels more than anything are the details. It doesn't matter if it's a 2 star property or a 5 star. Is it clean? Are the facilities well-maintained? Is the service good? Hotel La Mar Dulce succeeds on these issues and then some. It's really nice to go to a hotel where you can tell the owners/managers actually care about the guest experience. Some hotels/resorts get too caught up in providing a "luxury experience", so much to the point where they forget just to keep things clean in and in working condition. At La Mar Dulce they provide everything you need/want at a very reasonable cost. I'd stay there again without hesitation.

Room Tip: You might need to let the water run a little while for the hot water to start. It's definitely t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
1.2 mi away
La Fortaleza Granada Resort
0.5 mi away
Il Padrino Hotel
Il Padrino Hotel
#17 of 43 in Granada
184 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Pergola
Hotel La Pergola
#26 of 43 in Granada
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Real La Merced
Hotel Real La Merced
#11 of 43 in Granada
127 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Xalteva
Hotel Xalteva
#12 of 43 in Granada
254 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa La Merced
Casa La Merced
#25 of 43 in Granada
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Mar Dulce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Mar Dulce

Property: Hotel La Mar Dulce
Address: Calle La Islita. Del supermercado La Colonia 3 cuadras al Sur 1/2 Oeste, Granada 0505, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 43 Hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Mar Dulce 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is located at the entrance of our colonial city, La Gran Sultana, on La Islita street, from Supermarket La Colonia 3 blocks south.. The hotel gets with 16 modern rooms, entirely with everything, including a Suite, for you pleasure and satisfaction. This way your enjoy your stay with us.Hotel La Mar Dulce holds exclusive swimming pool for our guests and their families and friends. Also national drinks, juice, beer and rum of your preference in our bar.Bellow you will find all amenities in our rooms;• Swimming pool• Internet (WiFi - Free)• Hot Water• Air conditioning / ceiling fan• TV cable• Safe deposit box (free)• Breakfast • Bar service• Laundry service• Turistic info• Transfer - Tours• Transportation from /to the airport• National & international tickets• Laptop for rent with access Wifi• Cyber café (Free)• National & international calls/fax service (with IP technology)• LED Lighting• Security cameras• Security 24 hrs.• We accept credit cards ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel La Mar Dulce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing