We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!!”
Review of Il Padrino Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Il Padrino Hotel
Ranked #15 of 43 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Outstanding!!”
Reviewed 13 March 2013 via mobile

I went for two nights and stayed for a week. Much of this was due to the great accomodation I had at Il Padrino. My host for the week was Dan, who was filling in for his brother who normally runs the place. From the start Dan made me feel right at home. The hotel is only a 3 minute walk from the centre. Rooms are newly refurbished and very comfortable. There is no a/c but it didn't matter as the overhead fan was more than sufficient. The place is spotless and there are pleanty of places to chill if that's what you want. During my 2 month vacation I have stayed in varying accomodation from low end to a little pricey but for me this ticked all the boxes :-
Location ✅
Hospitality✅
Comfort✅
Cleanliness✅
Value✅

I look forward to my return.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barsiewars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    32
    13
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
82
40
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Pablo and Daniel were incredibly generous and helpful, along with the rest of the staff. We can’t wait to go back! My sister and I loved this space, we returned 2 times in our 2 week travel through Nicaragua! It’s very clean, easy and quiet. Very relaxing experience, and located so close to the center. They have the most comfortable beds and cable in your room. Great showers and a beautiful décor. I would highly recommend staying here during your visit to this amazing city!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Golnesa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, NY
1 review
Reviewed 30 December 2012

This hostel was clean, quiet and safe. What more could you ask for in Nicaragua. I stayed here 2 night and really enjoyed Il Padrino. The owners are always there to give advice about the city of Granada and the rooms are cleaned daily. The ceiling fan did a perfect job keeping my room cool at night. I would absolutely recommend this place to anyone visiting Granada.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MustangOrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2012

A nice place and a good value...I would stay here again!
Large room, firm mattress, nice bathroom, powerful fan
My only complaint...no windows. In order to get fresh air you need to open the french entry doors that guests pass by.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Selectiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

Great location near the SF Convento in the center of Granada. Recently remodeled and the rooms are really nice especially for $35/night. There are french doors that open onto a nice small courtyard. We used the kitchen which is a great way to save money by cooking your own food. It was very clean and the high power fans were helpful in keeping us cool. Would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tmo111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights last summer. We were the only guests in the hotel. We enjoyed the pretty garden and the spacious and tastefully decorated room. Everything was very clean. It's only a couple of minutes by foot to all the restaurants, bars and main sites.
The encounter with the owner was a bit strange, though. We arrived late at night from the aiport in Managua. Although we had booked the room in advance, nobody answered the door. This is something you don't want when you have just arrived in a country after a long flight and you are standing in a quiet, dark street in an unfamiliar city. It was only after fifteen minutes of constantly ringing the bell and banging on the door that the owner appeared and let us in. He seemed to be either very sleepy or very drunk... Luckily, during the rest of our stay he was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Domovla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ciudad Colon, Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Me and my brother stayed one night in Il Padrino in September. The price/quality ratio of rooms is amazing and the owner and his son went well beyond their "duty" helping us with information and even gave us a lift to the harbor in order for us to catch a ferry to ometepe.

For allergic people the animals (a cat and a dog and supposedly another cat we never saw) can be a problem, but otherwise they are very friendly and a plus to the atmosphere of the place.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jyaalto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#5 of 43 in Granada
696 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 43 in Granada
1,025 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Casa Barcelona
Hotel Casa Barcelona
#31 of 43 in Granada
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel El Maltese
Hotel El Maltese
#27 of 43 in Granada
42 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#2 of 43 in Granada
662 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 43 in Granada
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Padrino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Padrino Hotel

Property: Il Padrino Hotel
Address: Calle Miguel Cervantes | 1.5 blocks North from San Francisco Church, in front of Sports Gym, Granada 10000, Nicaragua (Formerly Hotel la Mesa del Padrino)
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 43 Hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Il Padrino Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family-run hotel, in the centre of Granada, close to the main entertainment area in a very secure part of town. The rooms are located at the back of the building overlooking a tropical garden (an ongoing project). The hotel is across the street of a fitness centre, free for our guests. Nearly all Granada's main attractions are within easy walking distance. We can arrange transport to and from the hotel from anywhere in Nicaragua at very reasonable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Il Padrino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing