We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very warm welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Il Padrino Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Il Padrino Hotel
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Oak Park, IL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Very warm welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

Staying at Il Padrino was like staying with friends. Stephan and Toby were great hosts. They even invited us to the Christmas Eve dinner. They also have great pets! the rooms are really nice with ceiling fans that keep the room cool. Toby is also a great artist and his paintings are around the entire hotel. they were also great in helping us arrange transport around Granada. This was terrific value for money. We would go there again just so we can hang out with the hosts. It is also a very short walk to the main square and attractions.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrNetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    32
    13
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
79
39
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

Stephen and his son Toby (owners) helped us with directions and hiring a taxi at a lower than advertised rate from Managua to Granada before we even stayed at the hotel! The hotel is beautiful and they take very good care of the garden! It is very clean, and they even had our room ready at 9am! We didn't eat here but whatever Stephen was cooking smelt really really good! And Toby makes great coffee! Great find and a Granada gem!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HanaAaliya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

Wonderful hotel, perfect location and the hosts are fantastic! Rooms are very modern and clean at a very reasonable price. Really enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngeBroughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

I stayed here early November 2011. Excellent location for walking the city but in a quiet area. Son of owner (in charge at time of visit) was really helpful and made everybody feel welcome. My first visit to Nicaragua so did not know what to expect. Brilliant value!

Room Tip: All rooms excellent....in process of renovating in one area when I visited.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philjo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights and it was perfect. The room was really spacious, bathroom good and fan brilliant! Stephen and Toby were brilliant hosts - really helpful, going out of their way to help us with all our plans and really informative about the local area and all it offers for tourists. The hotel is located in perfect place, short stroll to the centre and close to some lovely places to eat, particularly the Garden Cafe. The area was safe and hotel lovely and clean. Would definitely stay again if we are to return to Granada.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicki g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

Wonderful father and son hosts will make your stay in Granada. This hotel is in a great part of town. The rooms are sophisticated at great value. A cleaner comes every day and when we were here (for a week in November) she did our laundry for us at a very reasonable price. The owner, Stephen, was taking a trip to his friends house on the coast the weekend we were due to leave so he took us with him on an unforgetable adventure and dropped us at San Juan del Sur the next day. He was a fantastically warm and accommodating host who really went above and beyond. Don't miss Il Padrino.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tootdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

Great host! The rooms are clean and modern with fan (special fans that were equilly good as the AC) . The hotel is located in the center. We arrived and immediately we were offered a drink on the house. Toby was great, he took us to a place where we got mojitos at a good price and gave us a lot of information about the city. He arrange transport to the laguna. Perfect stay, definately recommendable! Since we are not really fond of animals, the presence of the dog was a little bit dirty sometimes, but it is was a nice dog!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yora87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#6 of 43 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Terrasol
Hotel Terrasol
#13 of 43 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#2 of 43 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 43 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Casa Barcelona
Hotel Casa Barcelona
#29 of 43 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Padrino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Padrino Hotel

Property: Il Padrino Hotel
Address: Calle Miguel Cervantes | 1.5 blocks North from San Francisco Church, in front of Sports Gym, Granada 10000, Nicaragua (Formerly Hotel la Mesa del Padrino)
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family-run hotel, in the centre of Granada, close to the main entertainment area in a very secure part of town. The rooms are located at the back of the building overlooking a tropical garden (an ongoing project). The hotel is across the street of a fitness centre, free for our guests. Nearly all Granada's main attractions are within easy walking distance. We can arrange transport to and from the hotel from anywhere in Nicaragua at very reasonable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Il Padrino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing