We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay, excellent value for money, great hosts”
Review of Il Padrino Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Il Padrino Hotel
Ranked #15 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Me and my brother stayed one night in Il Padrino in September. The price/quality ratio of rooms is amazing and the owner and his son went well beyond their "duty" helping us with information and even gave us a lift to the harbor in order for us to catch a ferry to ometepe.

For allergic people the animals (a cat and a dog and supposedly another cat we never saw) can be a problem, but otherwise they are very friendly and a plus to the atmosphere of the place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jyaalto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2012

A friend and I stayed at Il Padrino for several days before my wedding and we couldn't have chosen a better place. The rooms are incredibly big for $35 and really well put together: big artworks above the beds, built-in wardrobes and well-appointed en-suite bathrooms. The fans are more than enough to keep you cool and keep the bugs away.

There's a little kitchen at the back where you can cook and keep things cool, a nice garden and a large common area at the front. The hosts are very welcoming, helpful and very thoughtful - they ordered us a great bouquet on the wedding day!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
Thank hung_up_the_backpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We stayed here a couple of times and enjoyed it. The rooms are lovely with these beautiful french doors that open onto a garden, lovely painting on the wall. It is defiantly a good deal for the $35 / night we paid. While there isn't hot water or a pool, you can't expect too much for such a cheep price. We did not want a youth hostel with all the business and noise...... the rooms were big, pleasant, it was quiet- and the owner Stephan took the time to sit and share a meal with us. very friendly, and we loved hearing about his experiences in Nicaragua.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snpOmetepe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We stayed with Toby for 5 nights in March/April and really enjoyed our stay. Toby was a great host. He arranged to have us picked up and dropped off in Managua as well as organized a ride to and from the Market in Masaya. The location was excellent! Only a couple blocks to Central Park and most of the cathedrals. The rooms were clean and the courtyard is gorgeous! Great value. No AC but the fan was excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ToddL71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Friendly informative service. great location. only thing i could i could see people not enjoying is the fact that there is no ac, but with the fan we were fine.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

First of all, rooms are decorated beautifully- the fan works really well, I never got hot. I left my door open during the night and had no issue with bugs. It's quiet and peaceful. Steven and Toby, the owners, (father and son) are wonderful. I have traveled all over the world and this is still my favorite guesthouse I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emilyanne87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012 via mobile

We spent 3 nights here and really enjoyed it!Very quiet and clean!
Stephen and Toby were great hosts and we really enjoyed having a beer or two with them!They really made us feel at home - Thank You!
Rooms are very comfortable,they dont have ac but they have powerful ceiling fans!
Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cday84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#5 of 45 in Granada
708 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel El Maltese
Hotel El Maltese
#27 of 45 in Granada
43 reviews
0.7 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Casa Barcelona
#30 of 45 in Granada
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Maharaja Boutique
Hotel Maharaja Boutique
#26 of 45 in Granada
45 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#1 of 45 in Granada
671 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 45 in Granada
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Padrino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Padrino Hotel

Address: Calle Miguel Cervantes | 1.5 blocks North from San Francisco Church, in front of Sports Gym, Granada 10000, Nicaragua (Formerly Hotel la Mesa del Padrino)
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Price Range: £31 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Il Padrino Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family-run hotel, in the centre of Granada, close to the main entertainment area in a very secure part of town. The rooms are located at the back of the building overlooking a tropical garden (an ongoing project). The hotel is across the street of a fitness centre, free for our guests. Nearly all Granada's main attractions are within easy walking distance. We can arrange transport to and from the hotel from anywhere in Nicaragua at very reasonable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Il Padrino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing